Montana's BBQ & Bar Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, Great Culture
Manager (Former Employee) –  Ontario9 May 2018
Management is a hit or a miss sometimes depending on the location but the people that you work with are amazing. A lot of opportunity to grow, develop and learn as long as the management supports you.
Pros
Great teamwork. Great Benefits
Cons
Unstable work schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment
Server (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON7 May 2018
good people
great management
busy weekend shifts
good tips
learned to work under pressure, work with others, take orders, prepare food and ability to work one own and as a team player
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good environment
dish washer (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC4 May 2018
Great workplace experience and all the staff is very nice.
i like working at Montana's. The work environment in that place is very good. the food their is also good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
SERVER (Former Employee) –  Canada30 April 2018
Great restaurant for friends and family. Food is great ,stuff is friendly. Relaxing atmosphere and great place for birthday , office dinner and special occasion.
Pros
fast
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful employees and incredible Managers
Prep Cook - Cook (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB25 April 2018
I found the people I worked with at Montana's. Had a love for the work that they did every day. Coupled with incredible managers made for an intense but interesting work environment.
Pros
Really nice people to work with
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON25 April 2018
very busy restaurant to work in but very fun and open concept, all the people that are working there were very willing to help me learn all the ways of doing things right while in the workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
montanas
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK23 April 2018
Fast paced environment that has a fun loving staff. Good for if you are looking for a job with flexible hours. Great for when you are in school or just looking for a side income.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 April 2018
My first day at work, they gave me a whole bunch of tasks to do. it was soo much. I had to portion 5 box of cheese strips, with 3 bags in each box. After i do that, i have to put an day label on each cheese i portion, and put it in a bin and put it back in the refrigerator. basically my first day, i was portioning cheese strips for almost 4 hours straight. i learn to be patients even tho some of my fellow co-workers are sometimes rude. and i learned to talk less. because the more you talk, you wont get your task done faster. the thing i find most challenging in my job, is i guess, just portioning the cheese strips and that's all, because, sometimes there more than 4 boxes.
Pros
Free lunch everyday
Cons
Long tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Host, Expo and Server (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON14 March 2018
Amazing place to work, great management and staff (Montanas Division st specifically). Most enjoyable part would by far be the staff that keeps the restaurant vibrant and full of smiles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great company to work for
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC3 March 2018
Don't treat employies good
don't give breaks
don't give tip out
promise you move up within the company didn't follow threw after a year of working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun time
Server/Night Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Jasper, AB27 February 2018
Everyone worked well together and got things done. It was easy to work there with good management and hard workers. The hours went by smoothly with these to constantly do which was nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the greatest place to work.
Server (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON26 February 2018
Management and staff are extremely unprofessional. This location is always understaffed. Servers sometimes have 8 to 10 tables at once. Location runs out of food nearly every week. Veteran staff are ignorant.
Pros
Good Tips
Cons
Limited hours, Poor Management, Ran Out of Food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short Shifts not enough hours
Fort Saskatchewan - (Hostess) (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB20 February 2018
In restaurant businesses you work with a variety of different people, some you don't like some you do. There were two typical kind of work days there, either super slow and the day dragged on, or it was crazy busy and employers were overwhelmed and cranky.
Pros
Barely worked
Cons
no money
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job poor managment
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON13 February 2018
Job is not bad it's management. It's all favouritism. If your buddies with management and supervious you get treated like gold but if you are not you will Def see the difference between the way you are treated. Policy gets thrown up a lot mgt picks and chooses who is to follow policy. Some people get away with doing things that others cannot.
In some cases one employee can do something and it's fine totally excepted but if another does it you get treated differently
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motivated Staff but Unorganized Management
Host (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE8 February 2018
Somewhat unorganized management and ownership. The environment at the workplace was small, hectic and frequently difficult to operate effectively. Somewhat lack of motivation among employees.
Pros
Breaks, good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 January 2018
The food here is great and all but no body helps each other or works as a team. Owners treat you like you’re invisible. GM was very rude and spiteful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked most nights and weekends
Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB22 January 2018
I didn't really enjoy being a manager at Montana's. I started as a server and probably should have continued to do that job. It took away from my home life, never got to see my husband.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place for kitchen work
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC18 January 2018
The front of house can end up with multiple strikes for termination but as soon as kitchen messes up it is instant termination.

(Ex. Servers always trade shifts without notifying anyone and of one of the agreed parties cant make it they do not get in trouble.)
Pros
Full 8hrs
Cons
No leaders, managers have no official training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save yourself
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  British Columbia5 January 2018
No structure in this company, the management does not care about the employees. They have lazy managers,they have supervisors that acts like managers but are actually high payed servers that manipulates scheduling so they could get the best schedules.
Shocking how issues are even addressed to corporate and no actions taken, employees always come and go thats why they dont really stop hiring and looking for that employee that they would victimize and leave miserable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Montana's review
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB3 January 2018
I had a amazing time working with the company. Nothing but good things to say about staff and management and everyone at the Brooks, Alberta location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Montana's BBQ & Bar. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 82 reviews
521
420
322
214
15

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture