Miller Waste Systems Employee Reviews

Found 70 reviews matching the search See all 71 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place is a cult and they will rip you off
Driver/Loader - Full-time (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON28 January 2019
this place is a cult for real. it dosnt madder how hard you work or how fast or how much you do for them they always want more and if your not on board they spread around to there followers that your not on board and they all frown upon you. the job is honestly so dirty they didn't plan well enough for this contract and they are doomed to fail
Pros
none
Cons
told your not good enough every day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have seen
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  London, ON8 January 2019
Management sucks. Long works days in a hot environment for minimum wage. Everyone who starts either quits or walks away after the first few months. Miller Waste at Manning Drive. I don't recommend this job to my worst enemies! Everyone is talked to hates it there. I have no positive feedback on this job posting
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Pretty much everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place sucks they will slave you modern day slavery
Picker (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON30 November 2018
Do not go work here i have tons of friends with dz that wanted to work here i steered them all away from this place its horrible .. they will use you till you die and will not say thank you no manners . No professionalism job is horribly trash
Pros
Nothing!
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very toxic
Line worker (Former Employee) –  East Gwillimbury20 November 2018
Management in all divisions are toxic they bully harass stalk and the culture is very poor Be careful if you don’t tow the line and never complain you will be fine
If you stand up to the poor treatment you are a target of bully and harassment by management
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Poorly educated managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Admin (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON9 November 2018
Lots of great people to work with and a positive work atmosphere every day. Constantly learning something new on a daily basis. Always busy which makes the days go by quickly. Best part about the company is the people which makes it even better every day.
Pros
The people and company culture
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
active member (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON23 October 2018
good all around experience , i ended up meeting a lot of new people that have been helpful with giving advice on getting my AZ license. good job to start of soild waste with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON13 September 2018
All positives from the short time that I was there. The people were all great, there was not much office politics from what I saw. If you enjoy working in the waste business and are driven, then this is a great place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job security
Machine Operator/Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON21 August 2018
could get dirty smelly and hot but there is always work and hours available. you get a lot of options on fridays to have a longer weekend or work a maintenance day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Line sorter (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON20 August 2018
Great place to work if you need a job asap some staff are easy to get along with and the hours bounce all over the place depend on the rush and time of year
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough
Driver/Loader (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON17 August 2018
Dont talk it till you walked a day in these shoes. Tough job and warriors on the back of the truck. It was fun mixed with some danger. I found there was alot of egos between the guys. If the people were a little more laid back this would have been a great job. Pay was incredible but you earned every cent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you like being treated like garbage
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON14 August 2018
Forced to work in extremely cold conditions.
They never cared about people working in the cold, while the manager sits in a warm office watching us freeze.
Pros
Coupons if you can find them.
Cons
Smells
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Shop (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON17 July 2018
I was approached for a position in this company, while I was already working for another local company. I was given a good speach and was promised alot of support...not at all! Coming into this, they forgot to mention the mess this place was in. Especailly the huge pile of paperwork that was months behind and the very unhappy staff who had already given up. Basically, I felt I was fed to wolves with no support or warning. He did manage to try and come once a week for a visit only to see him acting like a "bull in a china shop" and never taking the time to actually listen but only to be negative, ignorant and arrogant. It was very hard to focus on my primary duties with the catch up of paperwork plus the work load that happens daily as it is, as well dealing with a change over to a new system which held up the process to complete and made it difficult being I was new to the company. Definetly was not given enough sufficient time or support to complete the "huge" task that was unexpected going into this. The support and feedback was absolutely terrible. Not once was I asked how I was doing or what has been accomplished. When he asked question and I tried to explain or answer , I was beliittled and spoken down to. I walked into this mess I didn't create it. I went in drowning just trying to keep my head above water and when it came close to my three months and things were looking up that maybe I could focus on the job, I was let go...Definietly not given a fair chance!!
Small town, not too many jobs available...not cool management!!
Pros
Great co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting, sexist behavior from management
Factory Worker (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 July 2018
I had to endure endless disgusting comments from my manager on a daily basis, and if I didn't laugh at his jokes I'd be iced out for the entire day. I was never given proper training for the position they eventually promoted me to, and rather than putting me back on the factory line I was let go for not being able to handle the workload and for having a "poor attitude" (aka I was fed up and stopped laughing when my boss made comments about the way I looked). The manager at the time that I worked there was even having an affair with one of his employees. Extremely unprofessional, toxic work environment and I would never recommend any of my female friends work there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON18 June 2018
This was a great workplace environment, all of the staff were very helping and productive. There is very important enfaces put on good and safe use of personal protective equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a honerable Company
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ON9 June 2018
When I started it was agreed that I would give two weeks notice if and when I resigned ,the day came was told payrole was ending that day and so was I ,they refursed to pay me for the two weeks ,also said that I didn't give them proper notice .The site super is a liar and a theif .
Pros
None
Cons
Lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, wish we got paid more
Driver (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 May 2018
The management and staff are great, unfortunately for the hours and climates that we have to endure, the pay scale is a little on the low end. We work awfully hard at what we do, for only getting a few dollars more than the helpers.
Pros
Good Atmosphere
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long days and the rycycling is dirty
driver/recycler (Former Employee) –  yards in cambridge .30 April 2018
long and busy.i learned a lot about city driving and working with the public.the people I worked with were great .the recycling bins were dirty and unsorted . the best part of the job was working by myself all day
Pros
it was steady work
Cons
never home and no holidays, lunches or breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job security, fellow workers are great
Truck Driver/Waste Collector (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON4 April 2018
Job is what it is. If you can get past the first few weeks it's not all that bad you get into the motion of things an if given a good partner your days aren't so bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady hours with good pay
Truck Driver, Garbage collection (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON7 March 2018
The wages are good with bonus pay for production. Four day work weeks with long hours and good benefits and pension match. A physically demanding job with numerous aches and injuries from time to time.
Pros
4 work day week
Cons
injuries
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of exercise and great pay
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 February 2018
Great company to work for. Lots of hours available , hard work, good for people who enjoy labour and excersize and being outdoors. Great pay but based on hours.
Pros
Excersize, pay
Cons
Not knowing when you work day is finished, tiring work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miller Waste Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 71 reviews
517
421
316
28
19

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.1Culture