MIDAS Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search See all 788 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
co-op student (Former Employee) –  Keswick, ON3 May 2018
Midas is a great place to take your car but When I was there it was as a co-op student to learn how to become a mechanic first hand at that was't what they had in mind at the time. The store had no time to help me learn so instead put me to simple tasks such as oil changes. It was a good and experienced place, just not to learn.
Pros
an experienced mechanic to learn from whenever i had the chance to
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning benefit
Auto Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON19 April 2018
midas has a very well and unique learning perspective, you work along side other mechanics and provide them with the tools necessary to complete the task, learning by hard and by visuals as you inspect how the job is completed
Pros
good community
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management knocks you down and disaproves of bettering yourself
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  3070 portage ave winnipeg manitoba27 February 2018
The company on multiple occasions has put it's employees in a mental state of mind making them feel useless, or like they have no where better to go. They pay us far too little for the ammount of abuse that they put us through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough hours
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON27 February 2018
The single issue I had with this job was the fact that I would work every other weekend for one shift and only earn 50 dollars every two weeks or 100 a month.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive atmosphere
Third year Auto Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 February 2018
Management and other employees helped with my career. Grandfathered me in for my 3rd. year apprenticeship as an Automotive Service Technician. A great place to work.
Pros
Good team working enviroment
Cons
Not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK22 January 2018
A typical day would be overseeing 4 stores to deal with any issues in relation to profitability, staffing, sales etc. Budgets needed to be followed in relation to what was set out for the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work days
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON20 January 2018
Starting at 7.45 most days and work to 6pm saturday from 7.45 to 3 .Hard part of my job is doing many things at once sometimes it gets overwhelming in regards to many things but you have to do whats best for the company i get that no problem .. Most of the time i like keep the peace and solve problems to to keep things calm and try to be in order sometime that dosn't always work . I get along and work well with all staff members , there is good days and bad days . I have learned alout over the last 30 years and don't mind sharing my knowledge and my tools . As far as management they have a job to do and i work my best to work with them not against they can always come to me and lean on me with a problem and know that i will give 110 % that what makes companies move forward that is the most important thing to me these days.Overall i liked where i was and what i was doing life was good
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

Comment – 30 March 2018

Yes life was just ok but it could have been a whole lot better pay was below average i still don't no why the released me seems strange

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON19 December 2017
This was a good job but the only down side is that I wasn't given any structured breaks. I could take a little break in between customers coming in but sometimes I went without a break.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No structured breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work Environment
Service Manager/Tech (Former Employee) –  Chatham-Kent, ON4 December 2017
Left this job as business was sold.
Would have enjoyed another 10 years or so.
Great experience in the automotive service and management career.
Gave me the ability to expand my knowledge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great company
Apprentice and 310S Licensed Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 November 2017
Midas is a great company to work for. I started my apprenticeship there and had the ability to learn a lot right from the start. Top notch group of people in my books.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management at this location do not apply
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC31 October 2017
Management is absolutely horrible at this location there is zero training and this position is really for work in the shop not the counter highly advise agianst applying
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was everything yu think it will, but then there's more
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 October 2017
I have enjoyed my time at Midas. The atmosphere is very chill which has allowed me to get to know my co-workers well. I enjoy the Monday to Friday with the odd Sat here and there with time off in lieu. I have learned lots about becoming an Assistant Manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 September 2017
It was a very busy atmosphere, selling and up selling needed automotive repairs, managed the concerns of both staff and customer, including complaints, your individual ideas where heard and acknowledged, paid a reasonable amount for your efforts
Pros
Good salary
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a job
First year Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON31 August 2017
it was a typical shop, nothing special. I did learn a lot but unfortunately the apprenticeship in automotive just was not for me. but not a bad place to work
Pros
growth opportunity
Cons
weekend work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job to work at
Gs technician (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 July 2017
Very nice place to work at. I do recommend working here. I am a student and my title is a general service technician, they treat me very fair and I am well respected. Good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 June 2017
Manager and owners are really nice and help you when you need it.
Work would involve showing up cleaning the shop, conduct oil and tire changes as needed.
Co-workers are easy to get along with which helps
Pros
Know what is expected of you
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing special, repetitious,
Apprentice Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB7 June 2017
Fairly average auto shop I happened to work at a franchise not a corporate shop working for a franchise was nice I didn't feel like just another number on a page management genuinely cares however like most shops the senior staff can be rather arrogant at times that being said Midas as a corporation does several things I don't agree with such as courtesy inspections on literally everything that comes through the door and they do things that have nothing to do with fixing cars but still not right in my mind such as forcing ridiculous customer discounts such as $29.99 oil changes unto shops and obscene franchise royalty demands however the employee discount on parts and tires as well as flexible vacation and time off and new state of the art shop equipment made the employment here very tolerable
Pros
Employee discounts, vacation
Cons
Up selling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super bien
Lave auto (Former Employee) –  St.-Hyacinthe, QC4 June 2017
Bonne ambiance très bon emploi mes jamais beaucoup de travail
Pros
Plaisant atravailler
Cons
Pas beaucoup de travaille
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst place ever, so thankful i quit there
Automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON30 April 2017
management was the worst there, the owner was also manager, would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a job, even to "get their foot in the door", was very unhappy working at this place, biggest regret of my life, wouldn't doubt that there are more mechanics who would agree.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Manager!
Service Writer (Former Employee) –  St Paul MN14 March 2017
I worked at Midas on 7th st in St Paul as a service writer.
The worst work environment I have ever seen. The manager
was moody and offered no direction. He had a terrible temper
and was mean to employees and customers.
I personally saw car lifts that were damaging cars and techs
who would leave a half quart or more of old oil in car!
The store was dirty and disgusting and it was clear no one cared.
Avoid this location! Extremely low pay as well! Constant swearing and yelling in the shop. Owners could care less!
Pros
None
Cons
The Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MIDAS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 788 reviews
5197
4199
3206
284
1102

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture