MOHAWK COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
Technologist Helper (Current Employee) –  Fennell, ON1 August 2018
Lots of repair and maintenance work to give you got technical experience. Loved it! Very friendly and professional supervisors with an eye for every detail.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great learning experience
CO-OP Student (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 July 2018
It was a great learning experience! It was a high school co-op so there was no salary but it was interesting to learn about what the technicians do every day when teaching classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for temporary workers
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON16 July 2018
As a peer tutor, I worked a maximum of 15 hours a week, which allowed me to get my study time, classes, and social life time in as well.
The full time staff was always there to help if anything arose, and there was always snacks and little parties for the tutors. All in all a great place to work.
Pros
Snacks, Hours
Cons
only temporary work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work
IT Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON2 July 2018
Mohawk College is a great company. It is a very great place to work. The staff is amazingly friendly and it hardly feels like work. I would strongly recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was high paced
Television Broadcast and Media Communications (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 May 2018
It was very educational, I enjoyed my time and experiences. I felt it helped to educate me to the real world experiences that I would later need to suceed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good for what it was.
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON26 April 2018
It was a temporary position as a peer tutor. Nothing unexpected about the position or my experiences with it. In the beginning of the semester the tutors had to use the common areas of the campus to tutor people, these areas can get loud and sometimes crowded. Once they gave us dedicated rooms to use it was easier to accommodate the student(s) with the lessons we were working on.
Pros
Repetition with Material, Socializing with Others
Cons
Repetition with Material
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Student Support Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 April 2018
Maintaining Expense Tracking Sheets on behalf of the student with the disability to meet financial obligations for the Ministry of Training Colleges and Universities
Providing support to disabled students both in and out of the classroom including assisting with classroom learning applications
Interaction and serving students affected with Autism Spectrum Disorder involving brief clarification and assistance with in-class assignments
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to volunteer at
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 April 2018
I always enjoy volunteering especially with the International department. I always meet new people and learn new skills at every event. The event coordinators are always very helpful as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience was great, rewarding and assited in student affairs
Student Life Programmer (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON4 April 2018
I coordinated student life programs during school year, recreation, social, affairs and more. Enjoyed dealing with that age group and learned from them.
Pros
Dealing with students was fun, alot in common
Cons
Position was only contract
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competetive environment for learning
Controller (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 March 2018
I am a student at mohawk college.
Studying in the electrical engineering technology department in the last senester of my course.
I have done coop at the canadian solar solution during this interval.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student financial support!
Peer Tutor (For all past courses) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON20 March 2018
Very supportive of students and provides students with financial support through their on campus student employment! Great atmosphere and flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Student Employment Program
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON17 March 2018
Had a lot of support from faculty members on the job. Nice academic environment- if you are going to be at school anyways than why not work there too?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Job culture
Pathways Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 March 2018
working in the department was a n amazing experience. there are a lot of professional development forums and seminars that help employees to become better professionals.
Pros
good communication channels to senior level staffs
Cons
no job securiy
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work and friendly environment
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON9 March 2018
Customer issues and complain handling
Project commission and install
configuration and trouble shooting
team work and good communication
always family and friendly environment
Pros
road bonus and overtime
Cons
no progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to get teaching experience
a remote sensing instructor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON15 November 2017
I took the job as a way to gain some experience in the field of GIS and for the most part I enjoyed it. Be sure you get to know people good at a certain level of web design because you will have to design your own lessons. The hours are flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Start your Career
Project Management Office (Business Analyst) (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 November 2017
Mohawk College, is great place to learn all the new industry standards, I got placed in the BA role because of my Internship, but the technology used and Industry best practices used here is quite good.
Pros
Great Work Life Balance
Cons
No Benefits for Contract
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are on Strike
Professor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 November 2017
we are on strike for good reason.
80/20 part time to full time staff.
staff are exploited.
most enjoyable part of the job is connecting with students caught in the middle of the struggle.
Pros
The Union has our backs
Cons
Poor Leadership Model
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mohawk College
Professor (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON1 November 2017
many hours for preparation - not fully compensated
supportive culture
rewarding work content
Good onboarding procedures
many opportunities for professional development
Pros
continuous learning
Cons
long hours and low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place
Peer Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 October 2017
Mohawk College is a good place to work. It seems like working in the educational field is very beneficial because the majority of people are there to help folks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good summer job
Facilities Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 September 2017
worked here for a summer job and enjoyed it. The boss was very helpful with explaining the tasks I had to do in the morning and I had free reign to finish them throughout the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MOHAWK COLLEGE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 87 reviews
542
432
310
22
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture