Metro Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time
Baker (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON20 April 2018
I liked to bake liked the people I worked with we all worked together as a team I liked to help the customers the best I new how and to talk to them learned how to grow with the people I felt with every day learned ho
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier/Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON19 April 2018
They are a great company to work for. It is a good place for first jobs and students. Management/coworkers were really nice, caring, helpful , and respectable. They have a union with good benefits for both full and part-time employees. They are fair with hours and with needed time off. They are willing to train you and get u certified with power equipment. There is plenty opportunity for raises and job advancements. Overall its the best place I have worked.
Pros
Hours, Training, job advancements
Cons
unionized so undeserved employees are job safe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement de travail complexe
boulangerie (Former Employee) –  Thetford Mines, QC16 April 2018
je n'ai pas aimer, on doit se débrouiller seul et jamais personne pour nous remplacer en cas de besoin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun palce to work with
Deli Clerk, Counter Help, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2018
a typical day of work is operating the cash, cleaning, assist in fitting room
what i learned was that getting a job is not easy, but you can always refine your qualifications
hardest part of job is pleasing everyone
Pros
friendly customres, flexible hours
Cons
long hours, alot of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Grocery Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2018
I worked here for nine months, and had a pleasant time.
all the staff were wonderful. it was a very friendly environment to work in. we were all family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 April 2018
Metro is a good place to work for your first job, the staff are very friendly and helpful with new employees. Cash is very easy to do and once you know all the plu codes, it's a very mindless task. Customers are okay, but tend to blame you for anything that goes wrong in the store as you are the last person they see before they leave. Unfortunately, there's lots of favouritism within my store and would limit opportunities for you if you weren't liked. Additionally, if you try to talk to management about any concerns you have they will just brush you off. Not much opportunity for advancement.
Pros
Great Staff, Flexible Hours
Cons
Short Shifts, Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good place to work
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON9 April 2018
my co-workers were all good people and management was always understanding the work days felt fast and fun and the produce was always fresh never had a problem while working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe job
Produce, Cut Fruit, Grocery, Dairy, Meat, Deli (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON6 April 2018
Current and longest job, gaining experience in nearly every department in the store. Lots of walking and decent physical labor under a unionized workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace
Cashier/Pizza maker (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON5 April 2018
management was never around
good benefits
management not understanding
the hardest part was taking orders and making pizza at the same time
learned to make pizza
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 March 2018
It was a good job ,lots of work but only offered part time while i was looking for full time,long waiting list to get fulltime..overall good job.......
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast pacing grocery store in the community
Grocery Cart Attendant (Current Employee) –  Brantford, ON21 March 2018
I started working at this grocery store 2 years ago and was nervous at first but all the stuff are very friendly and will go above and beyond to help customers out (myself included). I didn't take me long to feel comfortable after I started working there and it made me realize that I like working in the customer service field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metro
Cashier/Floral attendant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 March 2018
Honestly the worst and best job at times, I worked with many people of different age rangers. Many co-workers became good friends which meant management would separate us. I compared Metro to high school a lot many of the adults acted as children, gossiping and such.
Pros
Weekly Salary
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2018
Customers were not always the nicest. At the start of shift, come in and get plastic bags and pouch. Not required to count any money (til) was not that stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
belle entreprise
Adjointe mise en marché (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 March 2018
entreprise qui considère ses employés et qui a à coeur la réussite de ses employés
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Dundas, ON15 March 2018
Good place to work. Friendly employees. Flexible hours. Can usually pick what department you would like to work in. In store pharmacy location. Lottery retailer. All cashiers are lottery trained.
Pros
Nice people, can book time off if needed
Cons
Weekends expected to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat friendly environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 March 2018
Everyone was always smiling. There were many staff activities ex. potlucks. Management was helpful at working with you to suit your needs while still maintaining balance.
Pros
Discount on Groceries
Cons
somewhat stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto12 March 2018
Metro can be a fun place to work. There are good people that work here. The job titles are self explanatory. There are a lot of challenges that coexist with working at metro, but over all it is a descent place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
je n'ai pas aimé
Commis charcuterie (Former Employee) –  Repentigny, QC10 March 2018
Je n'aimais pas l'ambiance de travail. Tres demandant
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very large company
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toronto6 March 2018
Multiple opportunities for employment, profitable company with many retail locations, French and English an asset when applying to a national retail operation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON3 March 2018
Fun place to start off, good staff, loots of growth to be made. Opportunities and endless and the working environment is very welcoming. Would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metro. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 906 reviews
5258
4302
3221
280
145

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture