Memorial University of Newfoundland Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search See all 99 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, busy, Professional environment
Student Health Nurse Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 July 2014
There was a fair amount of data entry involved. I learned a lot about the medical field, terminology, and now have a great understanding of immunization requirements and what they exactly they are. My co-workers were great, helpful and supportive. It is a great job for a student looking to much a little extra money. The hours are flexible and according to your school schedule.
Pros
Flexible hours, great co-workers
Cons
Minimum wage pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Technical Lead and Co-project Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 June 2014
Memorial University is a comprehensive university where students, faculties, and staff work together to create knowledge, culture, and a great community.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Program Administrative Assistant - Compost Program (Current Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL27 March 2014
Good place to work, people are friendly, management is great.

I love working with people and community engagement but the best part of my job is in the lab work. I am a scientist at heart.

The hardest part would be trying to communicate with some members of the faculty. They can be difficult to work with and hard to communicate to, but I always manage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment
Computing Support Assistant (Current Employee) –  The Commons9 November 2013
Very good and positive environment, can be hectic sometimes when things don't work. Lots of space to move up in work place and career opportunities are present.
Pros
Flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work with a great envrionment
Stocker (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 November 2013
I equally love working here, I am working with some fellow students. It is hard and challenging work but it helps test my ability to make quick and efficient decisions by rearranging the store to optimize what the consumers see when they first walk in.
Pros
On campus
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative Assistant to CEO (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL27 September 2013
Big university. Many departments allowing for professional growth and variable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and stimulating work environment with access to world class analytical facilities.
Researcher/ MSc Candidate (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL6 August 2013
At Memorial I worked as a field-based researched at the Voisey's Bay mine site, in northern Labrador.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research & Teaching Assistant
Research & Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 July 2013
• Research assistant for my professor, research in Active Fault Tolerant Control System Design
• Correct assignments and tests
• Record marks and report to professor
• Conduct tutorial classes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL30 May 2013
good job with good people, excellent location and employees are treated well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good university, and it is now growing
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 April 2013
At Memorial University, I enhanced my technical and research skills, nut more importantly, I honed my soft skills by attending different professional programs, workshops and working as a Teaching Assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorial University is a five star workplace
Intermediate Clerk Stenographer (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 January 2013
I work from 7:30 to 4:00 p.m. Monday to Friday. I enjoy my work very much. Everyday I am learning new things and meeting new people.

Our office setting consists of approximately 50 people. The only employees are myself and my supervisor. The other 48 co-workers consist of undergraduate and graduate tutors who are hired for tutoring their peers with their papers.

I thoroughly enjoy working with everyone in the office. It's a wonderful place to work.
Pros
the people are wonderful to work with
Cons
i have no complaints whatsoever
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
filling, shipping, office support
Support Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 September 2012
*Kept track of student materials including exams,assignments.
*Learned day to day administrative work.
*Sorted incoming and out going mail.
* Learned the office environment.
*Improved interpersonal skill
*Answered to the student inquiries by phone call,email, face to face.
Pros
learned about office environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching physics and math to undergraduate students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 July 2012
It was an opportunity to teach physics and math to undergraduates, and it was in return to the graduate fellowship I received. I learned teaching aand lab demo skills. Management was very helpful. Team work was amazing. When I see my students succeed, that's the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
teaching skills learned
Cons
low stipend
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place with lots of opportunities to learn
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 May 2012
Made a good network with professors and professional individuals. Learnt research and analytical skills having some amazing professors as my supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report

See more Memorial University of Newfoundland reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 99 reviews
550
437
311
21
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews by Location