Moxie's Grill & Bar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make friends, management made the experience extremely negative
Lounge Server (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB19 October 2018
Working at Moxie’s Moncton can be extremely stressful and anxiety inducing- unfortunately due to the management. They do not act like they are on your team and it feels like they are out to get you or look for you to make a mistake and make you feel very awful about it. They also have favourites. Management needs to understand instilling fear in their employees makes for a negative environment, leading to stress in an already potentially stressful job.
You are just a number at Moxie’s Moncton.
The audits are ridiculous. You could get triple sat with a secret shopper and if it doesn’t go perfectly based on the overall experience (bartenders taking too long to make drinks, kitchen messed up the food order, food runner didn’t offer pepper with dish) the SERVER gets penalized for that and potentially even suspended.
Work somewhere else, this place is bad for your mental health
Pros
You can make great friends and money
Cons
Management is miserable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were great to work with management sucked
Hotesse (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON17 October 2018
I worked as a hostes for a couple months, when I first started they hardly trained me. So when I got out on the floor I was a little lost and didn’t really know who to talk to about questions. When you did do something wrong managers would treat you like garbage. It almost felt like they expected you to know something you weren’t trained on.

You got in trouble for not having makeup on or having your hair done

You had to run in heels during you’re shift
Pros
Other employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can make great friends
Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 October 2018
Moxies is a place where you can meet wonderful people but nothing is really consistant, managment isnt at its greatest and its effecting the atmosphere moxies used to have
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent place to work at
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2018
As a hostess a typical day was cleaning and bussing tables, moving around tables to accommodate large groups, helping servers with taking food to tables, billing customers, etc.
Cons
Have to wear minimum height high heels, not good for long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Satisfying
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 October 2018
In my time a Moxie's I learned a great deal about the full service restaurant industry. I also had freedom to do what it took to grow the business. A good concept.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Prep Cook Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 September 2018
i enjoyed my time with i spent here with long hours working in the dish pit and the nonstop dishes that came through the door. management worked incredibly hard to keep up with the seasonal change.
Pros
brakes
Cons
few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, some negative factors
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 September 2018
It is a 50/50 chance that it will be busy. I have found that lately with the economy being so low, it has not been very busy or beneficial money wise. The people you work with are great, sometimes management is not that pleasant. Not very leader-like. The hardest part of your job is dealing with the guests that come in, as I am sure it is like that everywhere you go. The most enjoyable part is the regulars that come in and build a relationship with you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Lounge Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 September 2018
The work days in the bar were a nice, fast pace and great working environment. There was a lot of staff and management turnover which was difficult to adjust to but overall a good company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Prep & Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC15 September 2018
overall a great place to work, great peopl great food, i learned alot working at moxies including how to effectively close, clean fryers flat top, as well as how to prep, eventually became lead food prep.
Pros
10% off meals
Cons
really fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Night bartender and server (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC14 September 2018
Professional placement with a great team and great guests. Attached to a hotel so people all across the world would come in. Management was great and supported team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team filled with great people!
Coop Student (Former Employee) –  Orleans, ON7 September 2018
Wonderful team to work with in the kitchen but the management team can sometimes be very difficult to work with. Worth it if you are looking to expand your knowledge in the culinary arts industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to meet new people and learn new things
Office/Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS16 August 2018
well first greeting tables, getting to know your guest making suggestions to them and learning a little about what they like and don't like, and if they are returning then you get to know them on more a personal level.
Also closing up for the day, so side duties for cleaning, opening up the restaurant in the morning preparing for the day. as well closing up the end of day sales report, and balancing the books, as well dividing up tips for servers, payroll entailed collecting all the information and imputing it into the payroll system making sure all the numbers balanced. submitting it off to the controller for a final check before it as submitted. enter people into the system with their personal information and banking information for direct deposit, weather or not they wanted to sign up for benefits.
Pros
GREAT experience great people
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Hostess/ Waiter (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
commission and tips were worth the job. but when it comes down to the job itself waiting annoying customers is difficult because not everyone is able to please
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly
Manager / Server (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 August 2018
I made a lot of friends working in this environment. It was a fast paced job with a lot of friendly customers. The staff is very professional and friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time job while I was in school
Server (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC4 August 2018
Average serving job with great pay. Flexible schedule but restaurant had a high turn over. Management team kept changing so there was no continuity of service and training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC29 July 2018
Excellent company and great to start a career with. Great environment and always willing to give more hours as needed, Some training is only available to employees that stay for extended time
Pros
Hours, Enviorment
Cons
Difficultly setting restriced hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are ok with the bad morals.
Quality Service Leader, Lounge Waitress (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC26 July 2018
High heals are required. Management has been uninvolved, aggressive and hostile. Pressure on female front of house staff to look and act a certain way.
Pros
Scheduling. Fun if you're young.
Cons
Management. Pressure on personal appearance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst place I worked at
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON22 July 2018
This is one the of the worst places don't work they don't care about you your a number to then management are the worst they have favourites if your not the management favorite some people get away with stuff and some employees will say stuff to get rid of u if they dont like or u don't suck up to them better off working retail or factory not enough hours very short
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Close to no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 July 2018
I had a great time working at moxies. All the other employees I worked with were kind and outgoing. It was not fun to have to wear high heels to work.
Pros
Kind coworkers
Cons
Have to wear high heels and hair down at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB18 July 2018
I worked there for over 3 years and enjoyed my time with the company, i was lucky enough to work with good management and staff it was quite the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Moxie's Grill & Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 365 reviews
5105
4126
387
223
124

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture