Mr. Lube Employee Reviews for Lube Technician

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 319 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Management at these locations
Lube and Tire Technician/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC11 June 2019
Job is a great starter for people looking into the industry you learn a lot really fast, Management was amazing, Lots of opportunities for hard workers to advance.
Pros
Bonus's available
Cons
Work Weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON7 January 2019
During my time at Mr.Lube I learned alot about maintenance of an automobile and how to maintain them myself, the management was always there for you if needed and my coworkers were always friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfing feeling changing the oil on the cars.
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 October 2018
Loved working under the cars as a lower tech, swapping out the old for the new is very satisfing. A fullfiling and gratifying job and I always looked forward to going into work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harsh work environment
Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON4 September 2018
You look at the ad wherever you find it and it promises a nice $20/hr, so you apply, easy interview accepted no problem. First day, some of the workers are kind some nice conversations and overall nice people, others treat you like a newbie and make you do all the grunt work, which is expected. The thing is when the other workers start making you do their job for them that is the issue, plus they tell you after you are hired that you have to complete about 3 months of work before you can get a competitive salary and you have to pay about $200+ for your work clothes which is 20 hrs of work at the starting wage. The work is draining both physically and mentally, and has early hours. On the plus side you get a free meal all day on their anniversary and sometimes you only get 3 or 4 customers a day. PS. I quit early because of school and gave my 2 weeks notice but ended up having to pick up cheque because they refused to mail it to me, its the little things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a young person to make a buck, with a few drawbacks
Automotive Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON8 July 2018
They gave me a job when I needed it so there isn't too much bad I can really say. The job is tough, especially upselling to customers who clearly really don't have the money to spend. It can be heartbreaking in that sense.

Most of the guys I worked with were good and nice people, mostly just certain parts of management were shady. Too often someone got promoted for almost no reason except he was a friend of the owner or his son, and left other people with huge accolades and amazing accomplishments in the dust.

The job is fun, the oil changes are actually a lot of fun to perform, and believe it or not is the smallest part of the upper technicians job.
Your job is to be charming and nice, and trusting. So that customers are willing to let you perform services on their vehicles, rather than go somewhere else to have it done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Lube Technician (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC6 June 2018
workplace which offers skills in mechanics as well as skills in customer service, offering a great deal of mechanical services. Mr Lube provided training making the job not hard to do. Workplace is friendly with highly trained management which is understanding and is concerned with my well being. Most enjoyable part of the job is being able to work on all kinds of diesel and gas vehicles.
Pros
Free lunches, staff outings, full hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of teamwork, really enthusiastic work environment
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON28 May 2018
Overall a very clean place to work, every employee got along well, and gave me proper training. My training was complete within 2 weeks of working on weekends. Staff was very friendly, and made work fun! A lot of knowledge gained on working with various vehicles!
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON17 April 2018
I learned the basics of car maintenance and how to execute the duties (i.e oil changes, differential services, undercoats). The management was fun to work with, some of the co-workers/employees were good and fun people to be around, but the management took a turn for the worst which led to my departure. The enjoyable part of the job was getting better at what u were doing, figuring out the little things to make yourself faster and more effective.
Pros
Accommodative
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and great crew
Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Torbay, NL26 January 2018
I worked for this company for little more than 2 months. Busy work and fast paced. The days pass in a hurry. Unfortunately they had to lay me off due to a slow work season.
Pros
free coffee & 1/2 price on services
Cons
sometimes no breaks, overtime is $12 not time and 1/2
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical mr lube.
Lube tech (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 January 2018
Location in Walmart. minimal experience needed. expect to work on all makes and models. efficiency is a must. shop laundry not provided. It was a job.
Pros
Shift work
Cons
Hard to accel your career
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place if you like sales andripping people off
Tire and Lube Technician & Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 January 2018
great place to work at if you enjoy working on cars. not such a great place if you are an honest person that don't like ripping people off. store manager constantly hounding you to up sell more customers so they can meet there quota...
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, great training program.
Lube technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 November 2017
While working at Mr. Lube, i noticed it was fast paced and there are always new things to learn. Management can be good depending which store you're working at. Hardest part of the job would be doing full vehicle services in a timely manner.
Pros
free hot chocolate/coffee
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great new learning experience in a hands on mechanical field
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON24 August 2017
busy days, long hours standing through long periods of time and negotiating in commission sales.
learned a lot of hands on tool experience and customer greeting experience
Cons
long hours, disorganized all around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they dont know how to treat employees right
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 August 2017
good spot to work if you are just starting out but not for long term. they have awesome discounts if you know someone with a vehicle. they have new owners now so they could be different
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales driven
Service Technician - Tire and Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 August 2017
They do pay you good in commission if you do the job. But its a hard sales push and not every customer wants everything you lecture them on. But this is how the company runs and every company has to have a structure. this job is not an easy job however.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment for novice automotive technicians
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB6 June 2017
Mr. Lube is a decent place for individuals with less experience looking to pursue a career in the automotive industry. Entry level skills for automotive technicians.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with inexperienced manager
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
Learned quite a bit at Mr.Lube to bad it was poorly run. The management were never involved in training or assisting employees.
The best part of the job would be working on cars.
Pros
work on cars
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
If your an person trying to get into the automotive industry this is a great place to start learning the basics of the trade. The management and supervisors were always there to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work enviroment good people
Part time Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON25 April 2017
i worked on cars all day which is fun and i enjoy. i got along with all the people i work with and made a lot of lasting friendships. i did not enjoy all the pressure put on sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a very good company to work for
Lube & Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 March 2017
since the company is franchise owned they get away with a lot of stuff and they know they can. good company but cheap and inconsiderate
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
unprofessional, rude, cheap
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport