MOUNT SAINT VINCENT UNIVERSITY Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching and learning promote each other.
Chinese Instructor(Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS1 March 2018
Each student is an independent individual. The teacher should be good at discovering the strengths of the students and guiding the students in finding the best learning method for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
IT&S support technician (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS9 November 2017
I worked on a temp contract and a work term here, it was a fun place to work with a great management team and staff.

it was a 9-5 job and it was not a bad place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here.
Hand out bulletins at Graduation Ceremony (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS16 October 2017
I worked here as a casual employee, working as an Usher during their graduation ceremonies. I enjoyed it working here and found them very well organized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, productive and fun environment
Usher (Former Employee) –  Nova Scotia6 June 2017
It was a great experience since that was the first time I worked to earn money. The environment was conducive and the people I worked with were great and u understanding.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Stood for a while
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS30 March 2017
I do this as more of an unpaid internship. But I hope to get to a paid position perhaps in my fourth year or after completing my bachelors degree. This job offers learned experience and on the job training in psychological research
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work while being a student
Food and Beverage Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS19 August 2016
Worked for three years for the mount and found it to be quite enjoyable. Great group of staff as well as regular customers who made it enjoyable bartending and managing both the pub and store. Hardest part of the job was when it got slow but most enjoyable was seeing when people were out enjoying themselves and the events you've planned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent university.
Supplementary Chemistry Instructor (Former Employee) –  MSVU1 June 2016
Smaller but highly regarded university - great work atmosphere. Excellent chemistry department. Helping the students to learn chemistry is very rewarding.
Pros
Great to work on campus.
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respectful Institution
NA (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS25 September 2014
- Learned a lot
- Enjoyed working there
- Bright supervisors
- Focus on development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Facilities Management (Former Employee) –  Halifax, Nova Scotia13 September 2014
People are great as long as you don't mind long hours and low pay.

University is managed for the education side but is small and therefore little benefits or ability to move up in the origination.
Pros
Four weeks vacation to start
Cons
no more vacation time / long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really Interesting and fun!
Supplemental Instruction Leader (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS30 June 2014
This job allows one to really use past knowledge, as well as newer knowledge in order to help other students understand course material. Although I worked by myself, it allowed me time to really connect with other students and give them the attention they needed. The hardest part of the job is finding new ways to re-work the course material to accomodate each individual student; however, that also happens to be the best part of the job as well!
Pros
challenging, interesting, fun, interactive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work at a glance
Web Course Technician (Current Employee) –  Bedford, NS27 March 2014
I have honed my customer service skills and am able to assist any customer with their problems/issues. I enjoy working with my co-workers and assisting them and being assisted in the day-to-day workings.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Part-time Instructor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 May 2013
This employer makes part-time, temporary staff feel like part of the family. An encouraging, positive work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MOUNT SAINT VINCENT UNIVERSITY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 13 reviews
57
44
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.3Culture

MOUNT SAINT VINCENT UNIVERSITY Reviews by Location