Motel 6 / Studio 6 Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 2,251 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot
Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON30 January 2019
In this job placement a lot about maintenance as well as customer service in the hospitality industry and mat so money people from all walks of life.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working Place
House keeping (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB11 September 2018
I learned how to do house keeping. Good management staff. The owner is awesome. Nice working different cultures. the most enjoyable part of being house keeping is when u finished 16 rooms early and u can help your other co worker.
Pros
the owner helps
Cons
good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to learn.
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Claresholm, AB8 September 2018
Answered phones, made reservations, did cash flow at beginning and end of shifts. Helped housekeeping when needed, kept front area cleaned at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots off work
Housekeeping Attendant (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 September 2018
Im current employee in housekeeping department .
They give us most off days lots off rooms to clean
and rooms sometimes can be really dirty because some guests stay long time and in some rooms guest have dogs so it can be very messy at times.
Motel doesn't have house person so management expect housekeeper to take trash out from trash rooms and clean public area too, so it can me very physically demanding.
Some time as employee you feel that you can give critical feedback because supervisor calling that unnecessary complaining .
It would be better work place if they have more understanding to employees issues and needs, as work atmosphere depends a lot on good supervisor and management who should work well with employees as team ,otherwise good benefits but atmosphere at work should be better if they fix some things so employee can be more productive.
What do I enjoy the most at my work is meeting different people and when they a happy with service .
Pros
Benefits
Cons
to much work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Studio 6
Front Desk Clerk/Night Auditor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 June 2018
Great place to work, for freedom, the manager always listen to the employees and excellent way to tree every one of us their friend . staff was great to work greeted guest to a smile.
Pros
great location in china town
Cons
Not visible to the main street of grange avenue
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace can be fun and fairly easy days
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Kingston5 June 2018
Typical days at work include very repetitive practices; the rooms are all identical, and you run through the same processes day to day, usually working the same days each week. Most of the work here is independently accomplished. The management is very friendly and generally accommodating to staff needs. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the oftentimes long hours and overworking of staff. Most days we would be left short staffed when others called in, the staff working that day became responsible for the extra duties/work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized Workplace
Housekeeping Attendant (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 June 2018
Motel 6 is an organized workplace with a lot of great staff. I made a lot of good friends there and I would recommend working there to others, it helped me develop good time management skills.
Pros
some free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Sexsmith, AB18 March 2018
Everyone is willing to work as a team and work very hard to help one another when in need and trying to get the rooms all done and complete and satisfy the customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 January 2018
Learned communication skills working there .. hardest part of the job working for longer shifts ... met people from different culture and got good experience
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Customer Service Job
Night Auditor/Front Desk (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB2 November 2017
If you enjoy customer service jobs you will enjoy working here. It was one of the best jobs I had, the only thing is the pay isn't great and there are not many opportunities to advance.
Pros
Good atmosphere
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Demanding
General Manager Motel 6 (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 October 2017
Excellent Corporately owned and managed property. High energy managers will find it easy. Most of the hourly employees are permanent long term employees who know what they are doing. Top management expects to meet or exceed all KPIs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
House keeping
Cleaning (Former Employee) –  Oregon29 March 2017
I was workinh at motel 6 soon at least 14 or 15 room in my schedule days it was easy for me is one of kind od work that a doing. Very well i would like to working again for the tips
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good placeto work
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON31 December 2016
rooms are nice friendly and good place to be it doesnt have much of anything nodining room or exercise room or pool but its nice to stayn there
Pros
none
Cons
no dining room
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Housekeeper/Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON21 December 2016
it is a fun place to work but if you are looking for full time hours then this is not the place for you. I found I was begging for more hours each week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON14 September 2016
Was trained by a very nice woman and staff is very pleasant which made it enjoyable to be at the hotel. Hardest part is physically on the back but it's not so bad. I recommend a good pair of running shoes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, people are friendly.
House Keeping Attendant (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2016
Day goes by quickly because i'm always occupied doing my duties. I learned customer service skills. Managers are always willing to help an answer question that i might not know. Co-wokers are friendly and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life school
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Moosomin, SK16 May 2016
we always its good to work on cruise ship but no one realize how hard is it, Its life school where you travel the world meet people learn working under big stress, and lots more
its fun
its safe
good money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good start up place
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Moosomin, SK13 May 2016
Its fun you learn all departments at once,
marketing tools very sharpening here
you learn make your decisions on your own
its like all jobs in one room
Pros
not much
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Laternal Learning
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 April 2016
It's good to work in MOTEL 6 environment, while contacts with customer.

the most enjoyable part of the job is to serve the guest as a family member.
Pros
Learning Skills
Cons
Not Enough Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to be Employed
Front Desk Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON11 April 2016
The workday can differ, the AM shift sends the guests on their way and deals with any issue they might have with their bill.
PM shift is the one who check-in all the guest and take payment for the room. They also take reservations as well as the day shift.

Motel 6 Kingston is the best for work atmosphere, you treat the guest respectful and they in turn respect you for the most part. The manager at this location sticks by his employees decisions, yet makes sure the guest are always satisfied. The manager at this location is a pleasure to work for and it makes all the employees happy to come to work.

The hardest part of the job is working alone, on a busy night and having no back-up! Its close to the highway so its hard to predict a busy night. There can be 12 c/i when you go on the shift and at 7pm have the hotel full....But its a great place to work, management means everything
Pros
Manager, location
Cons
Working alone when it is unexpectedly busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Motel 6 / Studio 6. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 2,251 reviews
5612
4513
3552
2260
1314

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture