National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces

National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tolerance of military culture
Chef (Current Employee) –  Borden, ON16 April 2018
It can be extremely difficult to adjust to the military culture. The officers in charge can be extremely difficult or pleasant to work for. The money is good but has to be.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Working with military
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic workplace that challenges individuals
Corporal (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 April 2018
A very unique workplace that both allows one to serve their country and learn highly relevant and practical skills that can be applied to the civilian sector. Not only does one learn personal skills that many employers desire, but also leadership skills that can be an excellent asset for any civilian employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good tour
Steward (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC14 April 2018
I think everyone should join for a minimum of three years because after serving in the Armed Forces you learn a lot. Now that I am in the public workplace people that are young don't know the meaning of work
Pros
see a lot of different places
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parfait pour relever des défis
INSTRUCTEUR CIVIL (Former Employee) –  Brossard, QC13 April 2018
Cela dépend où tu travailles. En général, bon milieu du travail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, controlling, Micro-managing
PKI Administrator, IM/IT Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 April 2018
This is a work place where you can do nothing but what is assigned to you as an employee. you are not allowed to go above and beyond, you are not allowed to be proactive and above all you're not allowed to question.

if you want to work here you have to be willing to Sell your soul and do what your told.
Pros
Learn a lot about the security and secrecy of or National defense system.
Cons
you can't be an over acheiver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good life experience
Infantry Soldier (Paratrooper) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 April 2018
Many opportunities to advance in career or specialized units.
Good experience and learned a lot of skills and took many advanced courses. Would recommend serving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Paratrooper (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 April 2018
Great experiences and life lessons. Meet people from all over and travel. Earn money for school and get paid to learn a trade. Experience looks great on a resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The army was by far my favorite of all jobs
gunner (Former Employee) –  Courcelette, QC3 April 2018
Being in a brother hood is something everyone wants to be a part of and i am lucky i had the chance to share that experience. I made numerous friends that i still talk and interact to this day. There is nothing i am more proud of than being a soldier for a part in my life and serve my country overseas in Afghanistan.
Pros
Brotherhood, Knowledge
Cons
not good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Supply Technician (Reserves) (Former Employee) –  North York, ON2 April 2018
If I wasn't disabled I would still be working here. I have nothing but positive things to say about the military. The training provided is incomparable and very beneficial.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging & Fun
Base Operations Warrant Officer, CFB Suffield (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB31 March 2018
It was a fun career. The work day was always different and challenging. You were always learning, i.e. Leadership, Management, the ability to be flexible and adaptable when situations require you to be.
Pros
Challenging
Cons
Days were sometime long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always a Challenge lots of Adventure
Captain (Former Employee) –  Canada27 March 2018
Served 15 years, don't regret a day. The bonds you from often last a lifetime. Be prepared, this is a commitment to service and not to be taken lightly.
Pros
Toys and Travel. Bonds that last a lifetime
Cons
Getting shot at
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Administrative Roles (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON27 March 2018
I learned a lot working for Armed Forces, and was engaging with military members. The Military environment is the most enjoyable work environment I have ever experienced.
Pros
Productive
Cons
No jobs available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all depends on what you want in a job.
Armoured crewman (Field Operations) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 March 2018
PT at 0800
Then coffee till 1000
Then working on various vehicle typs
lunch at 1200
Back for 1300
More work on vehicles
spending 3 months of the year in the field with little or no contact with loved ones.
Pros
Good pay, Good Benefits, lots of perks.
Cons
lots of time away from home, Terrible work environment, Really bad working conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best
Naval Cadet (Former Employee) –  Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC21 March 2018
This was one of the best experiences in my life and it taught me so many values that are vital to the workplace, and the friendships you make here are ones that will last forever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Canadian Armed Forces
Food Services Manager - NOC 0631 - HMCS MONTREAL (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS20 March 2018
Exceptional career opportunity. Solid advancement, great pay and benefits, travel and continuous education. Work to life ratio must be managed by the member in conjunction with his/her career manager. The work is hard most days but rewarding. You know you are doing something important in service to your country and that in and of itself should make you stand tall and be proud to serve.
Pros
great pay, travel, camraderie, continuous education, benefits, meaningful work
Cons
hours can be long, will eventually take you away from your family for up to 8 months at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, life changing experience
Infantry Soldier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 March 2018
I trained many hours through many tough terrains and difficult situations such as tear gas but it made me a stronger man. They may be strict and mean but its to make your punctuation improve and your skills speed up so that you are ready for anything that can be thrown at you whether its armed soldiers or stuck in a blizzard with nothing but your rucksack(backpack) and manage to survive a week out of that little backpack till you can find your way out. Do not let them deter you they just want to wean out the weak so you must push through it all.
Pros
Amazing Skills and knowledge to learn
Cons
long hours, stressful, wear you down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Armed Forces review
Infantry Soldier (Current Employee) –  Canada20 March 2018
I entered the canadian armed forces as a member of an infantry reserve unit while i was attending college full time. I learned much about organizational skills, leadership skills and discipline.
Pros
Excellent training and career advancement opportunity
Cons
long hours and occasional sleep deprivention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drove Tanks!
Armoured Crewman, Royal Canadian Dragoons (Former Employee) –  Petawawa, ON18 March 2018
If you want to serve your country and you want to be able to do stuff that the average Canadian will likely never have the opportunity to do, then visit your local recruiter and discuss a career in the Canadian Armed Forces!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not of regret
Cook (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 March 2018
The environment of the military life is always one I will admire, strong team work, comradery and commitment to succeed are the keys and success of the military life. They take good care of their own as long as you give the same in return.
Pros
If you have the heart and dedication everything about it is a pro.
Cons
Not succeeding in a long term career is a con.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its the military
Combat Pilot Trainee (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC14 March 2018
Its the military. You sign up and they own you. Great pension plan, absolutely no freedom. They even go so far as to tell you that you can only be friends with other members of the Armed Forces
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at National Defence and Canadian Armed Forces. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 1,405 reviews
5699
4511
3151
230
114

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture