New York Fries Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 184 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't a very challenging job once you get used to it.
Inventory Control/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 July 2017
It's not always busy in my workplace, there are only certain times when people will burst in and make long line. I believe I was well-trained for my position so I'm able to handle it and to be initiative in working on other things whenever there's free time.
Pros
Free food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its easy job but be prepare to work alone for time to time.
Food Prep/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 July 2017
its easy job but be prepare to work alone for time to time, but it depends on the owner of the franchise. fun whens busy. if you mentain the cleanliness of the store it is really easy for you to clean the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people were great, the manager was annoying
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 July 2017
very redundant work
I learned the skills of communication with people, learning basic confidence doing face to face work and transactions
the hardest part really was washing the dishes...
the most enjoyable part of the job was just getting along with everyone
Pros
free lunches. don't have to much of it though
Cons
shorts breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Key-holder/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 June 2017
At New York Fries, the management was okay. I would only get about two shifts a week and when I first started I was making $10.50, five cents under minimum wage.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Terrible Ownership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
upbeat environment, great people to work with
Daily Server (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS30 May 2017
I learned a lot working there, great organization with great employees, felt like family the majority of the time. hardest part was the small space with a lot of employees but all in all a great team.
Pros
free drinks, half priced food
Cons
small space, weird hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee) –  Innisfil, ON27 May 2017
- worked hard
- learned customer service skills
- management was great
-the hardest part was keeping up with the fries
- I loved the people there and the environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced job
Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 May 2017
Fast paced job
always have to look happy for costumer to see
always look approachable
have to make sure to time the fries when cooking
properly clean the store
Pros
mall discount
Cons
very short hours like 4-6 and once a week schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2017
I never knew what my schedule was. It was really stressful. Management would change my schedule behind my back and i would get angry phone calls, asking me why i didn't show up to work.
Pros
free drinks
Cons
no free food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good 1st time job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON1 May 2017
very very easy and simple. great for teens. heavy lifting is involved to lift potatoes. the hardest part is cutting potatoes but its easy after awhile. id for sure apply again. very fun and very easy to learn.
Pros
discount is 50% off
Cons
heavy liftng
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, laid back, mindless work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON23 April 2017
With a small menu and the small scale of the stores usually there is not very much to do so this job can be great if you are in high school or college and looking for some money on the side. It is the type of job that you go and work and never have to think about it outside of the job. The staff and management are good and it is enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable but sometimes draining
Front liner (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON16 April 2017
During the time I worked at New York Fries I had met some nice people who I enjoyed working with but there were some negative things about working there. When I had first started I was in training, obviously, their training was pretty good and it covered everything you had to do in a few weeks. I had good hours and I enjoyed working there. But after a couple months it started to emotionally drain me. There were some negative people in the workplace and it effected the way I would work. Majority of the people who worked there were very kind and enjoyable people. It was a decent first job and I'm glad I had the opportunity to work there. I had to resign due to me needing a job closer to home.
Pros
good hours
Cons
negative people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
new york fries
cashier.cook (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON8 April 2017
it would be a really good place to work if the work team was put together properly and logically. the team members working when i worked just didnt mesh well together at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing
cook/prep cook (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB23 March 2017
i absolutely loved working here, my management team was amazing and no matter what would always answer your question and make sure you understood your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of opportunity
Full time Cashier/Team member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2017
I worked less than a year in New York Fries and I have learned so much from being a cashier, to fryer and providing excellent costumer service. My coworkers were always helpful and encouraging. I love working at New York Fries because not only I improved my skills this job also helped me saved money to pay off OSAP.
Pros
Manager was really nice and very professional on top of that I can get to bring home free food
Cons
I did not get enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON21 February 2017
Loved this job!!! Enjoyed the environment and the people I worked with. Friendly environment and fast paced it's just a really layer back place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to start your employment experience
Franchise Manager (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC16 February 2017
I look back on my time as a New York Fries manager with fond memories. I learned a lot skills that have helped me to further my career throughout the years.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON2 February 2017
The job itself is not the greatest. It is a good job for a teenager who needs a good starter job. Management is not fair towards they're employees. Hours are okay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work environment
Sales Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC24 January 2017
Managers were terrible at their jobs. When I had cleaned the whole back room, and needed more tasks, they simply said clean it again. Busy work instead of an actual job, unsafe work environment, and they hire teenagers and younger people in an attempt to exploit them. DO NOT WORK HERE!
Pros
no pros, you don't even get free food
Cons
everything about this job is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York Fries
Cashier, Cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON8 January 2017
Summers are extremely busy and hectic. Poor management. Co-workers are great. Worked long shifts (sometimes 14 hours).
Pros
Discount meals
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work place
Cashier/Fry Chief (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON7 January 2017
A typical day at work included handling cash and serving food in a timely manner with a smile on my face. Working at New York Fries taught me how to be a leader from my times training new staff members the day to day routines of how to open and close the store and handle food safely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at New York Fries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 184 reviews
562
457
344
214
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture