Memorial University of Newfoundland Employee Reviews for Teaching Assistant

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 99 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and interesting workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL15 July 2018
I have learnt to be careful of any details and never give up making the work perfect. The hardest part of the job is you never know if the topic you chose is correct or not. After several months' experiments, you may find out the topic is wrong and you have to start over from the very beginning. However, the challenge also cultured me to be a hard-working person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL19 May 2018
The pay is great and the routine as a TA is very flexible. You have a date to deliver the activities, so you can do at your own pace.
The load and responsibilities depend on the professor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small, comfortable learning environment
Teaching Assistant (TA) and Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL1 August 2017
At memorial it provided a comfortable learning environment to gain my education and provide with the opportunity to give back by teaching, and becoming a professional researcher in my field of statistics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL19 April 2017
Profs were easy going and laid back. I was required to answer students' questions during lab sessions and helped demonstrate concepts and techniques. Enjoyed partaking in field trips.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school. I cant ask more
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 January 2017
Great school and cost effective tuitions. Many room to grow and keep expanding. They work hard to help students for their successful academic life and future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you manage to get a permanent position.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL12 August 2016
A typical day of work consisted of setting up experiments for the lab.
I developed good language skills towards instructing first-year students basic courses in Biology.
Management is terrible in this place, the science building is collapsing and seems to be a very bureaucratic place to make an impact to Newfoundlanders.
Co-workers are good, in my area all of us young and enthusiastic.
The hardest part of the job is not getting paid enough, compared to other major Universities in Canada MUN, pay grades are low.
The must enjoyable part of the job is the flexibility.
Pros
Good environment to work
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well oganized career fair every spring
Teaching assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL30 March 2016
Many big companies and job offers on different areas. Everyone can communicate with any company staff if you are interested. Well oganized and environemt is also good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsibility as Teaching Assistant (TA)
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 December 2015
• Supervise students during exams/tests
• Performing laboratory demonstration
• Ensure safety guidelines are followed.
• Evalute student work and maintain student record
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, positive and friendly environment
Teaching Assistant and Lab Supervisor (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL16 January 2015
It was a great opportunity to work for Memorial University. Everyday I learned new things and developed my skills. I made great friends over there and it was a pleasure getting to know those nice people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL30 May 2013
good job with good people, excellent location and employees are treated well
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good university, and it is now growing
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 April 2013
At Memorial University, I enhanced my technical and research skills, nut more importantly, I honed my soft skills by attending different professional programs, workshops and working as a Teaching Assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching physics and math to undergraduate students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL2 July 2012
It was an opportunity to teach physics and math to undergraduates, and it was in return to the graduate fellowship I received. I learned teaching aand lab demo skills. Management was very helpful. Team work was amazing. When I see my students succeed, that's the most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
teaching skills learned
Cons
low stipend
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more Memorial University of Newfoundland reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 99 reviews
550
437
311
21
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews by Location