Ministry of Finance Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 283 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning environment
Senior Tax Auditor (Former Employee) –  5 Park Home Ave17 August 2019
Overall working at the Ministry of Finance was a good experience. It’s a good place to learn about indirect taxes. However career advancement and earning capacity are not good.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and outgoing workplace
Collections Officer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 April 2019
fun workplace to work at
many communication skills and connections will be grown
stressful and dealing with a lot of people on a daily base
easy to access help when do so
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must be not very cold and treate redpect every one
Economic Analyst (Former Employee) –  Hargeisa2 February 2019
I want to work this combany i am very interesting to work to do dome s
Thing with you and help to improve the company and all of comunity of canada an
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work.
Group Leader (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON30 January 2019
* Delegating the jobs between the employees. Going over and ensuring job done to set standards. Answering phone calls from MPP's and their representatives. Finding solutions and answers to queries.
* Learned a lot at this job. It was my first real job. As long as you were willing to learn and work hard, you had room to grow and move up. Learned how to delegate, supervise, nurture a happy and productive environment, write procedures, lead a group of highly intelligent people.
* Management was very encouraging and nurturing.
* Workplace culture: Respectful, encouraging, fulfilling.
* Hardest part: Leaving them to move to another province.
* Most Enjoyable: Growing daily. Respectful management and employees / coworkers. Learning new things and being encouraged to utilize the new information gathered.
Pros
Everything. The job, the culture, the people.
Cons
Having to leave Ontario.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good conditions with well educated people
Organizational development (Current Employee) –  Budapeset24 October 2018
Very good conditions at work. You can learn languages. Management is good. Workplace is nice, the workplace culture too. The hardest part of the job is the long hours of the overtime with no payment or headway. The most enjoyable part of the job is the work itself: it is very intellectual.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for the Ministry of Finance.
Tax Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON20 October 2018
I am now retired from the Ministry of Finance after 31 years. I have been fortunate to have developed over the years a number of outstanding skills, including good management and customer service skills which will be evident in my resume.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Commodities Tax Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 July 2018
Had a great experience working here for a brief period of time. Workload wasn't too bad on a daily basis but was repetitive. Culture was okay and was not stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drain the Life out of you
Financial Intern - Accounts Management (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON17 July 2018
People would count down the days to retirement as work is very repetitive and has a lot of hierarchy. Need to get permission to even print a page. Not worth sacrificing 30 years of your life for a pension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Contract
Project Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON25 May 2018
Interesting and rewarding project. Students were given a lot of freedom to contribute their own processes and offer recommendations. Overall great experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government ministry with room for growth
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kingston, JA17 May 2018
The Ministry of Finance is an interesting place to work. There are new challenges daily and limited resources to resolve them. It forces a person to be creative in their methods. The salary is not great as it does not compare with the private sector or IT jobs in other countries. The benefits are fairly good.
Pros
Decent benefits
Cons
Below average compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job security
Program Information Oficer (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON16 April 2018
The Ministry of FInance was the best employment of my life. Working for the ministry is job security, decent wages. The workplace was a fast paced environment in the call centre.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's the bomb!
Economic Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 February 2018
Lots of smart people working at this Central Agency of government. You'll also see what you're made of in this high-profile, very demanding environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Arbitration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 November 2017
The fun and exciting part of my job was training staff. The workplace culture was friendly. The hardest part of the job, was trying to get everyone to agree on a new task
Pros
i enjoyed everything here
Cons
there were no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Lead ECommerce Analyst/ Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Canada19 November 2017
Good and enjoyable.
Work and life balance is good.
Salary and benefits are reasonable.
Management is cooperative.
The job culture is good. A very good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People , Great Place, miss them dearly
Bilingual Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON24 April 2017
Best of the best... Great People ... Great Work environment... always pleasant... Customer Relations Team.... never overworked... great hours... weekends off... casual Fridays... Bring your own once a month lunches... great friends instantly... all staff very intellectual and friendly... wide range of interests as well as acceptance...
Pros
Great Pay, ... Great Future, great benefits
Cons
was there on a contract, ... waiting for my next contract, but broke my neck and severed my spine soon after contract ended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having a government job in the Bahamas ensures stability.
Tax Inspector (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Nassau, BS24 April 2017
I am greatful for the experience. But i realized that there is a season for everything. For this i decided to step out on faith and opening up my own business as a nail technician.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and friendly environment
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON18 March 2017
For students the work was very slow and repetative. We only got to file papers or sort mail. It would have been better if there was more variety to what our tasks were. The people were the best part of the job. The slow work was the worst part.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement
Administrative Assistant/Refunds Clerk (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK4 October 2016
My only issue is with cut backs with in the Gov there isn't much room for job advancement. Unless you go back to school to get a degree or finish your degree.
Pros
Security
Cons
Not much for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fortune 500
Office Assistant/Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON3 May 2016
Great Company to work for, great people and the services they provide are excellent, there is always room for improvement and growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting work
Communications Officer (Current Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 March 2016
My fellow employees are amazing and the Ministry offers a range of committee work opportunities to get involved in shaping the culture here.
Pros
Get to work with great people
Cons
Long hours during tax season
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Finance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 283 reviews
5119
489
357
211
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture

Ministry of Finance Reviews by Location