MEG Energy Employee Reviews

Found 53 reviews matching the search See all 54 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much politics
Data and Planning Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 April 2019
Too much politics. Top management in some departments paid too much to do nothing. HR is only for eye wash. Overall, poor culture as people who are hard workers with actual useful skills are passed over people who have the gift of the gab and show that they are busy.
Pros
Salary, Work life balance
Cons
Politics and favouritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment
Construction and Planning Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB11 April 2019
Great team and management support. Committed to safe, reliable operations. Streamlined processes allow for quicker business decisions. Great camp life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Consultant Wellsite Supervisor - SAGD Project (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB6 April 2019
I enjoyed my time at MEG, shortage of work has me looking elsewhere. If given the opportunity I would definitely return. MEG has an excellent work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good camps/ good co- workers
Operator (Former Employee) –  Lac La Biche, AB29 March 2019
alright company to work for wages are terrible very good camp to stay at. safety programs at meg very well rounded. staff are very friendly and helpful
Pros
breaks
Cons
wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fly-in/out postion in Christina Lake
Document Control Technician (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB5 March 2019
Very good people to work with. Learned a lot about document control. We worked twelve hour days, returned to camp and were give a beautiful supper daily. Lunch was supplied daily and eaten at site.
Pros
Entirely free food
Cons
Long hours and being away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great corporate culture
Tech - Control Systems Specialist (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB31 January 2019
Great people and place to work. Camp is state of the art and food is outstanding. The people are the reason that makes Meg energy a great place to work. Everyone is there to support and help wherever and whenever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to Work!
IWP Manager/Fabrication & Module Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB/Calgary, AB23 January 2019
Overall great company to work for. People are extremely helpful and management are totally involved. There always seems to be an opportunity for career advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a new SAG'd construction project
H&S Projects Manager (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB17 January 2019
This was a great project, because the PMT were all highly professional and focused on completing the project on time, on budget and with no serious incidents, which we did.
Pros
Excellent living quarters and a menu that was Best in class.
Cons
From my point of view NONE.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome group of emplyees
Instrument Technician (Current Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB24 November 2018
This is by far the best place I have ever worked. Everyone is friendly and easy going from upper management down to the people on the floor level. Recommend highly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive
Health and Safety Coordinator / Lead (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB24 October 2018
Great company. Young company but progressive in nature and advancing daily. Great work and life balance. Would prefer more process in their systems. Would work for them again.
Pros
Great culture
Cons
Lack of process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alright i guess
Staff (Current Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB1 October 2018
Some very long days. To busy for the pay. Culture is different but not sure if effective. Management is okay. Some people shouldnt be where they are in the company. They wouldnt survive anywhere else
Pros
camp
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and enjoyable place to work!
Sr Talent Acquisition Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 September 2018
When I worked at MEG, the culture and the people where amazing. Work hard, play hard mentality. Salary, benefits and incentives where by far the best I have ever had.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Camp Attendant (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB10 August 2018
Love the people i worked with but not the job
I cleaned rooms for worker that lived in camp
Worked there for 1 year
Was part of Local 47 ( amazing union )
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best owner experience
SQS COORDINATOR (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 June 2018
MEG has a very relaxed and positive work culture. Job security is not strong however it is a nice place to work. The downtown location is great to commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company... for now
Marketing logistics lead (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 May 2018
MEG Energy has a great workplace culture, it is relaxed yet hard work is expected to get the job done. Work hard play hard is the mentality. Lots of great corporate events
Pros
every other friday off
Cons
limited job advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best group of people to work with
E&I SUPERINTENDENT (Contract Consultant) (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, AB14 May 2018
Great atmosphere and managed workplace. The only unfortunate part is that the project came to an end. Best group of people became great friends. Loved to go back any day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture great people
Operations Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Christina Lake, Alberta12 January 2018
I was in on the ground floor and was able to build one of the best Operating companies in the business. I was allowed to build my team and we attracted the best people. We had the highest employee retention, lowest operating cost, some of the best safety and enviro stats. Great company great people.
Pros
Great Culture
Cons
Recession has ended this culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
General Labouer (Former Employee) –  Conklin, AB17 July 2017
i highly recommend working here the camp and food accomedations are the best i have ever been and tasted lots of friendly people working for this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEG has attempts life work balance by providing lots of free events to participate in.
Interim Project Controls Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 July 2017
A typical work day is very busy with lots of planned and unplanned deadlines. There is a team environment in which everyone pitches in to complete goals.
Pros
lots of free events
Cons
High Stress levels
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best overall people
Piping Estimator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 July 2017
*Working with great people
*learned new cad systems
*management was fantastic
*workplace culture was the best
*hardest part was getting layoff
*payday
Pros
great pay
Cons
Missing my family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MEG Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 54 reviews
525
421
34
21
13

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture