McGill University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Medical Records Internship (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 April 2018
Overall my experience at the MUHC has been satisfying. I have learnt a lot about the hospital and overall the experience has been great and I would definitely recommend the place.
Pros
Union meal
Cons
No resturants around
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 April 2018
The Environmental Laboratory at McGill University is quite well-equipped with advanced pieces of machinery. The laboratory is well-regulated and the working environment is safe. It is accessible 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for scholarship.
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 April 2018
One of the best universities in the world, probably the best university in Canada. A great place to work. No complaints. Class is good and students are good too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great learning experience of executive level jobs
Student and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 April 2018
It was great opportunity to learn national and international level networking, scientific development and interacting with great scientists across the globe.
Pros
Great opportunity to learn best things
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2018
Amazing work culture, great city to live in. Lively and big but cheap. Tons of opportunities to grow professionally. Overall a very european feel and and work culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunity to learn and apply strengths
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 March 2018
- Fortunate enough to have the opportunity to apply my course learnings by tutoring those who may need assistance and curse reinforcements
- Very International environment fostering open discourse based on diverse points of view.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and full of adventure and fun
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 March 2018
We have a great team.
Our department is high tech Interventional cardiology which provide latest interventional procedures.
We have so much fun , productivity and team work there.
Everyone enjoy working there.
I like the management there , she is very kind and assertive .
Pros
Dynamism
Cons
Over time sometime is obligatory
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Financial Services27 February 2018
Great support system for undergraduate students
Many work study positions are available for students who have financial need
Work is meaningful and fulfilling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergrad Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 February 2018
You get what you put into it, I'm not really sure what else to say because the specifics of what anyone else would be working on would wildly differ from mine depending on subject or teach.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronfman22 February 2018
Very good experience for anyone looking to practice in their field and earn a few bucks. However, hours are long, so expect for it to take up quite a bit for your time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 February 2018
-Evaluation of different technology regarding to the needs in project
-self motivation and self discipline is an essential part of this Job
-it's challenging and various possibilities should be concerned
- innovative approaches
Pros
flexible working hours and challenging
Cons
its a temporary positio
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 February 2018
Research position, pretty good. I worked as a part time student, as many students do, there is not much to say about this position. However, McGill's Geography department is on point.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked in a research lab
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 February 2018
Inventing the Future
Rapidly Improving Your Technical Skills
Potential for Professional Advancement
Every individual researcher gets to work on only a small, specialized part of a bigger research problem. But just getting the chance to participate is an interesting opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Post-Secondary Institution!
3rd-Year Physics Major with Lab Experience (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 February 2018
Great lecturers, great curriculum, amazing campus in a great city. Everyone here is super intelligent and friendly. Not to mention the world-class reputation offered here is coupled with a world-class reputation!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entraide et ambiance agréable.
Concierge (Former Employee) –  Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, QC31 January 2018
Ses un endroit ou j'ai particulièrement aimé travailler. l'ambiance est très agréable. Mes collègues de travail a l'écoute et tout le monde s'entraide .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive and hostile work environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 January 2018
With no support for its employees, the workplace is a difficult one to integrate into and even more difficult to succeed in. Competition between employees creates a hostile environment centred on failure rather than success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director, Administration (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 January 2018
One of the best places to work in Canada! McGill has really strong benefits. There are ample opportunities to grow and advance in your career, as the range of departments is so wide.
Pros
Benefits, work-life balance
Cons
Bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks
Research Officer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 January 2018
Too bureaucratic, slow moving, people are lazy and arrogant. the tasks were good but the faculty of medicine things they are gods gift to the world and can do no wrong.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job is good but salary is low and the contact is signed for year by year only (in my case).
Researcher associate (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 December 2017
There I work in many of interesting topics, working time is not important there, working environement is perfect. But in my case, the salary is not good (under 30000 without any benefits) and I have to renew my contacts every year, so I don’t know what will happen with me in the next year!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job where I felt the most respected as an intellectual being
Research Assistant (Alcohol Research) (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC20 December 2017
I appreciated everyone's praise and consideration of my intellect. I liked the flexible nature of the hours. I have no complaints. I have nothing more to say.
Pros
Awesome
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McGill University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 256 reviews
5133
488
326
27
12

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture