NorQuest College Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Communication, Likes to keep staff in the dark, favourtism , overworked, underpaid and no job security at NorQuest College. I
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 October 2018
This College is by far the most f ked up place I have ever worked. Lack of communication between staff who float between department and units. Likes to terminate staff with out just cause. Incredible amount of high turn over with staff always coming and going. Staff calling in sick often without enough coverage from additional staff and likes to take its time hiring staff. This is an institution that does not show any sign of stable employment. Do not apply to an institution that lacks the ability to care about its staff. Benefits are great but treatments of staff is marginally good. Can’t work out differences with staff. Likes to keep staff in the dark about office problems.
Pros
Lack of staff and overworked
Cons
Likes to hire staff and terminate them after a complete of months of employment, contestant on going process several months each year
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workshop
System Analyst & Technology support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 August 2018
hard to work some people there, sometime they gave you really hard time,
as workshop, you have to find work by yourself, nobody guided you and tell you how
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 July 2018
Loved working with the students and staff, learned a lot. Great Culture. Always able to interact and have fun. Team building was very high. Respected.
Pros
Always fun going on
Cons
Manager at that time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A rigorous upgrading opportunity
Student (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2018
While the classes available through NorQuest are taught well within the program time frames, it can be a costly endeavor when the opportunity for full time employment and health benefits are unfeasible with a full time education commitment.
Pros
Upgrading to high honors from an existing high school diploma
Cons
Difficulty in obtaining necessary funds while balancing classes and work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job is perfect but NorQuest is a special kind of disaster.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 July 2017
The staff and teacher's are friendly and usually try their best and work hard to support the students with very limited staffing and resources.

Staff are undervalued and unsupported by management often blamed for nonexistent issues and failing policies. Management is disconnected from the frontline and regularly fails to provide staff the supports they need to effectively and efficiently complete their work responsibilities. Perfect example is the new building they haven't even started using yet. They cut down on staff space and failed to provide staff with appropriate workspaces that they need to do their jobs.

Like some of the other reviews have noted favoritism and intimidation are a large part of working here.
Pros
Some friendly students and staff.
Cons
Dysfunctional organization where employees are underpaid, undervalued, and overworked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as an Instructor
Instructor, Practical Nurse Program/Continuing Ed (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 April 2017
Norquest underwent a major change in status which caused some upheaval temporarily, however overall it was a fantastic place to work and increase learning as a professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful working atmosphere.
Program Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 March 2016
Wonderful working atmosphere, good manager. This job is on a contract and casual basis though. Nothing full time. I am currently training for many departments to help with the cover off during the upcoming summer holidays.
Pros
Good Working Atmosphere
Cons
Not Full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent atmosphere to work in.
Service Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 November 2015
It was very enjoyable to work at Norquest College. The employees are great to work with. The clients were very pleasant to assist them with their technical computer issues. The management was great to work for. I very much enjoyed going to work each and every day.
Pros
Great people to work with.
Cons
Can't really mentions any cons as I really enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, productive and fun
Computer Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 October 2014
A typical day at work usually consisted of me starting with the emails from the night previously and any phone calls that would come in. It wasn't that busy for the first half hour - hour or so of my shift but any walk-ins as well. I would help the students of NorQuest college with any technical issues they were having with their student accounts, computers or assignments that included Microsoft programs. The Computer Commons area was very self run, we rarely would need and manager assistance in the area he would usually come check in every week or two just to make sure things were running smoothly. I loved this atmosphere for it gave me responsibility and I was proud of the work I accomplished. It always put a smile on my face to be able help a student who was having issues and if couldn't someone else in my department was eager to help. The teamwork that was acquired in that establishment was incredible and made it fun to go to work.
Pros
Great teamwork, challenging and rewarding
Cons
Students often rude and abrasive towards you
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrator Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 June 2014
It is a good way of gaining experience in the Administrative environments
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfied
Administrative Support (Temporary) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 June 2014
My job started as a two week cover off position which led to me being called back to NorQuest College for a contract position. I loved the office that I worked in and the students that I helped. However the college was at that point going through major transitions. There were layoffs and cut backs, my position ended due to financial restraints. Most contract or temporary employees were laid off due to low enrollment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Although there are some good people working here, not a good career step if you are seeking an academic career..
various positions (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, Alberta19 January 2014
Despite many employees who really care about the students and are very dedicated, this is a very disengaged and dysfunctional place to work. This organization is plagued by poor or non-existent processes and lacks a strong vision of where it is going as an academic institution (despite a recent rebranding). Very frustrating 'governmental' work environment where employees rarely feel valued or listened to. The most senior executives of the organization lack connection to the frontline staff and to the real purpose of this organization. Very disappointing place to work if you have an interest in pursuing an academic career. Good place to land if you are a technocrat.
Pros
Some employees really care about the students and work hard to ensure students are successful.
Cons
Dysfunctional, governmental organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tyrant of government administered education. Avoid!
Curriculum Writer and teacher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 December 2013
Very unstable atmosphere. Students are wonderful, but they and their sponsors are exploited without mercy by the College (i.e. admissions, bookstore, etc.). No adequate provisions for class space, or teacher workspace. No academic privacy (administration access to e-mail, phone calls, etc.). Lines of authority constantly changing. Favoritism. Intimidation. Ineffective union representation. Awful employer! Yet the staff is talented and friendly. They go out of the way to help students succeed.
Pros
Nuturing line-staff and wonderful students.
Cons
Refusal to pay for work accepted and used; admimistratively competative.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 May 2013
NorQuest is a great education institute with hardworking and supportive staff. A wonderful place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn in many levels
Cleaner / Custodial (Former Employee) –  student7 November 2012
great staff and teachers to work with, very time friendly, work placement project a great learner to future your carrer
Pros
learn fast in with your schedule
Cons
older cleaning equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Language Teacher (Former Employee) –  Edmonton22 June 2012
I jumped into a classroom in the middle of summer and tried to teach a language class. The textbook was not sufficient, so I had to find my own teaching materials. It was stressful, and I felt shy teaching adults!
Pros
good experience
Cons
not for me
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 20Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent introduction to office environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 May 2012
Interesting work environment geared towards maintaining a positive experience for students. Provided an understanding of how an office is run, specifically in a college setting. Inspired personal advancement in post secondary education. Great co-workers who inspired personal dedication to the job. Provided opportunities for leadership and responsibility, and increased self-confidence and assertiveness within the workplace.
Pros
great working environment, positive learning expereince
Cons
temporary position
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NorQuest College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 18 reviews
56
45
32
20
15

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

NorQuest College Reviews by Location