Murphy Oil Corporation Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Managed
Supervisor, Treasury (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
Miscommunication from Executives to front line management, I've never seen a company so poorly managed with no sense of direction. THe company wastes money, and then when there is a downturn lays of its valued employees, where if they were more strategic, and managed their money better could retain much of the valued staff.

HR also treats employees as outsiders...there is a lack of respect and a tendency to be deceitful.
Pros
Half day Friday's
Cons
Poor Executive Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenged at work, leadership team empowers me to do my kob
Field Operator (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB11 May 2017
Love working at Murphy, they have provided me with enormous opportunity to advance my career. I'm always challenged on a daily basis and have a good team to work with. Also my direct supervisor is very supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the work culture I thrived in
Contractor management (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 April 2017
I am not an office environment person so that did not help. But the training is poor and the people are clicky. They are not transparent about anything going on in the company. You will most definitely do more work then your job requires but not be paid for it. They do not like to convert hourly to full time and hourly does not receive benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team enviornment
Petrophysicist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta11 March 2016
Great Team environment, very interactive exploration team. Very independent with freedom to develop and put forward your ideas.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a work work life balance environment
Supply Chain Advisor for International Ventures (Former Employee) –  Houston7 October 2015
I enjoyed working at Murphy and particularly my international assignments which included Congo, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea and Namibia.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This started out to be a good job, but things started to slide very quickly
Peace River Area Construction Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Seal lake Peace River6 May 2015
I had a hard time to get my roles and responsibilities from my manager. nothing was ever written in stone, the work schedule was always changed. this manager was a mirco manager . you could never do thing right for him. we parted ways and I am happier
Pros
the money was good
Cons
no team support from the manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Field and Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC16 April 2014
Was a good place to work while it was growing.
Commissioning of a new field and plant was quite enjoyable.
Pros
safety tickets paid
Cons
no camp
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely loved my job there!!!
Manager (Former Employee) –  Camrose, Alberta, canada3 April 2014
I loved working there and would like think I would still be there if they hadn't closed all the Canadian stores.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is expanding with new opportunities and growth potential.
Compensation Analyst (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 October 2013
Work is steady; good corporate citizen; nice offices and work space.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Murphy Oil Corporation reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Murphy Oil Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 701 reviews
5172
4189
3162
275
1103

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture