Mr. Greek Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON9 July 2018
Ownership and Management is unstable, working conditions are unacceptable (ie. very hot in summer & freezing cold in the winter) and owner is inappropriate and dopant follow safe working conditions or guidelines.
Pros
relaxed workers
Cons
bad environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productiive and fun work place
Front Manager (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 May 2018
over all efficient and friendly workplace environment. busy working days. I have learned to organize catering orders and meet customers satisfaction.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Server/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
Poor management; disorganized team; low morale among staff
High turnover rate. High rates of being fired. Management plays favourites. Gets busy on game nights but it's so disorganized that it becomes very stressful. Tips are ok,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company with excellent service
Prep & Cook (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 March 2018
A typical day working at Mr. Greek is very past-paced with friendly staff. Learned many things, and improved on other skills as well such as communication skills. The hardest part of the job is during peak times, but everything goes smoothly with everyone communicating properly making everything run well. The most enjoyable part of the job is the friendly staff members.
Pros
Enjoyable environment
Cons
Short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at mr.greek
Casher and Waitress (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 January 2018
Not a good job, not a proper way to gain experience for a future workplace. Although it is better than not having a job. it was a first job that I had and it didn't help me much that's why I want to have a job that connects to my design field
Pros
n/a
Cons
not organized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Take-out Cashier (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON11 January 2018
I've worked at Mr Greek for years now. It used to be an okay place to work but the head office are crooks and don't care about their employees. I've had too many checks bounce, waited weeks to get reimbursed and never got reimbursed for the charges from my bank when it was Mr Greeks fault for them bouncing in the first place. I've had to wait 4+ months just for my vacation pay, and have had missing hours on my checks multiple times. And if you have a problem with a fellow employee they don't care to settle any issues. And since the new manager it's been even worse. He's entirely lazy and refuses to help when it gets busy when we're short staffed, he prefers to sit in the office playing tetris. And you don't get any breaks working here. Take my advice and don't work here this place is a total joke. All the good reviews are from years ago when we had management that actually valued their staff..they don't anymore.
Pros
Some of the staff are good people
Cons
Bounced checks, favoritism, extremely lazy yet entitled staff, 4+ month holds on vacation pay, no breaks, and only 50% off on less than a quarter of the menu
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Take out cashier/ Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON7 November 2017
Overall, it is a fun working environment. On a daily basis you meet several different people and work with a diverse group of employees. Working during the holidays is the only downside. The manager is fair, understanding and flexible.
Pros
fun staff
Cons
working during holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Chef (Current Employee) –  Argentia Mississauga2 November 2017
Working here from last 8 months and it is very good experience to bieng a part of mr geek and i have learned many things mainly to manage and communication skills
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively easy job, problems with management
Counter Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON25 September 2017
The person that owns this place is great, but management is difficult to work with and is the reason I stopped working there. You kind of wear all the hats even though you're assigned to one position, which is okay, you gain experience, but I didn't find it enjoyable most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment
Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2017
It's been a pleasure working for mr GREEK restaurants.
They offer you chances to advance in upper management. It's a family run business and they make you feel like family.
Overall very good place to work.
Pros
Learning every aspect of a restaurant business
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but frustrating environment to work in
Cashier/server/cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 May 2017
The most enjoyable part of this job was working with a lot of friendly team memebers. What I learnt was to work in a very fast paced environment with a team in a productive manner, and how to cook and make the food that was required. Management was going through a rough watch while I worked there so times were getting frustrating with schedules and being understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 May 2017
This job paid less than minimum wage and I received less than the lower amount I was given. I hardly got any breaks even while working overtime. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly work place
Team member (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 February 2017
Cooperative management and fellow team members make it a very friendly and safe environment to work.
The restaurant has good working conditions and work is equally distributed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so great
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON4 February 2017
the management was very hard to work for, very picky with what they expected and not in a good way. they picked favorites and the hours were awful for me. did not enjoy this job at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard and wasn't good
Customer Services and Helper (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 January 2017
when I been interviewed the interviewer told me that am gonna get hired as a chief assistant then I worked as a dishwasher!
even the salary wasn't good comparing with the efforts that we applied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON26 October 2016
it was an amazing first job . the company and the workers were friendly and nice. it was a very fun environment. they trained me very well and i was glad i was apart of the team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy place to work at
cashier and waitress (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON29 September 2016
fun and fast paces job. requires a lot of energy. Everyone is fun and friendly, customers are also very friendly. Manager was always willing to help when I didn't understand anything. The food is delicious and I loved when customers would tell me how good the food was. I like to see the customers leaving with a big smile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work enviorment
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON2 June 2016
great atmosphere amazing place to work , I loved my co- workers management was very fair and flexible thing i enjoyed most was on holidays like mothers day or Canada day seeing families get together for a great meal.
Pros
free calimari
Cons
to far from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace to work at ...
General Manager, Operations (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 April 2016
Fun workplace but advancement was limited. Head Office was family run. Many hours involved overseeing all cooperate locations. Traveling involved in Ontario
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very different, productive
No main position, cashier, cleaning tables (Former Employee) –  heartland location, Mississauga, ON16 August 2015
Mr.Greeek was my first job to have so it was very interesting and i had alot of experience there. it taught me everything from cash register to cleaning tables, prep the food or closing and opening, handling the cash at the end of the day. with a supportive manager i handled it well for my first job
Pros
all great co-workers, like a family
Cons
barely any customers sometimes, i like to stay busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mr. Greek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 37 reviews
517
47
36
26
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture