Memorial University of Newfoundland Employee Reviews for Research Assistant

Found 11 reviews matching the search See all 100 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with professors
Research Assistant (part-time) (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 April 2019
Researching data for university professors.
Usually, scrapping metadata and trim those into a decent excel file.
It was very nice to communicate with professors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good position for student
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 March 2019
I am a research and teaching assistant in mechanical engineering, doing design, experiment and writing papers, providing help for students. I like my current position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL11 January 2019
Quiet location. Expensive live in the city; cheap accommodation. Boring and cold city. Friendly workplace. No consideration for life responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work, with lovely colleagues
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL24 September 2017
At Memorial I worked as assistant to a researcher in Genetics, maintaining and updating a database of pedigrees (family trees) using the Cyrillic and Progeny computer programs, which were new to me. I also maintained the associated filing system of medical information, and did typing and reprographic work as required.

It was a very friendly place to work, and my bosses were always very appreciative of what I did.

It was very rewarding to produce a complicated pedigree and work out how to make the program do what I needed it to do.

The hardest part was waiting to find out if research funding was going to be available, and having to give up the job when the funding ran out.
Pros
My hours were flexible
Cons
Insecurity because of research funding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to research and study
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL26 July 2017
Oil & Gas Engineering
Electrical Engineering
Safety & Risk Engineering
Project management
good team work
friendly workplace culture
design and research
execution of research models
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student jobs - great way to make an income while studying
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL3 May 2017
Grenfell Campus is an overall great university. I would recommend any students who study to look into on-campus jobs. They offer flexible schedules and allow you to earn an income while stiudying full-time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL25 March 2015
Memorial University is an excellent place for research. Working environment is also excellent and the research facilities are also excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional Profs
Wireless Sensor Networks Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL31 July 2014
working in the lab,
learning team work,
discussing the challenges
searching to improve the performance of the system,
discussing the solutions with coleages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research & Teaching Assistant
Research & Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 July 2013
• Research assistant for my professor, research in Active Fault Tolerant Control System Design
• Correct assignments and tests
• Record marks and report to professor
• Conduct tutorial classes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work place with lots of opportunities to learn
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 May 2012
Made a good network with professors and professional individuals. Learnt research and analytical skills having some amazing professors as my supervisors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report

See more Memorial University of Newfoundland reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Memorial University of Newfoundland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 100 reviews
550
437
311
21
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.1Culture

Memorial University of Newfoundland Reviews by Location