Nipissing University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor environment.
Student Experience Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON26 February 2018
Nipissing University is an excellent school, but as with all other universities, it is going downhill fast. In an attempt to be progressive, the university shames students for being "privileged, white, and male".
Pros
Easy job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intellectually interesting
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON11 January 2018
Decent place to work, personally I loved the teaching aspect and the money was okay. Grading papers was a bit dull but it was an overall rewarding experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Practice Teaching
Student Teacher; Practicum (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON11 October 2017
Typical Day:
* Assisting Classroom teacher
* Creating/teaching own lesson plans
* Collaborating with classroom teacher on lessons
* Observing day to day routines
* Working with students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As Good a Teacher Education Program as I Assume There Is
Intermediate/Senior (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON2 May 2017
Although teachers' college is widely viewed by teachers to be a flawed program, Nipissing does a solid job of providing me with an education. I am generally happy with most aspects of being an education student at Nipissing, but there are always the occasional classes that feel unimportant. North Bay has a lot of nice natural scenery, but not too much else to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace Experience
Executive Member of Alpha Gamma Phi Sorority (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON27 January 2017
-Summary of notes from weekly chapter meetings
-Schedule meetings and events
-Updating sorority calendar of all social and charitable events
-Updating all social forums of the sorority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school
Student Accessibility Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON13 January 2017
Great school with a small town feel. Professors are appriachable and willing to help whwnever needed. Students are all nice and made new students feel involved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of students
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON16 May 2016
Very laid back, lots of work to keep busy.
People of relatable age makes work easier to learn.
Great experience working with technology
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Envrionment
Atheltic Attendant (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON11 April 2016
Nipissing University is a great post secondary institution that allows for its students to learn and interact in a positive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
camp counselor
Camp Counselor (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON25 March 2016
take care of kids
solve problems
plan out days
communicate with parents
build a good relationship co workers
good attendance
Pros
playing with kids
Cons
not enough days working
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible job designed for students with a great team
Team Leader / Student Caller (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON17 March 2016
I truly enjoy coming in to work every shift, since every day I am calling and speaking to new people. Being a team leader on the Call Campaign composed of only students has taught me how to work with my peers and build rapport while at the same time being a leader.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to work at
Gym front desk attendent (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON10 March 2016
I really liked working here because it was a calm and friendly environment. I learned how to be productive on my own time and have fun working with all my co-workers. The best part of this job was that it was dealing with things that I knew really well. I have been very active my whole life and it is great to be surrounded by people who love to stay active.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nipissing University - A great place to grow
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON10 November 2015
Working at Nipissing University was a great place to grow as a person. The management is always giving you opportunities to learn.
It is too bad there is no job security.
Pros
Learning opportunities
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat Their Staff Like ****
Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON7 August 2015
Horrible employer. Talk to anyone of the people they let go due to `cut backs`and have not rehired. They are posting contracts so they don`t have to pay you as much, provide benefits etc. Management is super corrupt. It is an old boys club and rather than showing concern for the University`s success they are concerned with building an ivory tower.
Employee be ware. You may feel like they like you, they will promise a re-hireé renewalé full-time. It is all a show.
Pros
Some of the staff are cool
Cons
Management, Old Boys Club, Long Hours, Little Gratitude, Contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with alumni calling team members
Alumni Caller Team Leader (Former Employee) –  North Bay, Ontario20 April 2015
At this workplace I had a team of callers calling alumni for donations to help support Nipissing University. I usually helped decided what list to call for alumni; helped with any information that alumni or callers needed; co-workers were friendly and attentively listened to what I had to say; hardest decision was when trying to react to a customers reaction when upset; most fun of the job was the interaction between co-workers and the amount of trust between each other.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, love it
Desk Attendant (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON22 January 2015
As the Marketing and Advertisement Executive, I have had a great time on the Executive team with Nipissing University Student Ambassadors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxing and productive workplace
Campus Walk (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON6 January 2015
This is a great student position allowing students to complete homework and allows time for studying. Everyone is great to work with and management is extremely friendly and accommodative to students who have a heavy work load.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable environment to work and great team to work with.
Volunteer, Food (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON21 November 2014
It was fun, learnt how to work with people and in teams. Also learnt how to take instructions well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, with lots of lessons to be learned
VP Social (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON13 September 2014
The most enjoyable part was working with my team, as well as when an event was a success. Hearing others talk about the event in a positive manor is heart warming and motivating.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
ACCOUNTING LECTURER (Current Employee) –  North Bay, ON16 April 2014
A typical work day included a 3 hour lecture, office hours (meeting with students), evaluating assignments

One has to be:
- self motivated in order to be prepared for class and get work done in a timely manner,
- great at working and motivating others as it is necessary to help the students in their learning.

The most enjoyable part of my day was office hours where I got a chance to know and help my students

The hardest part of my job was to see some of my students struggle however being able to discuss their challenges and help them through them during office hours was rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun and Interactive Place to Work
Project Officer (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON21 September 2013
Nipissing University is a fun place to work that offered many opportunities to learn and grow
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nipissing University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 28 reviews
512
411
34
20
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.9Culture

Nipissing University Reviews by Location