Merck Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search See all 3,409 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environement agréable
Associate Specialist, Customer Support (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC27 March 2019
Une journée de travail typique, prendre des commandes
Pros
Bon repas a la cafétériat
Cons
pas de vacances quant on et contractuel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tres Bonne Environnement de Travail
Deskside Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC16 February 2019
Tres Bonne Environnement de Travail
Salaire Excellent
Grande evolution au niveau Technique
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, good culture
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON28 January 2019
Typical day at work entailed preparing and planning for the day, usually planned on the Friday of the previous week. Pre-planning was critical for business plan progression.
Management was very knowledgable and supportive.
Work Culture was good.
Every year Merck underwent restructuring in the 9 years that I worked there. This can be stressful for all employee with the uncertaintly of the company and your position.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
many changes yearly, new management, change of Directors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High performing environment and full of learnings
District Manager (Former Employee) –  Phillipines15 August 2018
Customer centered environment
Patients first
Pipelines for healthcare
Management
Teamwork
Ethics and Integrity
Innovation
Digital Marketing
Account Management
Sales Expertise
Pros
Incentives and Commissions
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mon meilleur emploi...
Technologue en instrumentation et contrôle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 July 2018
Belle culture d'entreprise. Travail/famille respecter
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always cutting jobs to appease shareholders
Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Canada9 April 2018
The company couldn't care less about its employees: always restructuring, always cutting jobs and trying to find ways to save every penny possible. Canadian affiliate was especially bad. Very bureaucratic environment. I've heard things improved since I left, so maybe it is not so bad anymore.
Pros
Good salary, good products
Cons
Unstable environment, don't care for its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
for montrealers its great
National Sales Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC21 March 2018
Head offfice is in Montreal, so all of the fun benefits are there. For people working in the provinces not so great. Work life balance in Ontario is lousy. Managers ave lots of nepotism.it should be called Merck and Family
Pros
if you lucky theres a career
Cons
work life balnce bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic learning experience
Key Account Export Manager (Former Employee) –  Rhône6 February 2018
Merck KGaA was a formidable place to learn to work in group, with very strong culture and processes: that is where I grew the most in terms of team member and sense of responsibility.
Pros
Great school for work methods
Cons
The system tends to crush you if you stay too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Territory Manager, O.R. Division (Former Employee) –  Ontario5 January 2018
Enjoyed working there. They had good benefits and the people were great to work with. I found everyone very helpful and they treated me very well. There were many great perks.
Pros
Good People, Well paid, Good benefits and culture
Cons
Regular reorganization and annual staff reductions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très belle Cie
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Quebec City, QC22 November 2017
Presque parfait, le seul hic est selon la classe d'emploi et non pas selon la Cie. Le pharma est très instable malheureusement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnenement de travail stimulant et agreable
Specialiste en assurance Qualite (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 October 2017
Bonne entreprise avec ambiance de travail stimulante
Pros
flexibilite
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et enrichissant
Technicien de Laboratoire (Current Employee) –  Pas-de-Calais28 October 2017
Je recommande cette entreprise car elle m'a permis d'évoluer tout au long de ma carrière!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extensive product support, great employee training culture
Senior Respiratory Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Northern Ontario14 October 2017
The position at Merck was the same at Impress Pharma. My training and experience at Merck helped me to quickly internalize the "routine" at Impress and effectively promote their product to health care professionals on territory.
Pros
Great product porfolio
Cons
patent expiry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company, excellent colleagues!
I.T. Intern (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2017
Merck taught me invaluable life lessons.
I grew both as a person and as a developer, all while gaining life-long friends.
The support of all colleagues as I learned new technologies and adapted to corporate frameworks was astounding!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
equipe de management professionnelle
Kirkland, QC (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 February 2017
ce que j ai appris le plus est de travailler avec confiance aupres de tous nos collaborateurs autant au bureau que sur la route.
Pros
tres grande liberte de creativite
Cons
peu de marketing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence ambiance de travail
Représentant des ventes (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC10 August 2016
Très valorisant! Excellent soutien et formation plus qu'adéquate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research products, well received, innovative management.
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 July 2016
My years with Merck were probably the best years of my career. Within 2 years I my work was acknowledged and was promoted into the Head Office in Montreal, where I was usually given every new challenge that came up. As such, I developed vast industry knowledge and a variety of skills. As Sales Trainer, I developed training material that was used for several years later. Many "firsts" as whenever there was a new position, I got selected for the job.
Pros
Exceptional research products, innovation
Cons
As in any large organization, politics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
Administrative Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kirkland, QC29 February 2016
great company to work for. great work/life balance. competitive salaries & benefits. the people here are polite, helpful and believe in team building. always encouraged to apply and grow with the company. managers are always available to speak with/suggestions, problem trouble shooting.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
difficult to get a permanent position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Manager for infectious disease studies
Senior, Clinical Research Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC23 November 2015
This was my first job in Clinical Research. This was my goal as I obtained my Master`s degree in Pharmacology.
I reported to the Director of the department. The entire department of Clinical Research inspired me and reassured me of my career direction. My Director provided me with the autonomy and trust that allowed me to grow and develop leadership skills that proved to be of the essence in my career to date.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great professional development
MSL (Current Employee) –  Lisbon, ON20 September 2015
Great company to learn on the job, opportunities to work in several projects out of the functional area, with Regional Groups and several people with different backgrounds and experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merck. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 3,409 reviews
51.5K
41.1K
3568
2139
180

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture