Nelson Lumber Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A supportive and interactive environment
Kitchen cabinet consultant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 March 2018
Working for Nelson Lumber for over 14 years my learning increased daily. I was meeting new clients, product representatives, contractors on a regular basis which I was very interactive with and receptive to. New design computer programs, products and customer wishes were always challenging my skill set and advancing me to be a better sales person. My personal connection with customers allowed them be relaxed and responsive to my suggestions and my listening skills to hear their wishes made for a very compatible, successful adventure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was there
Labour/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2018
he only thing i can say was good about this job was the fact i was able to go to my doctor appointments with no issues and i was able to explore other job opportunity within the workplace.
Pros
was able to go to my appointment with no issues.
Cons
daily threats of being fired, working outside no matter how extremely hot or extremely cold it was.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a job
Cashier/Customer Service/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 January 2018
Some fellow employees are OK others not so much. The ones who are not so much make the job tough. The job itself is good if you enjoy assisting to get customer orders together.
Pros
Week days only
Cons
no OT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive busy and fun
Lead hand (Former Employee) –  edmonton ab.11 October 2017
a very good company to work for good co workers good bosses i was always busy and was encouraged to learn and given oportunities to grow they have reorganized thier yard they are busy year round and rarely lay guys off sometimes they run night shifts which is bonus the drivers are all good peole and the management is willing to accomadate hard working people with understanding
Pros
laid back atmospher
Cons
12 hour days but can do 8
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Truss Builder (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB4 October 2017
very respectful and caring employees with absolutely no disrespect or miscommunication.
they treat everyone fairly and funds are always deposited on time.
i recommend lots of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at.
Delivery Driver/dispatcher/yard supervisor. (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB22 September 2017
It was ok to work there employes were super.There was ups and downs.management was fair 85percent of the time,I learnt a lot over years thank you Nelson Lumber.
Pros
Staff discounts.
Cons
No job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not worth your time OR the pitiful money you get paid.
slave (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 July 2017
the training here isn't bad, but the moral, the pay, and the work here are all terrible.
No raises. AT ALL.
Boss clearly has no idea what goes on when he isn't around
Pros
day time shifts, home with family at a decent time every night. BBQ's
Cons
terrible pay, lazy co-workers, horrible moral, grumpy co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Lumber store
Sales Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB23 February 2017
Nelson Lumber is a smaller lumber store that serves the community for all the building needs. Their focus is mainly on the contractors, as there is not a lot of the general public who walk in for purchases.
This sometimes makes it difficult to find product in stock, and some staff are not very pleasant to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 December 2016
The Environment at Nelson Lumber was fantastic.
Unfortunitly there was no room for advancement, if ther was im sure i would still work there.
Pros
discount
Cons
no room for advancing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy lumber yard and well managed
Foreman, Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 September 2016
Excellent place to work great people just need higher wages. Fast paced environment love dealing with customers. Great place for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe work area,
TROY KING (Former Employee) –  GRANDE PRAIRIE28 April 2016
Nice place to learn, Very supportive co worker, safe work place, good benefits. With WCB and good health plan for the employee. have discount to the personal purchases from the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Wooden Truss Maker/ Spida Saw Operator (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB17 December 2015
its 5 days work and 8 hours a day i learned how to operate the spida saw there good here they are quite when you build a big truss and when we are getting laid off.....when you built small trusses
Pros
sometimes free fizza
Cons
laid off when snow start to fall
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Full-Time Dispatch assistant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB16 December 2015
I learned alot about what they do there and how hard everyone works. It is a very fast pace place to work, which was nice. Everyone that was there was kind and respectful. I learned their systems and rules. I learned how to somewhat dispatch when it comes to transporting the inventory and things like that. I learned how to process work orders and i met a lot of great people along the way. I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious workplace, with heavy equiptment in work area's
Lumber Yard Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 May 2015
Good company to work for, fair with there wages.
Duties are varied, up to you to keep buisy.
Get knowledge of mouldings and a lot of building materials.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent place to work.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 August 2014
great atmosphere, Great people, Over all Great attitude. They like to keep employees and have a Insanely Low Turn over rate.
Pros
They are Family orientated
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Truss builder/Helper (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB28 March 2014
helped cutter with cutting boards and stacked them in order, built trusses, clean work areas.
Pros
worked with a buddy
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB15 July 2013
you went to work and people we're willing to train you and trained you well. if you messed up you try again no one really got mad unless you messed up a lot! great staff and good management.
Pros
great people good enviroment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work good people
labour (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB20 March 2013
great place to work great safety standards lots of hours and you get trained on heavy equipment the management was good to work with
Pros
no problem working around your schedule
Cons
no break in the afternoon
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pased environment, on your feet all day, Etc.
Swamper, Customer Service, fork lift operator, etc (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB8 February 2013
A typical day at nelson lumber is extremely busy,
I learnt how to operate fork lifts, different material, etc.
The management is ok, (i never talk to them unless i had to.
I got along good with my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was keeping up with everything.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting different (customers).
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fun in the work place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2013
i learn how to handle the air & handy tools and must of all to assemble the wooden trusses.nothing to say to my co-worker.the most enjoyable part of the job,when the job done early specially Friday.lol
Pros
2 15mn break
Cons
lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nelson Lumber. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
59
47
35
22
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.4Culture