Merlin Plastics Employee Reviews

Showing all 27 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, do your work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC4 December 2019
Management very thorough, will expect you to push limits and keep on trucking. They will back you as long as you are doing the work assigned. Will expect you to cover others when they miss their shift, cross training etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sorter (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC25 November 2019
Work culture is good. I feel comfortable and Training is provided from time to time.
Better growth opportunity.
Management is very cooperative and helping.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsafe, Disgusting, and Underpaid
Millwright Apprentice (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC25 November 2019
Constantly told to do unsafe work, most of the time your job is to be knee deep in recycling and rat feces doing manual labor, HR is passive aggressive and rude. Everyday your life is at risk because of how unsafe it is multiple accidents have happened I would generally see about 200 rats per shift within 10 feet of me
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cooperative environment
HR Generalist (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC21 November 2019
Management is very understanding, Give room to progress, Training and education are provided to the employees to further excel in career.
Free food and a lot more perks are provided.
The plant manager reaches out to employees for feedback and whatever he could do best to provide them a healthy environment.
Everyone is treated like a Work-family. I loved working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place they really care about what they do
Sorter (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC20 November 2019
great perks ie free lunches that are actually good and we get a Xmas party! I read reviews after working here I can see that the reviews are from angry people were probably due to people who didn’t want to show they were dedicated and willing to work as I found it easy to talk to management about any issues I have. Dam rats do pop out of this recycles but I see extermators coming and setting traps l hope they how soondisappear soon
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Foreman / Plant Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC19 November 2019
Management is an absolute joke, The worst run business I have ever worked for. The staff get treated like the garbage they are sorting.

Work was horrible, tons of rats, the washrooms are so bad you don’t want to go to the bathroom when you work. The staff room is dirty and people steal your food from the fridge.



PleSe don
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC15 November 2019
I enjoyed working here. Lots of work and always something to do. The place can get dirty and smells at times which you should expect as it is a recycling plant. Supervisors are pushy sometimes but i think it's due to the amount of material that comes in daily and they want to get it all sorted. Office staff always seemed friendly and often smiled and said hi to me. Plant manager looks mean but is actually very friendly and seems to care. Company I feel does care they provide hot lunches daily for free and are always asking what they can do to make they job better and easier but it is dirty so i may seem like they don't care. Overall I enjoyed working here. Better forklifts as they are in bad shape and more clean up required daily and I believe would make it a better place to work at. Coworkers are friendly to you when you first start which made it easy to get comfortable. I very busy here with too much to do most of the time so you have no time to rest. Some coworkers are lazy and seem to get away with it so makes you have to work harder, I hope this changes. overall nice place to work but dirty and pay could be more as costs of living in Vancouver are crazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last Resort
Sorter (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC21 October 2019
Company with a good cause to recycle plastic that is important for the planet. Not the best work environment to work at as it is not very maintained. The place is dirty, dusty and there are rodents that are attracted to the dirty smells. Not everyone speaks English too well and some people are friendly.
Some work practices are questionable and do not feel safe to work here. Have to work many shifts since people don't show up to work and it is constantly understaffed. The only good thing is theres free lunch as a work benefit and the job is meaningful because you are helping the planet. Working here is the last resort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work ever
Machine Operator Baler (Former Employee) –  Queensborough, BC27 August 2019
Absolutely the worst place that I have EVER worked plant manager won't take blame for things he tells you to do then they don't end up working out (well duh tried to tell ya that) thinks he knows better then ticketed tradesperson. Very understaffed have to work in smelly gross rat infested environment very short break 10 min coffee 30 min lunch that's it 30min lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wow, just wow!
Lead Hand/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC23 June 2019
HR does not know what they are doing. Not professional, not educated in HR or just not good at it.
Management not any better, they do not understand the labor market or how to treat people. Someone would have to be desperate to work here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Member of health and safety committee (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC8 April 2019
Filthy, smelly, dangerous, management is awful. A lot of rats. Locker room isn’t a safe place for anything. Things get stolen. Work environment is terrible
Pros
None
Cons
Too many
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad just bad
Forklift operator (Former Employee) –  Annacis Island Delta31 March 2019
The traffic getting to this place is ridiculous you don't get a 40 Hour Work Week. The wages we're up to 18 bucks an hour and now they've dropped them back down to 15 and 16 again. 😂😂
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC3 March 2019
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sorter happy with my job
Sorter (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC12 February 2019
I am a sorter currently working for the company
I had issues with a fellow employee, I asked my Plant manager for help and right away he moved my position and put me on a separate shift then had a meeting with that other employee
I feel when i have an issue Management helps
sometimes its the fellow employees that need a kick in the head
dont blame it on the management.
Pros
management
Cons
stupid employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 21Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Yard worker (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC9 November 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Millwright (Former Employee) –  Neeeesinster6 November 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC5 October 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
Worker (Former Employee) –  351 gifford29 August 2018
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1 star
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC13 April 2018
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just great!
General Labourer (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC23 November 2017
Love working for this company! Lots of variety and the people working there seem very nice and helpful. I was able to get to know, and made friends, with many people.
Pros
Good management and supervisors
Cons
Nothing I can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 65Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merlin Plastics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 27 reviews
55
47
31
20
114

Ratings by category

2.4Work/Life Balance
2.2Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.5Management
2.3Culture

Merlin Plastics Reviews by Location