Merry Maids Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place
Solo Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 May 2018
It’s hard work. We get company cars but sometimes drive our own. I have health benefits which helps a lot. The office staff are really nice and are accommodating. Over all a good place to work.
Pros
Health benefits, direct deposit, weekly pay cheque
Cons
Bring equipment into every home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love Merry Maids N & SE!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 May 2018
I've been with Merry Maids for almost 9 years and its been a wonderful ride!
It has it challenges but that's what keeps it exciting. It's hard work but so rewarding.
I've made some life long friendships working at Merry Maids and have met some extraordinary individuals. It's extremely rewarding helping your colleagues develop and watching them shine as they grow as individuals.

Merry Maids N & SE definitely feels like a second home with an amazing work family!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great girls to work with . Secrartary was beyond unorganized
House Cleaner (Former Employee) –  London, ON16 April 2018
Whatch out for you kilometers being used as taxes instead of it being added to your pay. And they dont give you proper pay stubs also i wasnt given info on how to even look at my pay stubs online .
Pros
Great girls to clean with 100%
Cons
Manager is very unorganized an doesnt care about the girls or their vehicles
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Work Environment with Good Hours
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON3 April 2018
Merry Maids was a good place to work if you liked having evenings and weekends free. The work itself was physically demanding, especially when management had too many houses for the workers to handle. Taking sick days sometimes involved repercussions from employers.
Pros
No evenings and weekends
Cons
Unforgiving of Sick Days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun girls who make a positive environment
Cleaner/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 March 2018
Merry Maids was a really flexible job, with good hours, good pay and good people. The job can be hard but the managers will make sure it isn't too much for you.
Pros
Independent work
Cons
some days are very long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work at👎🏻
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON13 February 2018
Horrible management, they are very unprofessional with the employees. They punish you for calling in sick. I would never recommend anyone to work for the owner of this company.
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Never knowing when to finis
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a really gkod wlrkplace
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON1 February 2018
They really are nice every house you clean everyone All ways is greeting you . The boss is a really good caring person someone that I would love to work with
Pros
Lot of people to talk to
Cons
Not good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Office Assistant (part-time) (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 January 2018
working at marry maids has been a very good leaning experience
it was a challenging experience at times but it helped me with my grow and give me more responsibility.
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
i had a hard time with the traval
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice customers
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON29 December 2017
Working for merrymaids was horrible , it was very unprofessional, houses were in terrible condition and workers were very under paid irene ross is not a good boss at all she is very moody and all about her not her workers!!!! I dont reccomend this company to anyone !!!!
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday is different
maid (Current Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS27 November 2017
The only thing I really enjoy is helping people have a clean home to enjoy, people with mobility issues or disabilities, have 1 less thing to worry about.
Cons
minimum wage and no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad and Horrible EXPERIENCE
Home Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON13 November 2017
Unorganized.
Management do not have any people skills.
Few employees were nice.
Not a place to work for.
Under pay.
False advertisement.
Employees and management would BAD mouth towards the customers
No proper training skills are provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cleaning Captain/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON6 November 2017
Friendly staff and very lovely ladies to work with.You get to meet so many wonderful clients and build relationships with them. Good hours as you don't work evenings or weekends.
Pros
Great staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours, nice working independantly
Professional Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC27 October 2017
great hours
great benefits
good pay
awesome to work on your own
wear and tear on your own vehicle isn't the best
very physically demanding
time managament skills necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great employer
Create excellent customer service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 October 2017
wonderful management team, Always happy and easy to deal with. Motivational, always willing to help. Great at teaching new skills and finding solutions to problems
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Domestic Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Ontario7 September 2017
It was more fun then anything. only bad thing is there is no schedule. You dont know how long or little youl be working for each day. it can change on a dime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good i would like to work and get of odsp
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON6 September 2017
very good job. i really have to get a part time job to work and get off odsp and continue to work on my Christian mental health seminary.
I hear cleaning jobs are mostly given to Muslim immigrant women who are trying to get established in Canada.
I have a hard time in public places and where there are lots of people. so i don't know if i will be able to work with Muslim cleaners, but I'll do my best.
Pros
hopefully i will work
Cons
maybe no work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, busy work environment
MAID (Former Employee) –  Uxbridge, ON10 August 2017
A typical day at work would be going to the office and bringing equipment down to the car, driving to the different businesses and homes, cleaning washrooms, kitchens. dusting, mopping, and vacuuming. Bring spray bottles and used cloths back up to office when finished, put cloths in for was, fold and prep clean cloths for next day, fill up spray bottles, and file paperwork.
Cons
No lunch break, have to eat during travel time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and underpaid
Cleaner/Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON4 August 2017
Fast paced job not for the light hearted you need to have lots and lots of energy. Some places you have to clean are absolutely disgusting. Manager is not very appropriate with women
Pros
None
Cons
Long hrs underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Love Merry Maids
Cleaning Specialist-Team leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 July 2017
I worked at Merry Maids North and SE location for 2 years
They are so respectful, so kind, great team work
very good benefits
Is hard work but they are always willing to help you
they pay for gas, weekends off
Pros
Good working enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hands down the worst place I have ever worked.
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON27 July 2017
Let's start with the fact that as a new employee I was never introduced to any of the office staff including the owner. The owner of the business didn't even aknowledge me nor take the time to introduce herself.
The job itself was ok
The staff gossiped about each other which was extremely uncomfortable and unpleasant. The team lead was telling me to do things a certain way one day and completely opposite the next, was also told by the senior employee to take short cuts and there are ways to cheat. Very unprofessional from management all the way down to employees. I would definitely not recommend this company to anyone looking for a job or a cleaning service.
Pros
The customers
Cons
Unprofessional management, staff. No breaks low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merry Maids. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 886 reviews
5222
4208
3210
2115
1131

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture