MOHAWK COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Student Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 April 2018
Maintaining Expense Tracking Sheets on behalf of the student with the disability to meet financial obligations for the Ministry of Training Colleges and Universities
Providing support to disabled students both in and out of the classroom including assisting with classroom learning applications
Interaction and serving students affected with Autism Spectrum Disorder involving brief clarification and assistance with in-class assignments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to volunteer at
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 April 2018
I always enjoy volunteering especially with the International department. I always meet new people and learn new skills at every event. The event coordinators are always very helpful as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience was great, rewarding and assited in student affairs
Student Life Programmer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 April 2018
I coordinated student life programs during school year, recreation, social, affairs and more. Enjoyed dealing with that age group and learned from them.
Pros
Dealing with students was fun, alot in common
Cons
Position was only contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competetive environment for learning
Controller (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 March 2018
I am a student at mohawk college.
Studying in the electrical engineering technology department in the last senester of my course.
I have done coop at the canadian solar solution during this interval.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student financial support!
Peer Tutor (For all past courses) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 March 2018
Very supportive of students and provides students with financial support through their on campus student employment! Great atmosphere and flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Student Employment Program
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 March 2018
Had a lot of support from faculty members on the job. Nice academic environment- if you are going to be at school anyways than why not work there too?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Job culture
Pathways Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 March 2018
working in the department was a n amazing experience. there are a lot of professional development forums and seminars that help employees to become better professionals.
Pros
good communication channels to senior level staffs
Cons
no job securiy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work and friendly environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON9 March 2018
Customer issues and complain handling
Project commission and install
configuration and trouble shooting
team work and good communication
always family and friendly environment
Pros
road bonus and overtime
Cons
no progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to get teaching experience
a remote sensing instructor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 November 2017
I took the job as a way to gain some experience in the field of GIS and for the most part I enjoyed it. Be sure you get to know people good at a certain level of web design because you will have to design your own lessons. The hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start your Career
Project Management Office (Business Analyst) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 November 2017
Mohawk College, is great place to learn all the new industry standards, I got placed in the BA role because of my Internship, but the technology used and Industry best practices used here is quite good.
Pros
Great Work Life Balance
Cons
No Benefits for Contract
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are on Strike
Professor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 November 2017
we are on strike for good reason.
80/20 part time to full time staff.
staff are exploited.
most enjoyable part of the job is connecting with students caught in the middle of the struggle.
Pros
The Union has our backs
Cons
Poor Leadership Model
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mohawk College
Professor (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 November 2017
many hours for preparation - not fully compensated
supportive culture
rewarding work content
Good onboarding procedures
many opportunities for professional development
Pros
continuous learning
Cons
long hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Peer Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 October 2017
Mohawk College is a good place to work. It seems like working in the educational field is very beneficial because the majority of people are there to help folks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 September 2017
worked here for a summer job and enjoyed it. The boss was very helpful with explaining the tasks I had to do in the morning and I had free reign to finish them throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not utilized to your potential, promised rewarding work
Writing Centre Tutor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON22 August 2017
Not enough limits put on students seeking help and they are allowed to abuse the service that is presented to them for free. You will be asked to do things that that are way beyond your mandate because you are viewed as free labour. There are moments of great satisfaction when you are able to help students and watch them grow and learn as a result of your direct coaching.
Pros
Very flexible scheduling
Cons
Lack of respect from some students and not enough respect from management for the role you do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience as a student
Editor-in-Chief of Students' Newspaper (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 July 2017
The Mohawk Student Association has a great work atmosphere. Of course people skills are necessary and students learns the ropes of the workforce while getting an education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I didn't work at Mohawk College
On Air Host/Producer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 July 2017
I was only a student in the radio broadcasting program. All I did was on Ignite Radio and 1015 the Hawk do the following positions. Such as: Air Host/Producer/Sports/News and Weather/Entertainment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
SUPPLY TEACHER (Part Time) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 July 2017
I was called to cover absent teachers. I had to teach the class various of topics such as reading, writing, computer skills, job search skills and interview skills. I learned that the students have a different way of thinking and how they respond to the lessons provided. It was a very interesting experience because it allowed me to open up my mind and understand how to reinforce positivity with the students or staff.

The management was not supportive.

The workplace culture was good because we communicated by ASL (American Sign Language)

I enjoyed teaching and still do to this day.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 July 2017
As an instructor at Mohawk College, I was able to fulfill my childhood desire to teach others. I was given the opportunity to develop two courses which I've had the opportunity to instruct for more than 20 years.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment in the Student Life Office
GRAPHIC DESIGNER (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 May 2017
The student designer in the student life office gives amazing work experience while being a student at Mohawk College. Debra Pearson, the head of the department, ran it beautifully and was a great mentor to work with. Great culture and opportunity to build a portfolio. Unfortunately it is only a student position, so there is not much room for advancement once you graduate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MOHAWK COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 81 reviews
540
429
39
22
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture