Mr. Lube Employee Reviews for Automotive Technician

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 332 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2019
The job would be cool if the management was better. There is a lot of learning that is good, but if you are to make money you need to meet sales goals which are a lot of times unrealistic. The environment becomes very oppressive because the pressure that is put on the managers comes from the top, because of the requirement for sales goals.
You also don't get paid for the training tests you do online and for clean up after work.
Once all the above are addressed then you will be fine to work here.
Cons
unpaid clean up time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard automotive work and welcoming workplace environment
Automotive Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 July 2018
The job can vary from changing fluids and filters to changing and balancing tires. Training is rather lengthy in time but is filled with useful job related information. Co-Workers are very welcoming and are very insightful on how to complete jobs safely and efficiently.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/life balance, job security
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON11 June 2018
Easy going job
Work/life balance
strong work ethics practiced
Management is very respectful
hard part of the job is the irritated customers
workplace culture was very "chill"
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON5 March 2018
It was a bad place to work in my opinion, based on how the customers were treated. The company needs a lot of work with coming into better technological approaches.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company does not care much for employees
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 February 2018
Mr.Lube has a lot to teach their employees but mistreat them a lot and lie to them about opportunities a lot managers are good at being technicians but have horrible management skills and experience bonus is taken away over simple things like being two minutes late to work. Co-workers are ok some are lazy and don't care about their work some put an effort in their work most are power hungry.
Pros
discount and competiteve wage
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
whatever
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 June 2017
whatever I don't care, I do not want to write reviews, change oil on vehicles and their filters like man, this is ridiculous, maybe ask people if they want to review their workplaces before forcing them too
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 June 2017
a lot of hard work and fun. They people were great and I learn a lot from them. The bosses were flexible. It was a great place to work for and a lot of fun..
Pros
close by.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work palce
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 September 2016
Mr Lube was Good Shop, and they will teach more that you need to learn, specially the management they are so friendly, and they are willing to give you chance to do your best.
Pros
free uniform
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress and pace... but it's not too bad
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON21 March 2016
The place is aight... cept we get these supervisors who come from administrative places, and they are monsters who meander in and yell a lot.
Pros
Quick to progressively make more than minimum wage
Cons
Whiny Supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work ethics and fast paced work environment
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  London, ON26 February 2016
Everyday you get to learn something new about different cars. It might be the same thing you did the previous day on a car but it will be different. The team is very friendly and is always there to lend a hand. Manager is a great trainer and helps you do your best.
Pros
Great work experience
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use & Abuse
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 January 2016
The people I worked with are great, owners were great except they put too much pressure on managers to which in turn negatively effected employees. Hard and extra work is hardly recognized.
Pros
Co-workers are awesome
Cons
Commission is easily taken away.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work
automotive service technician (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 January 2016
work on cars was the only good thing.
poor management
very poor structure for perks and less or no benefits.
Good place to start off with and learn technical things.
Short term job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was very enjoyable! The way the managed the staff, not so much.
Automotive Service Adviser/Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 June 2015
When I worked for Mr. Lube I generally would start by arriving to work about 7:20am to start getting the shop ready for customers by, starting up the computers, turning on equipment and setting up the bays. As my coworkers arrived I would delegate duties for them to get the store ready for the customers. Once I opened the store and customers would pull up I would guide them into the bays inside and begin their oil change service with a 21-point inspection, I would then make manufacturer approved recommendations and perform services as needed. I would also make sure that the other staff were doing well and help if needed. Once my supervisor or manager arrived I would usually go on my 30 min lunch break then continue back to working on cars until my shift was over. The shop would run about 20-40 cars a day and I would do about 5-15 all depending on how busy it was. Although I did very much enjoy the work I did the way that they managed and treated their staff lead me to resign.
Pros
Working on cars, close to home at one point, I learned a lot.
Cons
Bad management, underpaid, inappropriate shop owner, working 13-14 days in a row regularly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning workplace.
Automotive Technician (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 February 2015
Mr.Lube is a good place to work if you would like to further your education on mechanics. But has many flaws, for example, the management only cares about how much money they make, not about their employees.
Pros
Good hours, Great work
Cons
Management, expendable employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with cars
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  yonge and may23 October 2014
learnt how to do oil changes and tire changes.
management is very flexible
co-workers are nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Qu├ębec, QC12 February 2014
Great company to work for very flexible, lots of hours and bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Automotive Lubrication Technician (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON18 December 2012
It was quite a dynamic environment. Nothing other than routine cleaning at one moment and then a rush of cars shows up and you don't have time to think.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
unpredictable work load
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report

See more Mr. Lube reviews

You may want to try: