McMaster University Employee Reviews

Found 302 reviews matching the search See all 312 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect for a student job
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 February 2019
This job was perfect for a student as it was on campus, and willing to work around class schedule. Student often worked evening and weekend events such as weeding and alumni events.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Customer & Food Service (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON9 February 2019
Job Work/Life Balance is good
Salary/Benefits is ok

Job Security/Advancement is pretty good
Management and job culture are good.
Overall not bad
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Adjunct Clinical Professor (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 February 2019
Interprofesissiona. Committed to patient care. Experience that is case based, student focused. A desire to improve quality and healthcare, invested in advancing primary care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 January 2019
As a research assistant, I enjoyed immensely the knowledge and research driving culture as opposed to revenue based culture in private companies. very stimulating culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON23 January 2019
McMaster university only cares for it names not that of its employees, they constatly changes poliocies for the worse, their staff and profesors are not well trained they are racist sexist and they perpetrate bad working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this University
Course Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 January 2019
I started my PhD in Information Systems at McMaster University. The management is well. My advisor is also very supportive and helpful. I like the fact that they gave me the opportunity to be both teaching assistant and lecturer at the university. Overall, I had a great experience so far.
Pros
Great campus
Cons
location is in Hamilton
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible enviroment
Software Developer/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 January 2019
under supervision of professor, almost self learnt everything for the project development. turned out well. It was a school project after all. Self-study and self-management is more relevant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McMaster University - a great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON14 December 2018
McMaster University offers fairly good working conditions. there is always room for advancement. Great pay & benefits. Its definately a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard pressed to return
Scheduling & Exams Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 December 2018
Management Heavy
Don't care about you
loved job
Colleagues very Cliquey
judgemental
nepitsim

I loved the work I did and helping students find their way, hated the work environment, management allows unbelievable amount of favouritism, nepotism and breeds hostility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Environment
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 December 2018
teaching assistantship was a part of completing the Masters program. I learned alot about marking, examinations and overall unviersity policies and practises
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for research study
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 December 2018
I did all my experimental work at MARC at McMaster University. It is a quiet place to do the experiment and the colleagues are nice and warm-hearted. I enjoy the 2 years experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Residence Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  1280 Main St W, Hamilton, ON L8S 4L826 November 2018
awesome is work there for the summer. I would like to work there again in the summer and the bad thing about it was, I was not getting payed ti work..
Pros
Work experience
Cons
Not getting payed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Higher education driven
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 November 2018
Privileged to have worked with and been surrounded by professional and dedicated staff and faculty.

McMaster University selects only the top most professionals for hirer, of support staff, faculty, and physicians.
Pros
Surrounded by professional staff and faculty
Cons
commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
IT/AV Specialist (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON12 November 2018
Has challenges but the employer itself is great.
Union shop so you have to pout up with that mentality from some. Work hours limited to 35 and it's a real process to get overtime.

The benefits are great and the pay isn't bad for education sector standards.

Can't speak for other departments but Management in mine was some of the best I have ever worked for.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a TA job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 November 2018
Just a TA job while completing graduate school for masters in engineering. I think it was a pretty typical experience and just considered it an extension of my degree.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON28 October 2018
Great place to work, great work life balance, good teammates. I wasn't working in a long time, but I certainly recommend anyone interested to work at Mcmaster
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work.
Sessional Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON10 October 2018
a good place to work. very relaxed working environment, a lot of good people to work with. flexible working schedules. good work-life balance. learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a student.
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON21 September 2018
Worked for two semesters, mostly in the help center. The other TAs and the professors managing us were very helpful. Was an overall relaxed experience, and teaching is very rewarding.

Basically all the perks of being a teacher without the downside of being responsible for the students' success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with flexible hours
EVENT STAFF (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 September 2018
Event Staff at McMaster was very accommodating to my schoolwork. A typical day at work would be checking in with the supervisor, setting up before the sporting events, selling tickets or food, or ripping tickets for entry. The management was very organized and respectful. I felt comfortable talking to my managers about issues regarding workplace interactions. The hardest part of the job would have to be setting up for football games (lifting tables, moving the drink cooler, setting up fences, etc).
Pros
Free food, good salary
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
teaching assistant
Teaching Assistant, Sociology Department (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON13 September 2018
As a teaching assistant I was able to build strong relationships with the professors here, everyone is so supporting and the group of teaching assistants I worked with were amazing. Truly helps to build the next generation of US.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McMaster University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 312 reviews
5170
489
331
215
17

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture