Microserve Employee Reviews

Found 29 reviews matching the search See all 35 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, culture and work environment
Office Team Member (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC25 November 2018
The teamwork and culture is great. People are friendly and helpful. There’s always lots to do which keeps the work day interesting. The business has been on a consistent growth track which is exciting to be a part of.
Pros
People, clients, opportunities, culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEWARE of this shady company, not recommended.
System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC4 October 2018
A shady company with questionable business practices and abusive management.
Employees are overworked, underpaid, and viewed as disposable - which is why you'll constantly see jobs on Indeed; people only work with Microserve until they find something else.
Save yourself some time and stress - look elsewhere for fair compensation and honest employers.
Pros
it's a job until you find something else, high staff turnover so always looking for desperate newcomers
Cons
dishonest management, below market wages/perks/benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for survive in Canada as first job
Deployment Technician (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC16 August 2018
Good for survive in Canada as first job
Job of getting in touch with people and clients
good experience in gaining IT experience
all rounder work (disposal, asset recovery, deployment, delivery and pickup, lifting boxes)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Company
Staffing (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC9 February 2018
Good work/life balance. Average benefits. Below average salary. Good job security. Not a lot of advancement. Average job culture. Overall, pretty flexible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiter
Sr Recruitment Consultant/Team Contract Admin (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC9 February 2018
Good coworkers poor management, no room for growth. don't stay longer then you need to its great place to gain experience but don't expect to be compensated fairly for you time
Pros
people
Cons
managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  National Capital Region8 November 2017
This company is very good in dealing with employees. The process specially in techology is awesome. Team building is fun and full of activities. I learned hows the teamwork is workin in a group.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rebuilding their purpose
Enterprise Accounts Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC25 October 2017
this company is competing for IT hardware software sales against huge businesses and losing with nearly no margin. push towards services but running like a home business and shy to spend and commit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Order Desk
Order Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 July 2017
Great place to start your career in IT, but not so good in the long run.
I would recommend working here as management is really good and you look forward to working with them.
Pros
Management
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work and learn
Deployment Technician, Break Fix, Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC31 May 2017
Good work environment, full people to work with, turnover is a little high and you might get reassigned at a moments notice between projects or to warehouse work but overall I would recommend Microserve.
Pros
Travel, great coworkers, great place to learn
Cons
Can be reassigned at a moments notice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Work Environement
Warehouse Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Saanichton, BC1 May 2017
Fast Paced, Challenging, Ongoing Training, Terrific Staff.

Accommodating Hours, Clean work environment, Decent wage.

Timely team support & interaction towards common goals & objectives
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where to begin
Deployment Technician (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC31 March 2017
lack of promising. tells you that you won't get laid off when you're a full-time. poor judgment in management for those who at the warehouse. on site is a great experience, but can be stressful. gotten along majority of coworkers and clients. gotten lot of positive feedbacks and written to my managers, and yet not much appreciated in there from my managers. pay is much lower than average pay for as technician. and benefit is somewhat fair
Pros
experience in various site and departments
Cons
pays and lack of promises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very funny and friendly atmospher
IT Technician (Current Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC26 January 2016
We Updated windows 7 BIOS and configured its setup to deploy safegaurd disk encryption

meanwhile I learned some new tricks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most fun I've ever had at work.
Technical Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC1 July 2015
Long story short, at first Microserve seemed shady. .

I worked for them for two years and I would love to go back. The job I was doing was very elementary for what my skills and experience are. However, I had a ton of fun working there for the time I did.

The Victoria Branch is by far the most fun and that is an very important part of what I seek in an employer and for what it seems like they thrive to find in their employees as well.

There wasn't really a hardest part of my job other than having to drive everywhere.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the freedom. How much they listened to me and my ideas.

I would love to go back to Microserve one day.

Don't let the small salary scare you away. if money is all you want out of life they YOU suck not the employer. They have more perks than they advertise.

The pay was great for the amount of work that I actually did.
Pros
Free lunches, car rentals, hotels
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Deployment Technician (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC1 June 2015
Microserve was a very supportive and flexible employer. Always helpful and very friendly.
Would work with them again in the future.
Pros
Great Management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 11Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
HelpDesk Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 March 2015
I am a sub contractor so Microserve is not my main employer. I work for Human Services ministry within the Government of Alberta. I enjoy working here. Good environment and good people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun starter career in the IT industry, try to move on quickly.
Deployment Technician (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC2 March 2015
It's a pretty good company, but a lot of the work is contract based, so job security is next-to-nothing, and there's very little room for advancing in the company. You'd be better off getting some experience and trying to move on to bigger and better things. Some contracts also require a lot of travel, and you pretty much have to drop whatever else is going on in your life.
Pros
Usually good co-workers / management
Cons
Extensive Travel, Contract-based Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual
JUNIOR ACCOUNTING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC17 February 2015
I am so regret to switch to Microserve. The company is not honest when they hire people. Don't take a risk to switch to it if you are already having a permanent full time job . They just need you in a short time in purpose and they will let you go after 3 months. you will be shocked and depressed. Accounting department is so messy. Employees are rarely be on time at work . Often 15' to 30' late.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PC deployment at various hospital sites
Deployment Technician (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC21 October 2014
Work starts at 8am every day. Working with your team really helps get you through the day. Deploying computers at various hospital sites around the GVRD.
Pros
Team
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Deployment Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2014
Imaging systems, deploying system, transferring profiles. Network transfers.
Pros
great experience
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Family run business, with a family oriented environment.
Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC1 August 2014
Its a good place to work and gain experience for someone that is new to the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Microserve. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 35 reviews
511
46
313
24
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture