Mount Allison University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school, great opportunities
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB15 March 2018
I mostly tutored for the MTA football team, so my exposure was limited, but I had a great time doing it.
I studied commerce and economics and tutored on related subjects.
I absolutely recommend this school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay school
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB28 February 2018
It's very left here which is really nice. Liberal arts focus means most of the students have the critical thinking kit, but that's not always the case. People are pretty into art and stuff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Event Staff Services (ESS) Manager (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB6 December 2017
Very supportive work environment, supportive coworkers and management. Excellent workplace training provided, as well as fair scheduling. Typical duties of a bar environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor, inconsistent Management
Student Wellness Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB31 August 2017
Multiple changes in management, more concerned about optics than providing good quality services to students. Top heavy when emphasis should be on front line services.
Pros
Good Academics and Faculty
Cons
Poor Management, Secretive culture, Lack of Transparency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Undergraduate Experience
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB15 June 2017
Wonderful experience as an undergraduate researcher and student, great staff, great environment and overall great education quality. Able to perform research early in academic career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Administrative Services Intern (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB29 May 2017
This job was an amazing opportunity to but theory into action and use what I learned during class time and how it applies to the real world. This job also provided hands on learning experience and allowed me to make suggestions, many of which were used at later times either in the online platforms or in the newsletters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advances work ethic and attitudes
President of the Philosophy Society (Current Employee) –  Sackville, NB29 April 2017
**These jobs are volunteer based. No salary or compensation. Though, this job allows me to be more involved in the community and offers opportunities to speak at events, lectures, and add to my overall hands-on work experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going and Enjoyable Experience
TEACHING ASSITANT (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB30 January 2017
Instructing students on proper experimental procedures and techniques. Assisted in supervising students while writing exams and helped with marking of lab reports. Overall a very enjoyable place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Barclay Building27 July 2016
A great start for experiencing laboratory work and obtaining an exceptional work ethic. The work was fast paced and meticulous, and improved me overall as both an independent worker and one who works as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Student Job
Photography Intern (Current Employee) –  Sackville, NB14 April 2016
This is a good student job with minimal hours. It requires attending many of the events on campus, and is a good opportunity to get more involved in university life. There are inside opportunities for photography contests. It's great to be able to work as a team with other students who are interested in photography.
Pros
interesting events
Cons
minimal pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall conducive work environment, excellent infrastructure for both teaching and research.
Visiting Faculty (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB7 November 2014
On the scale of 1 to 5, I will rate 4.5 to my experience at MtA. Following contributed to my above rating:

Excellent faculty/student ratio
Offers excellent platform for both teaching and research
Conducive work environment
Supportive management structure
Clear SOP's for the understanding of academic/administrative processes
Pros
Flexible work environment, very supportive colleagues
Cons
Salary structure is on the low side
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed work environment
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB16 September 2014
-a typical day at work, you would start lab with the participating students, while they worked through the material given for that day you answered any questions that they may have.
-What I learned most is to be prepared for any question that means throughly knowing the material before entering the lab.
- management was great, there was a head lab instructor whom gave you a hand if you were stuck on something.
-co-workers were other students or the professor
-
Pros
it was a learning opportunitiy
Cons
it was impossible to know everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Spanish lab monitor (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB9 July 2014
Led an intro level Spanish lab.

Helped students with intro Spanish level subjects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned lots and very enjoyable
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB16 June 2014
Aided in preparation of student labs as well as helping students with any difficulties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Residence Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB2 April 2014
Being an RA allows you to meet a lot of people and help new students transition into the university life style. You are however, pretty much on duty at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sociology
100 (Former Employee) –  10021 March 2014
Well it's power to help the others at anytime & try to solve it with
Them & lat them feel that someone care about them
Pros
lunch
Cons
short hours h
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment where rules were enforced but people were respected
Residence Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sackville, NB6 March 2014
I enjoyed my position as Residence Assistant and think it was a great oppourtunity to get out into the public view and meet new people.
Pros
Free snacks, work with people you know, respected by most.
Cons
Late hours, technically on 24/7, interior conflict easily arise
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB21 December 2013
Marking assignments was not too overwhelming as the instructions were clear and the class-size was small.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wedding Asisistant Wonderland
Chaplain's Wedding Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sackville, NB18 August 2013
My duties were widespread from handling important government documents to organizing and executing plans for the ceremony. I worked alone beside the Reverend and was solely responsible for the back stage actions of the Wedding. The hardest part of my job that summer was to establish myself as a position of authority when among the wedding parities, however this may have also been the most enjoyable part. If I were still a student at Mount Allison University, I would most definitely apply to this position again.
Pros
Good hours, fun times
Cons
Convincing strangers I was an authoritative element in the Chapel when I was a student
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Head of Anthropology Department - Sackville (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NS16 August 2013
It was a great place to work and gain experience I learnt good research skills and proposal writing, interviews and transcribing
Pros
I learnt good research skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mount Allison University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 27 reviews
516
49
31
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Mount Allison University Reviews by Location