Metro Supply Chain Employee Reviews

Found 55 reviews matching the search See all 78 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Metro was a Company that did not practiced what they preached.
Inventory Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Concord, ON25 November 2018
I liked working @ Metro the first 4 months but, did not like working @ Metro after because new management took over and was only about themselves and not the workers...the morale was very low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands down the worst company I've worked for
Fork lift oparator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 November 2018
Where do I start.
-overtime is usually 10-11 hours a day no choice.
-work weekends because they don't have enough staff and never will.
-half the team want to quit due to under payment and over work
-management can't seem to figure out that with double the increase in picking you Need more people instead they just work you more.
-don't even bother having a outside life because this place will be your life all the time.
-pay increase is 2% which for me was, 32cents.
-if there to busy they will just bring in more people from other warehouses and even they hate this company.

I have been working there for almost 2 years and I've got to say what a waste of time. Not only did I do everything (picking, loading, receiving, unloading, ocean spray picking loading and unloading) I was more capable of doing the team leaders job then he was at all. They went through 22 people in 3 months, let that sink in, this is PETSMART, the slave company only here for the money and that's it, they don't care about you at all.
Pros
Good team.(not tls or higher)
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaos
Senior Manager (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON27 August 2018
Metro is a company that needs clear direction and a methodology to continue to be successful. The company struggles to successfully deliver on the promises it makes to its customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Picker (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON11 July 2018
Working at Metro was indeed a very great experience for me and knowing all the workers and Supervisors was great and very friendly and easy to cop with they help in anyway they can which make it much easier for the workers and i really appreciate working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No thanks
Picker (Former Employee) –  Calgary16 June 2018
Raises are minimal if any, lucky to get 50 cents after 1 year, and you work the overtime whether you like it or not, no ifs or buts,.....no thanks
Hard work, tiny lunchroom, old school picking with rf gun
Pros
Great workout, no problem sleeping at night
Cons
No pay scale, no option on working overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Material Handler/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2018
I very rarely ever can take my co-worker designated the safety official seriously. I can't even take my boss seriously. My boss once asked me two days after coming back to work from 1.5 months off on injury, "to move a bit faster" as my percentage was down a bit from the time off. While I have my co-workers copying my methods in accomplishing their goals my boss gives me a 2 out of 5 on productivity at the end of 2017. The system that tells me what to do doesn't make any sense telling me to put 1 case off a full pallet into an empty location that will fit the full pallet. Apparently I do these foolish things slowly.
Pros
Small crew
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Merchandise Handler (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON24 March 2018
Handle merchandise and fulfill daily orders. Orders were picked and then packed into boxes and stacked onto skids. Defective items were noted and removed and new items were added.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started off good, but only got worse
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC21 March 2018
worked there for over twenty years, at a certain point new management took over and all went down hill from then on. including salary cuts. good for the owner very difficult for most employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical Day
Picker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 March 2018
A day started with attendance and safety shoes check .
Summarized sale pattern and number of units shipped.
Divide tasks among workers.Scheduled Breaks
Pros
Free Lunches, Supportive Supervisors, Salary Bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 March 2018
Great Place to Work

Great people to work for, very family originated. Great hours and overtime if wanted.

Great place to learn warehousing and transportation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report

Want to know more about Metro Supply Chain?

Ask a question
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Friendly, understanding, connected
Delivery Driver Specialist (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON28 February 2018
This company is an amazing company to work for, the management is so understanding and flexible. The best part about the job was the customers alway so nice and welcoming. And having 3 day weekends were very nice to have
Pros
good hours and benifits
Cons
Bad Weather Days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and safe working environment
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 February 2018
I really enjoyed working for that company. The facilities were really clean and they always made sure safety regulations were met for all employees. Managers were great and flexible.
Pros
Safe
Cons
Demanding physically
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 December 2017
everyone knew everyone's business. there was no secrets and upper management would tell his son everything and he would tell everyone else. raises were based on performance which made it a click based work.
Pros
greaat other emplyee's
Cons
management only for themselves
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
started good ended poor
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Saint-Laurent, QC1 December 2017
worked there for over 20 years, first 10 were reasonable.
after that owner took on investors and everything changed.
for example,minimal salary increases if any. workplace atmosphere diminished completely.
new management,cut salaries 15%
lack of respect for senior employees,
insulting Christmas bonuses, $20 gift cards,
summer BBQ, "THANKS FOR THE BURGERS AND DOGS"
Pros
No longer there
Cons
Stayed too long
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Discrimination?
Trainer (Former Employee) –  11west drive25 November 2017
Anyone been discriminated against because of race? Or bullied??
All i saw in my weekz there.
Management didn't seem to care on nites whatso ever.

Re training needed for them to understand peoples rites in a work environment

I am Caucasian...

Plz send me msg if u were or are being bullied..assaulted..or discriminated against.
Pros
Nice empoyees (most)
Cons
No Caucasians
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience At Metro
Customer Service Liaison / Consultant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON14 November 2017
* Very involved with staff and processes
* New ideas and systems
* No Opinion
* Close nit
* Challenge Bringing several teams together
* New opportunities
Pros
Various Employment Opportunities
Cons
Long Hours Required
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working enviroment
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON31 October 2017
The day would be Dumping the candy into the beginning of the line then set up the skit that will be send to a store , then start to stack up the new boxes on the skit usually 30 boxes, then wrap the skit.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Some times the day was slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor employee treatment
Reach Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON14 September 2017
Yes this company pays well. They have a good benefits plan at thier ajax and Pickering locations. However they have a massive turn over rate. This is due to extremely high production standards and an absolute lack of caring for the health and we'll being of thier floor employees. Management rarely answers questions truthfully.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unethical liars
A Human Being (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON3 September 2017
Never trust any one or any thing they say. It will all be a lie before you find it out.
If you are an unprofessional and are looking for being penalized by unprofessional then this is the right place for you. Good Luck.
Pros
look for somewhere else before you even set your self in this whole mess
Cons
Top to bottom All unprofessionals
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved it there. Everyone was welcoming and very helpful
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 July 2017
I enjoyed working there. Its a very respectful place with no idlers and everybody worked on one accord. Fun at times and everybody was allowed to express his/herself in the most manner-able way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Metro Supply Chain. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 78 reviews
515
423
312
218
110

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.0Culture