Nexans Employee Reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 289 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK24 August 2018
Good place to work as long as you are white. The pay rate is well if you don't mind the 12 hour tedious shifts, but the amount of racism and targeted bullying created a toxic environment that is not tolerated at any other places of work. Most white workers are not accustomed to multiculturalism, and unfortunately act with "white" superiority towards other workers it makes you think you are back in the 30s. This is a problem that I believe will never get fixed. Please find a job elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unionised
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Weyburn, SK11 August 2018
Strong steelworkers union, have had yearly wage increases for the last 10 years. Working with others allows for building relationships, inside work during the coldest months is a plus.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Tedious and boring work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Nice Place to work with
MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK26 May 2018
Ensures the safety of the employees and is a very good place to work with. The management are very good and is ready to listen to all the request/complain.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shift work
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK6 April 2018
coworker who were born and grown up in the farm do not understand what is multiculturalism. Always think that they are smart meanwhile they are the dumb it could exist in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for. Very professional.
QHSE Manager (Contractor) (Former Employee) –  Point Aconi, NS7 September 2017
Nexans professionalism is reflected in everything they do. When they do a job, it is done right the first time. Everyone is specialized at what they do, virtually eliminating quality issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very personal sales postion
Regional sales manager Alberta (Former Employee) –  Calgary8 May 2017
Nexans from the outside looks great. They have a few flaws like most large companies. Management is very new to their positions with the exception of Dave Hawker the VP.
Nexans treated me very well.
Pros
good benefits and salary
Cons
lonely job, no control over pricing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, great atmosphere
Tax Intern (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON17 January 2017
It was really enjoyable to work here, the pay was good and the hours were very reasonable. Tasks were very much doable. Training was also very effective and allowed me to perform the tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has potential
Manager (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON15 November 2016
Recently the local senior management has changed. There should be room for improvement now. New President should make a difference.

The company needs to move into the modern age of technology in many areas.

Nice people, but union mentality everywhere. Do the bare minimum to get by. No one is ambitious. Just status quo.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No ambition with staff to do better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good salary and advantages
Mécanicien-chef (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 November 2016
Very good salary and advantages. Physically tough job in a very dirty environment. They manage the place like they don't want it to succeed. You give good suggestions but they won't listen to you.
Pros
pay cheque
Cons
Dirty environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learnt a lot from there
Internship at Overseas Business Team (Former Employee) –  111 October 2015
Analyzed the firm’s domestic market share by its items and its domestic market position by the sales revenue
Made slips about the firm’s expenses by using SAP accounting module
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with coworkers and enjoyed solving complex problems with both new and old equipment
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK19 August 2015
Working at Nexans tested every aspect of my education and trade skills. Really enjoyed the freedom to design, build and install creative process improvements. The company benefited tremendously by allowing the maintenance staff to self regulate maintenance planning and scheduling. By far the most creative approach to maintenance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Production Line Operator (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK29 July 2015
Management is always helpful. Co-workers are all great and fun to work with.
Benefits are great.
You get many holidays as there are 12 hours shifts.
I left this job just because I had to move.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old established workplace
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK11 December 2014
I believe my time at nexans was, for the most part, enjoyable. The interaction with the machine operators was the most enjoyable, some of whom were very experienced and of course some of whom were brand new..
I had to teach some of them but mostly they taught me! Management just seemed, to us, to be totally out of touch and not very knowledgeable, however the plant made money from what we could tell!
I admired these guys as some of them had been there forever and endured anyway..
The hardest thing I found was having almost no support from our engineering department and little leadership as we were left to solve most problems on our own, having almost no direction from the powers that be....
Pros
People
Cons
Supposedly qualified people, Yet useless
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, great people.
Fork lift operator (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON10 September 2014
pick orders for customers, fork truck, reach truck work. great place but its being shut down and moved so we are all out of jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Production line Technician (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK20 June 2014
so much racisam, not a good place to work and no growth for your carrier.
Cons
12 hr shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job
machine operator (Former Employee) –  Weyburn, SK19 April 2014
in nexans i was supposed to run aluminium through oil draw which has different sizes of dies..which later becomes fine wire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace and place to learn
PROCESS OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Weyburn, SK1 April 2014
It is good to work at Nexans and it brings best out of you as it is a fast pace environment and you learn new things at extrusion lines everyday. Management is helpful most of the time and most of co workers are good to work with.
Pros
interesting
Cons
interruptions
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but lots of pressure to get all machine running
Process/Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Weyburn, SK24 February 2014
Monitor and reccommend improvement initiatives on machine, co ordinate machine operators and manage them for effectiveness and increased productivity. The hardest part of my job is troubleshooting and maintenance of the lines. the most enjoyable part is seeing the lines running without any issue.
Cons
travelling from Regina to weyburn Daily
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and safe place to work.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Fergus, ON4 August 2013
A very fast pace environment in which I am at my best. The company treated their employees with respect. Fellow workers were very easy to get along with and here very helpful.
Pros
A high commitment to employees saftey and welfare.
Cons
Extremmly hot in the plant the summer time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Contrôleure d'usine (Former Employee) –  Québec, QC19 January 2013
J'ai construit ma carrière dans cette entreprise. J'ai grandi dans la compagnie et j'ai acquis une expérience dès plus favolisante à plusieurs points de vue.

Nous avons relevé beaucoup de défis avec une équipe extraordinaire.

Je devais m'assurer de la bonne gestion comptable de l'usine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nexans. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 289 reviews
5110
4106
353
216
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture