National Shunt Service Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 28 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't apply here
Shunter (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC16 December 2019
Terrible scam company to work for-they get $29 -$35 for there services,but they pay you $22 per hour-what a con artists operate this shady swamp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Do not apply nor think to apply-you're not a slave-it's 21st century!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not truthful
Shunt Driver (Former Employee) –  TJX12 October 2019
Again, they promise you the world, however, you only get the moon. The rate of pay is at least two dollars shy of what it should be. They expect you to do fifty shunts a shift. That's not the bad part. They will allow the company your working at to treat you like garbage and hang you out to dry. It helps not if you are not caucasian.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not at all
Shunting (Former Employee) –  Amazon , whirlpool5 February 2019
I was the working with them and i was fired because last week in extreme weather my car didnt start and i called them and told them my problem .. instaead of understanding my situation i was told to take taxi or uber to work.. and when i said sir i can not becoz i have to get my car fixed.. than what the next day they put the email to my agency that we are parting ways with this shunter.. wow.. what an excuse.. so be careful because when you need off or there is an emergency they wont give you one..
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Phenomenal culture, everyday balance, and management team. Nothing but great things to say about NSSL!
Customer Advocacy Specialist (Current Employee) –  Cobourg, ON1 November 2018
NSSL has been an amazing place to work. You can always count on your fellow colleagues to deliver and help you with anything you need. The culture promotes self growth, strong work ethic, company wide advancement, and a very team oriented approach that ensures alignment and development in all departments. If you want a place to grow not only from a professional standpoint, but a personal one, and enjoy every step of the way - NSSL should be at the top of your list!
Pros
Flexible, Developing Programs, Great Culture, Strong & Knowledgeable Management Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 20Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working along with Logistics Professionals
IT Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Concord, ON31 October 2018
At the office we take efforts to construct both customer and team projects with success. The company pursues new ideas with attention to detail in addition to communicating challenges. The company's projects are the result of putting best effort first. NSSL is a successful business since each team member delivers the best at what they can do. The hardest part of the job is to address technical challenges that appear constantly as new features and devices are introduced into the technology field.
Pros
new equipment technology
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 16Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Shunt Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 April 2018
Good company with a fair wage, hours were not the best and not enough contracts in Alberta to really advance anywhere. Management was good and looked after any issues right away. Depending which yard you are placed at it could be very busy with most days averaging around 65 moves. You will learn to follow all safety protocols both NSSLs and the contracted company. You learn to become an efficient and professional shutter. Some yards are very tight so you have to be very careful so as not to damage any equipment. The only thing I didn’t like was the really poor shifts.
Pros
Easy going place
Cons
Really poor shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
shunter driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 March 2018
This company is good place to work with multicultural co-workers where i enjoy a lot and learn many things related about my job responsibility. company benefit package is not satisfactory.company management team is very strong with is very good.
Pros
no
Cons
40 per week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 19Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gp2w
Driver (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 August 2017
great place to work, management cares about its workers, equipment is in great shape, very new and well taken care of. Everyone is respectful of each other.
Pros
Safety issues are dealt with immediately, management listens, open door policy
Cons
Organization, continue to improve branding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 27Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best trucking company
Operations Lead Hand, Alberta (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 August 2017
I have been working at National Shunt Service full-time (More than 4 years) as Driver/Operations Lead Hand, Alberta



Continual Growth. The company is on a fast growth curve due to its software and service.

Recommends 100%
Pros
Specializing in shunting. Trucks are new and well maintained.
Cons
The management communication great NSSL all ways keep improving
Was this review helpful?YesNo 21Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Work
Driver (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 August 2017
Having worked for here for the past 8 months I can without a doubt say that everyone works as a team. At any given time if myself or another associate needs help someone is always willing to pitch in and lend a hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 31Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, good opportunity for development
Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Ontario9 August 2017
National Shunt has a great workplace culture that fosters development, innovation and engagement.

With operations and staff all across Canada and U.S, I have the opportunity to interact on a daily basis with my colleagues.
Pros
Growth opportunity, professional development
Cons
Can improve on the organizational structure
Was this review helpful?YesNo 18Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Logistics Analyst (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 March 2017
Good place to work. Friendly small company. Growing at a good pace.
Salary is good. Benefits need some work. Good work/life balance depending on position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 22Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growning company with excellent shunt software
Administrative Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON30 August 2016
A fast growing family run business with a personal touch. Need some work on communication as it is hard to keep up to the progress. Flexible hours and good pay.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Benifits are not the greatest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 32Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor benefits & job security
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 February 2016
Poor benefits and job security. Don't work for a family owned company. Poor safety record. Home every night. Poor planning & scheduling. Poor communication.
Pros
No Hiway driving
Cons
Poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor benefits & job security
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2016
Poor benefits & job security. Very disorganized. Poor pay. Poor safety record. Irregular shifts. Poor sheduling. Do not work for a family run company.
Pros
Newer equipment
Cons
Poor benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 46No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy work enviroment
Shunt Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 December 2014
Good friendly fast paced work environment with good management. High safety standards. Only down side was seasonal layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 13Report

See more National Shunt Service reviews

You may want to try: