Moxie's Grill & Bar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly
Manager / Server (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON12 August 2018
I made a lot of friends working in this environment. It was a fast paced job with a lot of friendly customers. The staff is very professional and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC29 July 2018
Excellent company and great to start a career with. Great environment and always willing to give more hours as needed, Some training is only available to employees that stay for extended time
Pros
Hours, Enviorment
Cons
Difficultly setting restriced hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you are ok with the bad morals.
Quality Service Leader, Lounge Waitress (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC26 July 2018
High heals are required. Management has been uninvolved, aggressive and hostile. Pressure on female front of house staff to look and act a certain way.
Pros
Scheduling. Fun if you're young.
Cons
Management. Pressure on personal appearance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst place I worked at
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON22 July 2018
This is one the of the worst places don't work they don't care about you your a number to then management are the worst they have favourites if your not the management favorite some people get away with stuff and some employees will say stuff to get rid of u if they dont like or u don't suck up to them better off working retail or factory not enough hours very short
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Close to no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC18 July 2018
I had a great time working at moxies. All the other employees I worked with were kind and outgoing. It was not fun to have to wear high heels to work.
Pros
Kind coworkers
Cons
Have to wear high heels and hair down at all times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB18 July 2018
I worked there for over 3 years and enjoyed my time with the company, i was lucky enough to work with good management and staff it was quite the experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Frustrating Job
Server (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 June 2018
Managers will not care about you, no matter what they want you to think. You will never be shown understanding for simple mistakes. Even on busy days money is not very good. Super short shifts. The goal of the restaurant is to place all the employees against each other to compete for hours, tips, and promotions. Females are also forced to wear heels and keep hair down at all times with the idea that females look more physically pleasing to men this way. Sexist. Careless. Behind the times. Not a good job.
Pros
Short hours for a casual job
Cons
Short shifts, you will be broke.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managers are not diverse
Server (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 June 2018
Blond manager at Moxies Dartmouth is very racist. She always cut my hours and leave tbe white girls working. The owner is very nice though. The head chef is rude and never smiles at you
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Sous Chef (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2018
Has a great atmosphere, a great team of people that make work feel not so much like work.

learning the basics of being in kitchen as well as the management side of things.

easiest part of the job is cooking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad pay/Management sucks
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 June 2018
They pay you the bare minimum, and ask you to do the job of 6.
Paid 11$ an hour. Only to have a raise 6 months later of 25 cents. Despite doing doubles most days, working 6 days a week and being the head of the prep team.
Next raise was 6 months after that and it went up 50 cents after I fought with the chef for about 45 minutes on why I should get more than just another 25 cents.
Management does what they want when they want. If they wanna go smoke while you’re in the middle of a dinner rush they don’t care they just take off and don’t say anything. Turnover of staff is ridiculous except for the 3 people that decide never to leave.
Bartenders have to accept drinks from customers but have to throw it out because they aren’t allowed to drink on the job. Most bartenders I know do shots throughout there service out of respect for the client that bought it for them. But not at moxies.
If you work in the kitchen you aren’t allowed to eat unless you pay for the food. Management tells you to go punch it in and pay if they catch you eating even a small snack and discount is between 40-60%.
Chefs, sous-chefs and managers are the only ones allowed free food.
Really not worth it. Unless you’re coming right out of culinary school or if it’s your first  “real” kitchen job after McDonald’s or subways.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The staff is entertaining as well as fun, they all welcome you into the environment with open arms, they create a great atmosphere for work/leisure
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON17 June 2018
Hudson's has a great friendly staff who all accept you into the work environment with open arms, some of the managers are strict and not very understanding to personal needs including medical.
Pros
Free food on the job
Cons
Managers don't understand when you have medical concerns and need a day off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and flexible
Server (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 June 2018
Moxies is a great place to work as a server. It is always busy and certainly has its charms. With serving anywhere comes a good, fast pace environment where you can make very easy money as long as you are hospitable and friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intense work environment where you can learn a lot
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON7 June 2018
I found management was very tough on their employees. However, the employees grew to become very valuable assets to the company. The employees themselves were splendid people to be around. Overall, it's an interesting place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor managment
Senior Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC6 June 2018
team was great but managment was unsuportive and expected perfection with no suport. they need to clean house of upper managment and hire new leadership. Very very poor management.
Pros
team is great
Cons
managment sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Server (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON4 June 2018
Horrible place to work! Management is horrible and disorganized and the fact that they make girls wear heels to serve is ridiculous and totally unfair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Host (Former Employee) –  West Edmonton Mall, AB31 May 2018
great managers, flexible hours, good money, great company, good food. would totally recommend to anyone to work here. i worked as a host and i loved it there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First experience in a work environment
Hostess/Busser (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC28 May 2018
I have worked with Moxies for coming on two years, I have no major issues with the company, my job as a hostess is fairly straightforward. One of the main issues I have with the company is the strict dress code. I find it highly unsanitary that servers are forbidden from wearing their hair off of their face.
Pros
40% staff discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Garbage Management
Dishwasher/Cook (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB28 April 2018
worked there for one day and some fool on the other side of the kitchen knocks some plastic tubs over and the Psycho manager screams at me for them falling and not being in a Safer spot...i didnt put them there, they were there when i started my shift...i quit on the spot.
Cons
Psycho Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, fun atmosphere
Chef (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON22 April 2018
Great company to work for, salary and benefits rank among leading edge within the culinary industry. Highly recommend to anyone looking in the field.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Host/Busser (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 April 2018
i worked as a busser for over a year and although it wasn't really the best job position the people there still found little ways to make life easier on me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Moxie's Grill & Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 349 reviews
599
4121
385
221
123

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture