Moxie's Grill & Bar Employee Reviews

Found 346 reviews matching the search See all 378 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is a NIGHTMARE
Dining Room Server (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS10 December 2018
The staff that work here are (for the most part) a delight to work alongside. However, the management is full of individuals not meant for such positions, all for varying reasons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC8 December 2018
Awesome development opportunities! Travel around North America doing opens!! People are great fun and lots of parties and prizes to celebrate your time at Moxie's
Pros
Good discounts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
lead cook (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 December 2018
fresh fun and positive always want to work there fast passed environment good place for and cook to be im am glad to be part of such a great team .
Pros
gg
Cons
gg
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for serious chefs
Saute cook (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 November 2018
Moxie's is hands down one of the least organized kitchens I've ever worked in. Prep is never finished on time. Certain parts of the line are never stocked properly. If you start at 5 and you need to stock, you won't have much time because that's when the dinner rush starts to trickle in. You're given a ridiculous amount of cleaning duties per station on top of a weekly cleaning duty, which is hard to get done when they want you to be finished within your scheduled time. A typical day is arriving to work when it's already busy, not having enough stock on the line, being behind on orders due to the fact that you constantly need to run to the fridge and then being blamed for long ticket times. Management rarely solves problems. The culture is sort of divided between the two types of employee's. You have the lifers who are pretty gung ho about everything, and you have the employees who are just there until their other careers take off.The hardest part of the job is trying not to quit over problems that shouldn't exist. The most enjoyable part of the job is leaving at the end of the night. What I learned from working there is how to not run a restaurant. They also think Demi-Glace is actually called Demi-Glaze.
Pros
You will be motivated to do better with your life
Cons
You are underpaid for level of qualification
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, will hold your tips if you quit
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 November 2018
Dont work at Moxies South port in Calgary AB. Literally the worst management I have ever experienced. Employers yell at you in front of customers.. when I quit, I tried to give 2 weeks notice.. manager didn't answer calls, emails or text messages from me and refused to put me on the schedule. I went in to the restaurant to pick up my tips and from previous shifts and they refused to give them.. waste of time to work there when management is like that
Pros
didn't experience any
Cons
no morale, aggressive management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
..
Host at Moxie's (Former Employee) –  Langley13 November 2018
Bad company culture, management was overall very bad and did not care about workers. Kitchen staff were harassing hosts and servers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Alright
Any position (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 November 2018
It's okay here,
you work hard/ no matter how long you work in the company you still get min wage
the environment is Okay, not the best not the worst.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work culture
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON5 November 2018
Fantastic work environment which involves decent length shifts, with a steady to busy work pace. Management is friendly but also very professional. Connecting with different guests and managing different tasks at any given moment is arguably the most enjoyable part of the job. Difficult tasks are handle well as the work place is very resourceful. Overall, a great work environment for those who a have a passion in the service industry.
Pros
Creating guest connections
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON4 November 2018
friendly co workers
fast paced environment would sometimes get too hectic especially when overbooking by accident
employees would go above and beyond their duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work if you are a male
Supervisor, Bartender (Former Employee) –  Alberta2 November 2018
My advancement in the company was hindered because I was not an attractive 20-25 year old female. Was not allowed to work to my strengths because of my gender.
Pros
Steady hours and pay
Cons
Very sexist company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
LINE COOK (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, ON30 October 2018
Everyday i was doing something different and working with different people. never have i ever worked in a team environment that worked so well together. Management Team Was Understanding and laid back yet firm when needed
Pros
amazing people
Cons
split shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work environment, Welcoming Staff
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON24 October 2018
Moxie`s Bar & Grill is a great place to work due to their warm welcoming staff.

A typical day would be:
-punch in
-change into uniform
-a brief rundown of how the day was before your shift
-your shift begins
-your shift ends

A learned that teamwork is important in a cooperative work environment. The management is very understanding, if any inconveniences were to happen they understand your position and do what they can to help. The workplace is fun and enlightening, they engage with you to a friend level making you feel involved and welcome.
The hardest part of the job was closing, being a Dishwasher you close your station last because you have to clean the other stations' equipment and that keeps the managers and other coworkers waiting.
The most enjoyable part of the job is starting because everyone greets you and your coworkers give you intel on how the day is going and what they predict the day will be like, which helps you prepare for later.
Pros
Free lunches, Good discount
Cons
Long hours, Standing a lot, Late closes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, with flexible hours.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 October 2018
Great place to work, with flexible hours. The people become like a family, you're never bored. The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to interact with people.
Pros
discount on food
Cons
not sure how long shifts are
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make friends, management made the experience extremely negative
Lounge Server (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB19 October 2018
Working at Moxie’s Moncton can be extremely stressful and anxiety inducing- unfortunately due to the management. They do not act like they are on your team and it feels like they are out to get you or look for you to make a mistake and make you feel very awful about it. They also have favourites. Management needs to understand instilling fear in their employees makes for a negative environment, leading to stress in an already potentially stressful job.
You are just a number at Moxie’s Moncton.
The audits are ridiculous. You could get triple sat with a secret shopper and if it doesn’t go perfectly based on the overall experience (bartenders taking too long to make drinks, kitchen messed up the food order, food runner didn’t offer pepper with dish) the SERVER gets penalized for that and potentially even suspended.
Work somewhere else, this place is bad for your mental health
Pros
You can make great friends and money
Cons
Management is miserable
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees were great to work with management sucked
Hotesse (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON17 October 2018
I worked as a hostes for a couple months, when I first started they hardly trained me. So when I got out on the floor I was a little lost and didn’t really know who to talk to about questions. When you did do something wrong managers would treat you like garbage. It almost felt like they expected you to know something you weren’t trained on.

You got in trouble for not having makeup on or having your hair done

You had to run in heels during you’re shift
Pros
Other employees
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Lounge Server (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON16 October 2018
I was employed at Moxies for 4 years. Great opportunity, I met some life long friends and gained a lot of transferable skills i.e. customer service, time management, working in a fasted paced (sometimes stressful) environment, extensive food and beverage training. You have to be on your toes at all times as it is very fast paced and high turn over of customers. Moxies goes above and beyond with customer service, customer experience is Moxies number one priority. Hours can be long, however most customers and staff are very pleasant and make work fun. Also potential to make great money.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can make great friends
Server (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 October 2018
Moxies is a place where you can meet wonderful people but nothing is really consistant, managment isnt at its greatest and its effecting the atmosphere moxies used to have
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a decent place to work at
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2018
As a hostess a typical day was cleaning and bussing tables, moving around tables to accommodate large groups, helping servers with taking food to tables, billing customers, etc.
Cons
Have to wear minimum height high heels, not good for long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Satisfying
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK3 October 2018
In my time a Moxie's I learned a great deal about the full service restaurant industry. I also had freedom to do what it took to grow the business. A good concept.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Prep Cook Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 September 2018
i enjoyed my time with i spent here with long hours working in the dish pit and the nonstop dishes that came through the door. management worked incredibly hard to keep up with the seasonal change.
Pros
brakes
Cons
few hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Moxie's Grill & Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 378 reviews
5107
4130
391
224
126

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture