Money Mart Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Central Authorization Agent/ Product Analyst (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON19 June 2018
Unless you have a good manager you are screwed. The work/ life balance and hours are not worth it in major cities. For a small town you will have better luck.
Pros
A benifit Plan
Cons
If you get the time off to utalize the benifit package. Oh and no rasies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, productive, educational work environment.
Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 June 2018
My typical day ran for about ten hours, six days a week. I learned various aspects of government procedure regarding lending as well as collecting. As well I was introduced to government policies, such as privacy and highly educated on security.
I very, very much enjoyed the clientele and was always ready to go the extra mile. Because I was management it was my responsibility to generate a positive and helpful environment and ensured such practice was held by my staff to that standard.
Pros
Rewarding, both monetarily and personally.
Cons
Corporate seniors were provinces away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
collections at money mart
District Collector (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC15 June 2018
I have met some friends for life at this place. that is the only good part of this job. they force you to make 800 calls a day on a dialer. they buy you food then do mass firing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  1702 Eglinton Ave West Toronto ON10 June 2018
Money Mart is my 2nd job in Canada and I may have given them a low rating because I had a different expectation with the company. I have learned and memorized the monetary of Canada, I can now determine fake money just by the looks and feel of it, I learned how to be a cashier, how to float cash from safe to till and till to safe. The hardest part in this job when I accepted it, I was not informed that I need to make sales and if quota is not reached they can terminate you. I guess the job was not for me.
Pros
You can avail their product with discount or sometimes free
Cons
make impossible as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Customer Service representative (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC10 June 2018
Money Mart is a good company to work for and I have enjoyed 5 years employment with them. Unfortunately with company reconstruction hrs have been down sized and I am no longer able to afford to strictly work for them so I am seeking further employment to replace or supplement my income.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB5 June 2018
overall a ok place to work. raises are very low for management. great training program for new hires. travel paid for out of town meetings and training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security is paramount
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 June 2018
Being behind the glass for 8 hours was difficult especially if working alone. There is no way to go outside for a break because of security measures.
Pros
Free services
Cons
Its what i imagine prison to feel like after 8 hours behind the glass
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal place to work
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON28 May 2018
Not for the clausterphobic. Couldn't leave the facility during shifts as we are behind secured doors during the shift. Uneventful and Unfulfilling Occupation. Selling Money never felt so wrong
Cons
Trapped in a Room
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun athmosphere
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON26 May 2018
Help customers with payday loans, cheque cashing, bill payments or western unions. Light cleaning duties of store as well as collections for delinquent accounts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with a lot of training to help the employees learn about the tasks they are going to be involved in.
Intermediate Tax Preparer (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC13 May 2018
Intense tax training is provided for nearly three weeks to get the candidate upto speed on the tax regulations. There is also a test to pass to get ensure the candidate understands everything that is taught. The tax preparer job is fine with the chance to learn something new with each tax return. Moreover, it makes the job interesting as it is not very repetitive. However, the job is only available till April 30th hence there is no job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very restricted and unenjoyable work environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 May 2018
I was not pleased with how I was told to treat the customers. they are not the type of employers I would ever work for again. I did however learn money handling and tax returns through quick tax.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with
Customer Service Operator (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC4 May 2018
My manager was out of this world amazing: always on top of things, genuinely caring we made it home if we had a storm and never pushing you to achieve your numbers or goals of the month. I dont know if I could have moved up from my position but at that point in time i was quite happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB22 April 2018
If your looking for a job to learn about financial stuff hands down job to go to! I learned ALOT! But if your looking to move up in the company forget about it. I worked my butt off trying to get management.Always short staffed really hard to get time off. After three years I left for a job that appreciates me!!
Pros
Learning financial information.
Cons
No Staff, Not appreciated for the work you do, behind a window all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 April 2018
laid back atmosphere. Fun to work at. Customers were mostly cool and fun. Pay was good and always something new to learn as new products and services came out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management doesn't support staff
Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  London, ON5 April 2018
Management is not supportive, staff come to work sick and it doesn't matter as long as a there is a body to fill the spot. Unrealistic expectation of staff.
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great tea m work and management.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON5 April 2018
- Processes applications for financial services while analyzing details based on government regulations, offering loan products, cheque services, money transfer, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Place To Work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON27 March 2018
The job, in and of itself, is okay, but the management actively encourages customer service representative to mislead customers. I have seen a branch manager forge a customer's signature on a Fast-Cash Advance contract.

The office politics is out of hand. employees split into factions, and managers pick a side instead of encouraging solidarity and civility.. False accusations of harassment, performance evaluations are motivated by managers' personal feelings, and employees often don't respect customer privacy.

Reading other reviews here, it's clear that the situation has only worsened over the years.

Stay away from Money Mart and its toxic work culture.
Pros
shifts available
Cons
toxic workplace environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never ever work for these scammers
Customer Service Representative (CSR) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, BM25 March 2018
Rather beg for money and live in the shelter than work for them , save your time and life though .
workers are weird , customers are weird , cross selling everything and everyone .
I can write a book why shouldn't anyone work for them however they should not exist in the country on the first place matter of fact .
Pros
you get paid for the hours you work
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started out great, but then...
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC23 March 2018
I loved working at the head office when I started. I met some amazingly great people, and learned a lot. However, the programs they use frequently have outages, customers are usually already unhappy when they call in, and there isn't a whole lot of product knowledge given to the people manning the phones in the call centre.

As your job tasks and expected responsibilities multiply, your pay remains the same. You burn out very quickly. You get to listen to endless gossip and see your higher ups wasting a whole lot of time talking/doing homework/playing on their phones (yet there is a policy against cell phones and people will and have gotten fired for violating said policy - just not the higher ups)... lots of hypocrisy. Longer term employees being told they are valued, yet being denied promotion opportunities time and again.

There is such high turnover there, they are constantly hiring. It's a revolving door. Everyone at level 1 is replaceable, they don't seem to care much about being direct and honest, and helping you along. Just come along and blindside you with negative feedback once a month, then push you out the door. Despite almost 2 hour wait times for customers to get through to a human being, and no one to replace those being terminated.

Then those left behind are increasingly more stressed out as call times increase, staff decreases, and those who are not terminated, want to quit. Many go and apply at various temp agencies and other, higher paying, call centres.

There is no consistency. You need days off just to decompress and get ready to face
  more... another week there. People are constantly "sick" because no one wants to be there.  less
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Terrible shifts, not much support, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB23 March 2018
Money Mart was a very positive experience. Always felt appreciated, received lots of positive feed back from all managers. Kind caring people and a good work environment
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours in a fishbowl
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report