North York Harvest Food Bank Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 September 2018
You were always doing something. I went with my friends at school and the people there were very friendly. I didn't do much heavy work, my slim fingers were of good service doing smaller tasks that others couldn't have.
Pros
good people
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small charity with a Big Impact
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 April 2018
North York Harvest Food Bank is a really nice place to work. Team members look out for each other and there is a lot of positivity.
The down sides are that, the pay is not that great and we were always short staffed.
Pros
Great team
Cons
A lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thunderstorm During Festival
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2018
While cleaning the campgrounds at around 8:00 pm there was a thunderstorm. The staff was quick to react and ensure that all employees were safe from any harm during the storm.
Pros
Free lunches, fun and approachable staff
Cons
overnight hours, problems with other employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to build skills and grow opportunites
DATA ENTRY (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2018
Non opportunity for employment.Non opportunity to build skills, non opportunity to training, non opportunity to enhance community volunteer neither opportunity to work with the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care about everyone
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Weston, ON20 November 2017
they are super friendly and understanding to others . they provide their staff and workers with free snacks and try to accommodate thier needs.great for experience .
Pros
free snacks
Cons
lo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Productive
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2017
The food bank is to engage our community in meeting the food needs of northern Toronto by providing dignified food assistance, education and long-term food solutions.A community where all members are able to meet their food needs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Warehouse Assistant /Driver Assistant (Current Employee) –  North York, ON31 July 2017
awesome place to work
great team work
great place to volunteer
caring

learned new things like how to do add ons properly how to load and unload truck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work in
Inventory Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 April 2017
working at the food bank is very easy and not complicated. A typical day would be arriving at the location, wait for my supervisor to arrive. then we wait for two trucks that bring food. One is the second harvest and the other the north york harvest. The people i work with are friendly and easy to get along. I carry food from the truck to the building. we have interesting conversations all the time. the hardest part of the job is to carry food in very cold conditions that can numb my hands a little. Other than that there is no hard part about the job. I enjoy taking some food with me every two weeks after my shift is done.
Pros
work is not complicated
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun experance
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  North York, ON20 September 2016
i came to the food bank to get work experance and help out with moving good and products.. got to meet alot of hard working and great people. we would move product for one place to other slots in order to make room for more good coming in
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teamwork
Warehouse/Driver Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2016
i appreciate working with others, due to the fact it opens up my thoughts and opinions of others with different skills where i can learn from in a positive manner.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people to work with
Placement Student (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 December 2015
its great, your co-workers are very good at their jobs and friendly. interacting and helping people with the community is very rewarding when someone tells you that you helped them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non profit organization
Human Resources Consultant (Current Employee) –  North York24 October 2015
Currently working there. Good company to work for and get non profit operations experience...
Would recommend the place for internship and volunteering
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Agency Relations Assistant (Current Employee) –  Toronto7 October 2015
Great place to work at. Friendly and supportive team. I am working on the referral line and directing clients to various resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Given the responsibility to sort produce accordingly
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Ontario17 October 2013
Great experience.
Volunteered with a friend, had a great time.
I found deciding what type of food goes in which box pretty difficult at the beginning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and easy going environment to work.
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Lawrence Ave W9 September 2013
Learned how to use and manage machines and equipment's, such as a pump trucks. A typical day was mostly straight forward with daily jobs assigned prior to the beginning of a shift. Co-workers are very ffriendly and easy to talk to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
volunteer
food packer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2013
group of volunteers get together and for a food truck donated with food and take that food and pack them in boxes for the residents living in our community building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North York Harvest Food Bank. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
510
41
35
20
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
4.4Management
4.1Culture

North York Harvest Food Bank Reviews by Location