Merchandising Consultants Associates (MCA)

Merchandising Consultants Associates (MCA) Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part-time Job
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Cobourg, ON3 March 2018
My experience with MCA was pretty good. Only comments would be there was not a lot of direction given and job turned into more than I had signed up for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very disorganized company
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 February 2018
Very difficult to get any training. I was not even started yet but people were contacting me because someone had told them I was a team leader. Getting paid was just as big of a hassle. Just to find out when pay day was turned into lots of frustration. I was only guaranteed a month of full time work. After that the hours were not known. I don't do well in these situations. The pay was horrible!
Pros
None
Cons
Security, training, support
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great flexibility
Merchandiser/Auditor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS26 February 2018
This is a contract-type position where you work for a few hours per week depending on how many hours the representative is able to work. It is great if a person needs flexibility in their work schedule.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
not enough work; disorganized in disseminating information to representatives
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Marchandiseur (Former Employee) –  Gaspé, QC22 January 2018
J’ai bien apprécier de travailler pour cette compagnie,et le travail était agréable
Le fait de travailler selon mon horaire était un gros avantage pour moi
Toujours quelqu’un à l’écoute en cas de besoin
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover rates and job loss
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB29 August 2017
They spread out the work to a bunch of people, so you're only getting 5 hours when you used to get 20-40 hours a week.
Will hire and hire and hire and hire because the people they initially hired aren't getting enough work and quit.
Company doesn't prioritize or even recognize good work ethic from a good employee.
Management is distanced and often rude.
They miss payments very often even though your work is inputted through the computer, which should stop that from happening, and it becomes a long process to get paid which inevitably falls onto your shoulders to fight for your money.

Would recommend if you want very scarce work and minimal hourly.
Pros
Can create your own work schedule. Work changes so you don't often get bored.
Cons
Hourly pay, turnovers, hours, management, compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fine
Sales Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON5 July 2017
I only worked for a short amount of time working with someone I had another job with. The work was fine my only issue was doing taxes through getting the T4A which was very difficult to process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Product Relines (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON28 March 2017
relines are simple and easy to complete. With a team, the work can be finished very quickly and is easy to pick up. Overall a good environment, only issue being that workers from the stores where you do the relines are often not helpful at all when you need it
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travail ou tu dois avoir de l'autonomie et de l'organisation
Marchandisseuse (Former Employee) –  Drummondville et les environs9 November 2016
Aller rencontrer les gérants des différents magasins où je dois aller faire des changements dans les produits. Et faire les changements que la compagnie demande exemple: enlever un produit qui ne se vend pas bien, rajouter un nouveau produit. Prendre des photos et envoyer un compte rendu à la compagnie.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
most enjoyable is scanning items
Merchandising Full Book Auditor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 October 2016
auditing the pricing in all groceries stores
( Walmart ,Superstore,No Frills, Save on Food).
Meeting with new friendly people customers.
Pros
paid by kms
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Contractor (Former Employee) –  White Rock, BC20 June 2016
Show up to work and get to work not much communication.
Hardest part is no communication for long periods of time
Enjoyable part is you are done early
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay work for part time workers
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Bancroft, ON26 February 2016
Nice part time job to work as self employment. No benefits. There are short work hours. Sometimes it is very hard work. There can be a lot of paperwork to do which is not paid by MCA. A lot of hard working people here.

MCA expects you to be completely trained within the training time given. I had 1 day - although I had several years of experience working with other merchandising firms. I took a lot of notes.

I think they should provide extra money (even a base monthly amount) for all the time spent online retrieving information for jobs, putting in reports which are sometimes lengthy, uploading pictures and all the other time reading emails from supervisors, etc. Way too much time spent online which could otherwise be spent do more assigned jobs.

Best part of the job is working on your own if you like it.
Pros
better than average wage
Cons
short hours, no benefits, uses a lot of your personal time not paid
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hours fluctuate extremely between seasons.
RETAIL SALES REP (Current Employee) –  Ontario25 February 2016
They pay much less than competitive companies in the same field and they will only hire you as a contractor, even though it is really an employee position.
Pros
Flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible interesting work.
MERCHANDISING REPRESENTATIVE (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB15 February 2016
I enjoy doing merchandising and price audits for MCA. The hours are flexible and the variety of jobs keeps the work interesting. There is nothing better than completing a job and having a satisfied customer! That is my favourite part of this job. The hardest part for me is working on my feet for long periods of time on concrete floors. MCA is a great company to work for.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun to meet new people and teach others about our products
Merchandise sales Rep (Current Employee) –  Powell River, BC8 February 2016
Busy day's and flexible hours. Great company to be working with. I have learned lots of different types of skills and gained knowledge in retail, sales and being part of a major supply and demand business gives you the opportunity to work with products you use on a daily basis and teaches you the fundamentals of merchandising.
Pros
Friendly and easy going sales managers
Cons
Not enough work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had to have knowledge on several companies products
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON1 June 2015
Working independently.
Had to juggle all companies working on different cycles.
Good learning experience
Won sales incentive
Pros
Flexible days
Cons
Juggling territory
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Contract Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON14 December 2013
MCA was always flexible when I need time off for an appointment and always maintained a positive work environment.
Pros
Yearly trip
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for temporary work.
Merchandising Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 March 2013
Only temporary work available but when there is work it's great. If you like to work unsupervised on your own this is the place for you. Pay is good and they cover travel expenses. The only down side is the temporary work.
Pros
create your own schedule, flexible, decent pay for the work
Cons
temporary work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Official response from Merchandising Consultants Associates (MCA)
15 March 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback! At MCA we pride not only in our services but most importantly our employees :)

Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Account Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON6 November 2012
Huge aray of jobs to do including being in store and following planograms, to writing report and meeting with clients.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Merchandising Consultants Associates (MCA). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 19 reviews
55
45
35
21
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture

Merchandising Consultants Associates (MCA) Reviews by Location