Mr. Lube Employee Reviews in Calgary, AB

Found 34 reviews matching the search See all 319 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace for the first 4 months
Master Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 April 2019
I enjoyed my first couple months at mr.lube until i got mistreated and under paid for the work i did. I enjoyed working with my employees but not so much with my manger.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual workplace but no career advancement
Lower Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 November 2018
The jobs pretty easy and the general atmosphere is pretty casual however no matter how hard you try you wont get so much as a raise out of them, let alone a promotion. So if you need something easy to get bills paid for a short amount of time then this job isnt so bad but its not a good idea to stay long because you wont get anywhere
Pros
Casual work
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Team Oriented
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 August 2018
Working at Mr.Lube, even for the short time I was there, was an amazing experience. I learned A LOT about vehicles that I may not have known. It helped me really decide that I want to continue in the automotive industry.
The location where I worked had an amazing general manager who seemed to genuinely care about each and every team member. Even the other team members I worked with daily helped to ensure everyone was successful which made my days easier to get through and anytime I needed help, someone was there. Having support at work was awesome
Pros
Basic Mechanic Knowledge
Cons
Not Family Friendly Hours per say
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 May 2018
I have been with the company for a little over a year, and as of late they have truly be screwing me over. I haven't had a day off in weeks, I'm being force to work multiple doubles, and they're forcing me to go to other stores without asking me if I'm okay with it. I do not recommend this company. Plus, management is a joke.
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Decent job
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2018
this was a pretty good job a good stepping stone for understanding the basics of an operations of a car. i would recommend this is you can work fast and are ready for whatever you have to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 January 2018
My first real sales/customer service job. I learned a ton of knowledge on service of vehicles as well as organization. This job really was a very good tool in helping me shape up for my future jobs. Hands on learning and awesome experience.
Pros
Learned a lot
Cons
Pay didn't equal duties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 December 2017
Good place to work very busy and managers are nothing but good. Time goes by fast during your shifts. The company spends money on employee development.
Pros
Great place to grow
Cons
can be very dirty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mr Lube Fleet Manager
Fleet Manager Representative - S. Alberta Region (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 July 2017
Mr. Lube has a great product and the franchisees work very hard to keep the customers satisfied and returning for maintenance. The service is second to none and in the case of a claim they work very hard to resolve the customers requirements.
Pros
Discounted vehicle maintenance, benefits
Cons
Salary was low
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the knowledge i got
SERVICE ADVISOR/TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 June 2017
i cant speak on every mr.lube, the one i was at defienlty needed some work in regards to management, i haven't dealt with management that poor before, i think it could be a very good place to be, its really easy to learn lots.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 June 2017
liked working there, just didn't know the managed only hired me as a seasonal worker, decent place to work , had really good hours, and the other employees overall were really nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starter Job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 June 2017
At Mr.Lube I dealt with customers every day whether is was just an oil change or a complaint. I gained a lot of confidence in my ability to deal with issues regarding my co-workers or customers. I was in charge of dealing with the work place to make sure everything went smoothly each day, this included opening/closing the store, lunch breaks and even daily shipments. For a first time job the work place is great but I found the longer you stayed with the company the less chance for advancement was available and pay was rather low. Management I felt was great at the in-store level but higher ups I felt had no idea what was going on half the time as they rarely visited any of their locations other than the main store. They felt out of touch with each store. Mainly enjoyed the flexibility I was given while in university.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Long hours with limited time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with inexperienced manager
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
Learned quite a bit at Mr.Lube to bad it was poorly run. The management were never involved in training or assisting employees.
The best part of the job would be working on cars.
Pros
work on cars
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 May 2017
If your an person trying to get into the automotive industry this is a great place to start learning the basics of the trade. The management and supervisors were always there to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent learning environment
Supervisor and Key Holder (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 May 2017
When I started working at Mr. Lube in 2015 I knew nothing about cars, the training I received was very hands on and within a week I was proficient at performing basic oil changes. Since then i have expanded my knowledge and am capable of performing most fluid exchanges on a vast majority of vehicles.
Pros
Great training and management
Cons
Very rarely received full time hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with good management
Lower Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 April 2017
Good job with pretty much the same tasks every day except when you had to grab lunch for everyone and good management staff and great workplace with valued employees who were always willing to help
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long waits between each vehicle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work, terrible manager
Upper Technician/Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 January 2017
I loved working at Mr. Lube, it was a good learning opportunity for automotive service. The coworkers were awesome. Most of the management was alright, but a couple managers were so focused on profitability that they neglected to prioritize employees. Many times making money was more important than following morals or being a considerate human. They also had an extremely questionable sales expectation, which I believed to be inappropriate in such an environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dirty job
Lower technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 September 2016
well what can i say, its a messy job but someones gotta do it, adding into something rather interesting.... you learn a little bit and or basic information on the vehicles you drive today
Pros
fun and always busy
Cons
you are a complete dirty mess at the end of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very hectic and fast paced place to work.
Lube Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 September 2016
*During a typical day at work, we would change oil, transmission fluids, differentials, radiator fluid, air filter, windshield wipers

*I learned after being there what different parts os the engine we could service and how to make the customers care run more efficiently by suggesting the appropriate products accordingly

*Management was efficient, willing to teach and took their time to engage me and show me each part of my job, answering questions when I didn't always understand

*My co-workers were always willing to share information with me when I needed help and the management was busy, they also would show me different suggestions I could make to help the customers vehicle run better

*The hardest yet most enjoyable job was sales, sales was where I struggled at first because I often didn't understand the purpose or reasons for everything I sold but by diligently asking questions and getting guided answers I learned what each component offered in the running and efficiency of the vehicle and learned to know when things needed to be changed and could adequately offer the correct services to customers myself
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pushy environment
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2016
not a good place to wrok only take
the job if you are desperate like i was.
not a good place for working
find different place if possible
Pros
free coffee
Cons
long hours, rude customer, bad managem
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work palce
Automotive Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 September 2016
Mr Lube was Good Shop, and they will teach more that you need to learn, specially the management they are so friendly, and they are willing to give you chance to do your best.
Pros
free uniform
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport