NELSON RIVER CONSTRUCTION Employee Reviews

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nelson River
Flagger/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Plum Coulee, MB27 August 2018
I did not like Working for nelson River , It wasn't the job for me. I wouldn't really recommended it to someone who doesnt like being outside in the heat, rain, wind, ect.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Flagger (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 July 2018
Overall the experience was well worth it made me come out of my shell if you’re the shy type, it definitely helped me overcome my own many challenges. The people and energy were very great, highly recommended.
Pros
Free breakfast, lunch and suppers
Cons
Long hours in variety’s of weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NRC its good company with good benefits
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 March 2017
NRC it's good company with good benefits but it's seasonale work.I'm looking for full time work during the year.
Very frendly company.Good and responsible managment.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is very counterproductive.
Concrete Labourer,safety rep. (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB23 January 2017
Liked my fellow employees however management was very limited.
This is the only company I have ever worked for that has the nerve to ask you to pay admission to company Christmas party. After setting a company record for most concrete in a single season. I was a part of the crew that built Centreport expansion.
Pros
lots of overtime.
Cons
Low wages and limited benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours good pay
General Labourer (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 November 2015
personnally i found the hours great and the rate of pay per hour fair. exciting enviroment. always working in the outdoors
Pros
great pay
Cons
not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work nice people and good company over all
concrete labourer (Former Employee) –  winnipeg manitoba2 September 2015
its a great place to work good equipment and not a bunch of slave drivers great pay and i had a great time working there and would go back to work there any day
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and great place to Work
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Manitou, MB20 February 2015
The Nelson River Construction camp was located only a few miles from my home. The hours were great and flexible. I enjoyed the people I worked with in the kitchen and also learned a few new things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and challenging
Flagwoman (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 November 2014
Early morning starts with daily safety meetings. Following and upholding laws as set out by our government regulators as stated in the "highway traffic act" of Manitoba.
Pros
Working outdoors in the clean fresh air.
Cons
Dealing with extreme temperatures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place with a friendly atmosphere
General Labourer (Flag Person) (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB7 February 2014
Show up in the morning before sun up, and heading home after the sun has already gone down. Jobs varied from day to day from being a flag person, to a heavy equipment operator. I had gotten more experience driving the wobblies, dealing with interesting motorists and the overall learning the steps of highway construction. The hardest part of the day would for sure have been the hours, working up to 14 hours/day, and the extreme weather, but to be expected working in the construction industry. All in all a very enjoyable experience
Pros
Good Coworkers, formen. Positive attitudes, Alot of hours Amazing meals provided
Cons
Long hours, extreme weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Working Place.
Flag Person (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 November 2012
A typical day at work, it was a long hour job, we worked over 15 hours daily.
What I had learned is that you need to be in tip top shape for this job, and need to be energized, and well interactive with co-workers.
Management was well maintained.
My co-workers were all very kind, and very interactive with one another.
The hardest part of the job was waking up in the early early hours of the morning to go to work. ex. 4:30am. and standing for so long, work wasn't over until around 9:00-10:00pm somedays even 11:00pm. It was a very hard job, and you needed to take enought food to last you all day, somedays the food would be not so good, because of the weather temperatures being so hot.
My enjoyed part of the job was being able to work with others, and they would let you know what they were doing on the work site to keep everyone safe. All in all I really liked this job!
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report

See more NELSON RIVER CONSTRUCTION reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NELSON RIVER CONSTRUCTION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 13 reviews
58
42
31
21
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.4Culture

NELSON RIVER CONSTRUCTION Reviews by Location