Mechtron Innovations Employee Reviews

Showing all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and cons
Full Time Employee (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 September 2019
PROS:This is a great place to start your career. There are opportunities to grow in it. Management and people are professional and easy to work with. Decent pay and incentives

CONS:Tasks could get Overwhelming
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Staff (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 September 2019
Management watches every move on sercurity cameras
Zero trust in employees
You can be fired on the spot with no cause with the same excuse as everyone else
No training and we all hope no one gets hurt on a daily bases
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Company with Great People
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON6 September 2019
Mechtron is a great place to work. It's a small company and the building is old but the Supervisors really care about worker safety and the management tea really make people feel welcome, and are friendly.

I worked here as a student for 3 years ad it's been a blast! The money is great! I will come back as often as I'm welcome.
Pros
Great environment
Cons
old building
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited Growth
PRESS OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON14 June 2018
As a temporary employee that was hired to full-time permanent I found that I lost money and did not receive a raise when this occurred. I did learn how to set-up punch presses and generally maintain machines and presses. There was an emphasis on quality control which I enjoyed.
Pros
Supervisors and Management were competent and easygoing
Cons
Limited to no opportunity for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive,respectful,
MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON13 June 2018
simple, easy going team environment well informed helpful team members, never had opportunity to utilize any of my skills or intelligence of any of my experience in industry but was a quiet very easy job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people working here.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON4 June 2018
Good group of people. Management could use some more focus on employees working conditions, and safety. Lots of work, however, not very good on pay. No raise in a very very long time. Union does not act on behalf of employees. Employees would stay if management showed some consideration in listening to those who work there.
Pros
Good Peo0ple
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace but mistreats workers
Engineering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 March 2018
Mechtron is an ok place to work. I've seen worse but I've also seen much better. Management style is almost by fear and the protection of workers is not there biggest concern. In my last stint with Mechtron I was let go from the company 1 week before my 3-month probation period was up and was given no notice at all even though I had been there off and on with engineering co-ops and part-time work for 3 years. I was let go about a week after I had raised concern about many of their working stations posing huge ergonomic issues. The company was not willing to compromise any production efficiency to protect their workers. I personally wouldn't suggest anyone work there.
Pros
Close to Tim's, nice coworkers
Cons
Low wages for work being done, un-willing to take steps to protect workers, dirty shop floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People, Bad Management
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 January 2018
Good people work at Mechtron. However, the owners interfere with the managers and supervisors ability to make the right decisions.

Poor management decisions lead to poor performance and all employees suffer.

Work here if you want, but beware... the owners will make your life difficult.
Pros
Good people
Cons
Owners make poor decisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work overall.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON27 November 2017
Work is not physically hard but typical factory work, boring and repetitive. People are nice but company does not treat employees with respect. Poor communication between company and employees. There is a union, but it is ineffectual. There is a lot of employee turnover.
Pros
Nice co-workers
Cons
Low salary and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Productive and repetitive work
Die setter / Machine operator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON19 June 2017
Machine operating is very repetitive work . I'm now a die setter and i like the position there is a lot more to learn .. I also work day shift 6:30am to 2:30 pm and it works great for my family
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
shift is great
Set-up operator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON8 April 2017
management does not consider employee feedback
quality managers are not involved as they should be
Rate of pay is low for what is expected of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
automotive plant
Material Handler- Machine (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON5 April 2017
Not too bad of a place to work. 8 hour shifts Monday-Friday and some overtime is offered. Production lines for the automotive industry. Company has potential to grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot, noisy and dangerous equipment / facilities
Salaried position (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON9 January 2016
Mechtron has a dangerous work environment. Lots of trip hazards and machine guarding not working. Management style is by fear. The Union is also very very weak. At best this is a filler employer / job only.
Pros
Individual workers are good
Cons
Disorganized company
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and Great Co-workers
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 September 2014
Productive, efficient work place, great work environment, good co-workers, and management
Pros
Productive, great employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working for this company
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON12 June 2014
I really liked working here...was treated good. Work load slowed so due to shortage of work I was laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot work environment, not much room for advancement
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 October 2012
mechtron was not the most suitable job for anyone, everyone stands for 10 hours a day while placing car parts through their disignated machines. It was a very hot place to work and they started you off at $13 an hour which was what they people that have been working there almost a year or two were making.
Pros
got to have a radio near our stations
Cons
hot, 50 lbs of lifting, slippery
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mechtron Innovations. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 17 reviews
51
45
32
26
13

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.2Job Security/Advancement
2.2Management
2.6Culture

Mechtron Innovations Reviews by Location