National Oilwell Varco Employee Reviews

Found 132 reviews matching the search See all 2,490 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall ok place to work
Millwright (Former Employee) –  AB14 February 2019
US corporate management is very confused with our product line and really had no one that new the product all that well which did not work very well for selling the overall product
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace Applied my skills
Programmer, Electrical Designer and Commissioning (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 January 2019
PLC programming Solving problems regarding the project
Engineering specifications Designs Electrical
Hardest part International travel
Satisfied customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good group of guy
Labourer (Current Employee) –  Nisku, AB18 January 2019
good group of guys to work with. been there for 10 years always something new to learn working in the cold can be hard sometimes sometimes long hours too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't work there for very long
Invoicing/Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 January 2019
I honestly do not have much to say about this company, as I was not wit them for very long. Other then I did like who I worked with. It was am easy job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
growth focused fun exciting well managed
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 December 2018
worked there nearly 15 years several promotions and company focused educational opportunities. maintained employment throughout the ups and downs of the oilfield industry. overall well balanced work life culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance of machines needs work
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB22 November 2018
takes too long to fix machines when broken and order of equipment needed also takes too long to order. No bonuses nor commisions when reached our sales target.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fairly treated
Shipper/Receiver/Inside Sales/Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 November 2018
Was treated quite fairly, lots of room to move up in the company, a few bad eggs CAN spoil the bunch, but if you can avoid them, everything is good as far as I'm concerned
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Quality Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 November 2018
Although I was only employed for a little over one year my experience there was excellent. I worked at the stator location 3550-93 st. and the staff was excellent. from the production personal to the management. They are very involved with every aspect of the process and were hands on, (not scared to get dirty) knowledgeable and experienced and a great group of people to work with. If you want a rewarding career and aren't scared to work hard and have a own it mentality then this is the place to go.
Pros
production team, supervisors, management and career options and advancement
Cons
hours are long..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work place
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 October 2018
lots of working hours, heavy lifting keeps you in good shape. every day is a learning experience. you have to make sure the quality of service is perfect so the job can get finished.
Pros
paid lunch
Cons
lots of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOV Downhole is a good Trainer ground for the oil and gas industry
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Nisku, AB11 October 2018
As operations manager my day started with morning meeting to discuss what is needed to be completed for outgoing orders.

Most of the upper management are accessible to all employees for any discussions of a personal or work related topics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult work environment
Apprentice Millwright (Former Employee) –  Edmonton Alberta9 October 2018
Management was difficult and would rarely give concise and clear instructions as to what they wanted to be done.
Worked alone way to often.
Only friends or family would be advanced.
Cons
Poor communication from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need better pay
Customer Repair Representative (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB28 August 2018
need better pay. need better work/life balance. need better direction. good place to learn new jobs and skills. great employees work here we just need to be appreciated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start
Reception/Sales Administrator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 August 2018
I am grateful to have ended up where I was. My boss was amazing, my coworkers amazing. There is a wonderful team atmosphere and a strong emphasis to have people join the Ride to Conquer Cancer bike team.

My only issue is allowing difficult employees to be so. The most troublesome and pot stirring employees receive no reprimanding making work environments difficult while management just turns the other cheek.
Pros
Amazing management in the office.
Cons
Lack of initiative in dealing with difficult employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cannot say anything bad.
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 July 2018
Cannot say anything bad.
Work load is not stable.
Shop activity is pretty well organized.
Spare parts available.
Benefits are average, not bad.
No bonuses.
Pros
Located in Calgary. The best engineering team, I have ever seen. Shop managers are honest peopleHard
Cons
Hard to get promotion.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
HD mechanic (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB22 July 2018
good company to work for. Decent home life and work balance. Recamend this company to any one that is looking to start a career in the oil field. Learned alot
Pros
vechile
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operations
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2018
I was tasked with the maintenance of the facility and given wide ranging authority to ensure steady daily activity in a oil rig manufacturing facility
Pros
authority
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operations
Mechanical/Construction Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2018
responsible for many aspects, given full support and guidance, always a good place to work tons of growth potential and the scenery changed a lot for me
Pros
new challenge
Cons
politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High productive company
Lead hand of inspector in QC department (Former Employee) –  6415-75 St Edmonton ab T6E 0T39 January 2018
This is a very good company. Good management team. Your performance will be perfectly recognized.
Every employee do their job hard and perfectly.
The Gig system they built is in a very high performance.
Pros
no free lunch
Cons
long hour of over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Lead Production technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 December 2017
excellent people , and good work enviroment for all the worker who work there, number one in safety , always taking care of their employees, multiculture place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved it
Industrial Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 December 2017
I worked here for 15 years and loved it. i had great benefits and amazing co workers, i hope that when this time of lay offs end i can find a place in this company again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Oilwell Varco. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 2,490 reviews
5864
4883
3540
2128
175

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture

National Oilwell Varco Reviews by Location