Morningstar Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 172 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
early mornings and good exercise
Paper Carrier (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC16 April 2019
I would wake up around 4-5 am then go outside to stack the papers on my wagon and then proceed to walk up and down the streets I assigned to deliver papers on
Pros
free papers
Cons
not enough work to make any good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Hardworking, and Strategic
Lead Hand, Mutual Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 February 2019
The Team Picked For This Meticulous Detailed Job Was Fast moving and coordinated very well and was managed with fairness and precise commands, enjoyed my experience with Morningstar...
Pros
Cash Advance if needed for Lunch, asked to come back
Cons
Dust from other country in C Can, about it, ...
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission, great people, imperfect execution, middling pay/advancement
Senior Investment Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 March 2018
Morningstar takes its mission to serve investors seriously. It is a mission-driven company. The new CEO is clear headed and has the right priorities. Increased consolidation of resources and decision-making in the Chicago office has made working outside of the US feel less impactful. Longtime employees will likely find their salary and bonuses stagnate--and it's not as if Morningstar is a best-in-class provider of salary or benefits (aside from the 6 week sabbatical and highly flexible work environment).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great camaraderie with excellent work-life balance
Senior Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 February 2018
During my stay at Morningstar, I have developed extensive web application experience. I took full advantage of the opportunities to work with many different technologies, including:

- ASP .NET (MVC, C#, HTML5, CSS3, JavaScript, jQuery, responsive web, AngularJS)
- Java (Spring framework, Spring core, Spring MVC, Spring Security)
- Adobe Experience Manager (AEM)
- AWS cloud (lambda functions, NodeJS, EC2, S3, API Gateway, CloudFormation, Terraform)

I also had the opportunity to lead agile scrum teams, act as technical lead for projects, mentor and train junior teammates.
Pros
Great work-life balance
Cons
Lack of Opportunity for Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 March 2017
The Company genuinely cares about the well being of its employees and constantly strives to make positive improvements on daily work life. It is a fun place to work with great workplace culture and environment .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company for sales people
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 October 2016
large office setting, neat & clean, facility manager is awesome! relaxed environment, very multicultural which makes it very fun work, very transparent,
Pros
well reputed
Cons
difficult to make changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment
Data Analyst (Current Employee) –  London, ON18 February 2015
Doing presentations and introducing the project I am dealing with to investors as well as a lot of travelling which is fun
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work
Bilingual Quality Assurance Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2014
Typical day - ensure information on websites is up to date and accurate

Learned how to perfect quality assurance

Management is nice and understanding

Co-workers are helpful

Hardest part of the job last minute long hours

Enjoyable part was casual wear
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Morningstar reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Morningstar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 172 reviews
560
460
333
210
19

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.8Culture

Morningstar Reviews by Location