Miller Paving Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what a place to work lol
Driver/Labourer (Former Employee) –  millers smaller plante2 April 2018
no respect at all
bad management
long hours/no water its the law/no to little breaks its the law
harassment form is a lie
job culture is work hard and you'll never see advancement
Pros
pay
Cons
attitude, respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Employee (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON26 March 2018
Management is a joke
Plant supervisors think they are god.
Equipment is old and is only temporarily fixed

If you want to start a career in this field DO not work for this company. They will higher you for a job and then put you doing something completely different

Only way to move up in the company is to be a supervisors pet.

Constant bad mouthing everyone behind their backs.
Pros
If you love kissing rear this is for you
Cons
Old broken machines. No regard for saftey
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad management
tanker driver (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 March 2018
There is no loyalty at miller paving.You need lots of experience to get the job so you would think you would be treated better.No you are just a number and a dime a dozen.Way too top heavy with cut throat management.Tanker drivers treated very badly by inexperienced manager.Good place to work....just leave your dignity at the door.
Pros
good wages
Cons
long hours, no respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Parts Replacers
Truck Technician (Former Employee) –  Markham11 March 2018
Not a great place to work for technicians or apprentices. No focus on advanced training for new technologies. Software available for diagnosis is often not working, out of date and minimal at best. Apprentices will gain minimal experience with safety related repairs.

Supervisors and Management show no interest in improvement of shop or diagnostic equipment.
Main focus is on Safety Inspections, seasonal body changeover and drowning technicians in paperwork to meet CORE certification for construction industry.

Shop consists of truck, heavy equipment and fabrication shop together. Often technicians are exposed to gasses, smoke and particles in atmosphere related to fabrication and repair work.

Technicians will be required to work at winter plow camps and be on call 24/7 during the winter months.
Pros
Steady Employment, no supervision.
Cons
Overemphasis on paperwork rather than repairs performed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great experience.
Quality Control Asphalt Technician/Road Patroller (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON8 February 2018
You will need to work long days there if you want to make enough money to cover your expenses (not living a life of luxury of course). Poor management, not a great work environment. There is no way you can go up the ladder at this company unless you have some higher up good connections that work in the company. They pay low salaries.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
Foreman (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON6 February 2018
Worked with Brennan infrastructure division over 5 years and every year we were laid off early in the year and called back late. I've been in construction for over 20 years and never sat at home as much as with this company. Upper management is top end heavy and very disorganized. Many instances where decisions are changed 2 or 3 times part way through causing delays and costs on the job. Most of my supervisor's were very professional to deal with but I was very disappointed to experience yelling, hour shortages, pay adjustments, missing or no pay stub, non compliance to locate sheets etc, etc....the type of workplace cultures we used to deal with in the 70'. Miller/ Brennan has one person that does all the hiring and this person's lack of knowledge is evident with all the ongoing repair work. Some of the supervisors/foreman have come from retail, deli markets, even car sales....where does this make sense??? I personally think these people can definitely be integrated into construction but not directly into a management type position. Further more this person doing the hiring has a rule that all persons to be called back will be called based on senority; but every year he breaks that rule and calls back workers with less senority and has even hired new unqualified help. The last season i worked there a couple of men were laid off after working a 20 hour shift and on the shift exchange new men were brought in to permanently replace them. Again person doing the hiring wanted to save costs and decided he would bring in men who made less on an hourly basis to save $$$....funny  more... enough the differenc in pay was 30 cents an hour!!! These practices aren't good for employee moral and are actually against union rules to bring in unqualified people. All this just to save the budget that is being blown by management's poor decision making...it just doesn't make any sense and is unsafe,and unresponsible. Hiring unqualified people to save costs shows lack of character, poor judgement and obvious disrespect for employees and company culture. If you as the hirer don't know what it takes to complete the job in itsel than you shouldn't be leading the group; it would be like a janitor at a hospital hiring doctors/nurses. Just because you work in the medical field doesnt mean your qualified to hire everyone and you shold stick to what you know not what you think you know. He (hirer) also climbed the ladder at miller due to his father placing him in management at a very young age which gives you an idea of a repetitive unsucessfull work practice that is very detrimental to millers workplace culture and success. Miller/ Brennan has so much potential to be a great place to work and become a very successful company. I do hope for the sake of current employees that the purchase of the company by The Colas group changes the attitude, poor practices, and culture and puts miller back on track.  less
Pros
Pay
Cons
Too many to mention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I had learned
GENERAL LABOURER (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON15 January 2018
While working with Miller Paving in New Liskeard, I was able to gain experience and learn new things that could possibly benefit me with other jobs in the future. Some examples being, getting to learn how to operate and care for pavement machinery. Also got use to working longer hours than usual.
Pros
Working with peers and getting to meet new people
Cons
Longer days and shorter nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Operator (Former Employee) –  Temiskaming Shores, ON6 December 2017
The people you work with are fun.
The long hours get very long after a while but over all it’s a good place.
Working in different places is nice you get to see other towns and wilderness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Lab Technician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ear Falls, ON16 October 2017
Not a bad place to work. Long hours and nice people. Treated like family. Fairly easy to get along with. Always know exactly what you need to get your job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON16 October 2017
Not a horrible place to work, needs improvement on communication. Typically you never know your hours (you'll have an idea). You are treated as though you are extendable, because you are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant
Traffic Control Person (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON24 July 2017
Long hard hours...no breaks. Extensive travel at your expense. Lodging and meals paid for. You have to speak up for yourself or some crew members can be pretty brutal.
Pros
none
Cons
too many to mention
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Salary
Labourer (Current Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON26 June 2017
Good salary, work isn't too bad, management is horrible and unorganized. Working conditions are labour intensive, relocation is constant. Seasonal, full-time.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small company, get what you get
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON29 April 2017
lathems is a small outfit with not much equipment, the people where nice to work for and the work was good. being a small company the equipment wasn't all in the greatest condition.
Pros
small company, always working
Cons
low wages, not the nicest equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely great place to work
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON19 April 2017
Friendly environement, nice coworkers, good job-life balance. Wish was permanent for me, but in future , believe I created a great image that they will hire me back.
Pros
No stress
Cons
Bit far driving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really good place to work and good people
Patroller and Snow Plow Operator (Former Employee) –  Elk Lake, ON16 November 2016
It was always a good day when I went to work with the crew. Co-Workers, Foreman and Supervisor were doing the work and no one was standing idle. Real Teamwork.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Long hours but still better pay. no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scale house Master
Scale Operator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON13 September 2016
This job was a seasonal job, I ran the whole operation at the scale house. My typical day consisted of weighing in/out vehicles with asphalt and aggregates. I really enjoyed the management there, the co-workers were also good very helpful. The hardest part of the job was sometimes doing alot of tasks all at once, however I always found a way to manage it.
Pros
workers were all good
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Parts Supervisor (Buyer) (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON5 August 2016
Great place to work, great people work is always there, management is a tough cultural group.The most enjoyable part about the job is you get to go home with a good pay check.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a job to hold me over for the winter
Snow Plow Operator (Former Employee) –  Elk Lake, ON18 May 2016
it was a good job for the time i ran heavy equipment and a plow truck on shift work thay were a good groop of guys and the boss on the shift knew what he was doing i left because the contract was over
Pros
9-5 job
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and working different sites
Costing Clerk (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON2 May 2016
Construction new environment to me, I enjoyed working in different sites for big projects, learned a lot for costing and reconciliation. It was such a great experience.
Pros
Working in more than 2 sites
Cons
Laid off in winter due lack of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in the sun paving roads.
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  New Liskeard, ON12 February 2016
I loved looking forward to full day in the sun. Operating heavy equipment is easy but mentally exhausting. The sunshine always brightens your day though. You can learn so much from this company and it seems the opportunities can be endless. They have great management skill who are highly qualified for the jobs. Everyone that I've worked with in this company seems to have great personalities which make a days work much easier. I found the hardest part about this jobs was the labor work, constantly on your feet for 12-16 hrs. The best part of the job was working as a team.
Pros
Good wages, great people and an opportunity to travel.
Cons
Long hours and seasonal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Miller Paving. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 33 reviews
57
410
38
23
15

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture