Ministry of Community and Social Services Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, and fun
ENFORCEMENT SERVICES REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On6 March 2018
I loved this job, it was very fulfilling to be able to help families.
Preparing Cases for Enforcement if needed and following guide lines according to Court Orders,
and other duties as required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Enforcement Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2018
excellent place to work very nice people and work enviornment. Lots of fun corprete events but no christmas parties. Good pay and minimal stress type of enviornment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a productive and healthy environment
Jr. System Analyst/Tester (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 January 2018
it is a place where everyone would love to work. the managers are very helpful and understands the situations very well. At last i would like to say that this is the perfect place to some to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work
Reconciliation and Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 November 2017
A typical day for me was making sure all the hard copy correspondence were scanned into a computer and filed appropriately.

I learned how the Welfare office does there business.
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
there were none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secure place to work
Financial Officer (Former Employee) –  Downsview, ON6 November 2017
-busy all year round
-Learned all of my skills to an exceptional and professional level
-management was minimal which felt decision making to the employees, which gave employees the ability to perfect our attention to detail as all work was produced based on adhereing to policy and procedures and legislation.
-hardest part of the job was looking for help when there was no help
- the most enjoyable part of the job was the co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its fine
Records and Reconciliation Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 October 2017
typical day involves mail
done a lot of stuff like phones and whatever
management is ok, ones good other is fine
workplace has decent people but nothing memorable happens
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FOrced Review
(Intern) Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 September 2017
I would rather not be forced to write a review on a company, wether it be confidential or not. The rating above does not reflect my views or overall rating of this employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 July 2017
Awesome place to work. great flexibility and the ability to get great experience. good culture as well. Was a worthwile experience. would recommend it to anyone
Pros
great place.
Cons
can be boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON5 April 2017
Its a great place to work and very dynamic. The only issue is with job security and advancement since the handling of government jobs has changed. Seniority rules for the most part but not always.
Pros
Productive environment, nice workplace Fun people
Cons
Very difficult to get on full time, ...always contract now
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy,busy,busy place lots of teamwork
London Ontario Income Support Clerk (Former Employee) –  London, ON12 March 2017
I enjoyed meeting and working with the people there and have kept in touch with a few of them.
I appreciate the work they do, as it can be very stressful at times and caseloads are heavy.
I really appreciate how hard they work and know that they have procedures and guidelines that they have to follow.
Pros
teamwork everyday
Cons
stressful and heavy work loads
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Ministry of Community and Social Services?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with everyone
ODSP Program Support Clerk/ Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Timmins, ON16 February 2017
Really nice place to work.
Everyone was friendly to work.
Management was nice and accommodating.
Learn to work under pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace
Financial Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 January 2017
Great place to start off a career. I was only an office assistant so my work was administrative in nature. The work was not very inspiring but the atmosphere was open. There is a culture of collaboration within the office. I would have liked more organization in the projects I was given.
Pros
Jovial work environment
Cons
work is uninspiring, projects unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Quality Assurance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 September 2016
Since the project was outsourced to a team of professional consultants, the management style is difference than internal projects. Contractors usually have more freedom of how to complete their assignments, provided it is not out of scope and project limitations.
Pros
Flexible hours and allowance of working from home
Cons
Outdated machines and environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great oppurtunity
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2016
Team environment. Amazing leadership. Dealing with people that have negative and positive situations. I wish it was more face to face but overall great experience and had an amazing Team Lead
Pros
team lead was a great leader
Cons
call service
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly people!
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 November 2015
I only worked there for the month of August but everyone was very friendly and always willing to lend a helping hand. The most enjoyable part was that some of my friends were working in the same building as me so it we met up once in a while.
Pros
Some times got to go home early
Cons
Didn't find any cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
System Testing Analyst (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 October 2015
nice testing team and really great manager
Perfect place to work and have fun together
5700 yonge st location is best to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Software Tester (Current Employee) –  North York, Ontario26 August 2015
Nice to work here. It is a friendly environment. Lots of fun. Advance IT systems. Friendly boss. Near by subway. Good managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No appreciation, unfair promotions.
Adjudication Support Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto15 June 2015
My typical work day is filing and assigning files to the Adjudicators. I have not been able to learn very much as I have been ignored when I have asked to job shadow. My co-workers are polite but 80% of them are also unhappy in the last month 3 people have left our office. The hardest part of the job is filing. I have less than a foot of space to move around in for about 75-80% of my day and I have had files fall on my head or I have hit the edges of some which have hurt me. I do not enjoy much of my job here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working environment
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  North York, ON27 April 2015
* Good place to work
* Top management involvement in quarterly review
* Excellent customer service to internal and external customer
* Enjoyed working with staff from central reporting center.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress Free Enviornment
Enforcement Services Representative (Current Employee) –  Downsview, ON13 March 2015
Typical day I would log in and service clients to the best of my ability. If I cannot have the option to transfer the client to the next person to assist.

I am still learning at this position. You are constantaly learning.

I am still getting to know the management staff

My co-workers are a great team of people and enjoy working with them daily

No hard part to the job as yet

Working with my team is the most enjoyable part of the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Ministry of Community and Social Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 31 reviews
515
410
34
20
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture

Ministry of Community and Social Services Reviews by Location