McGill University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing
Animal Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2018
work in rooms with no windows its hot and you smell like animals all the time. would want to work there again. people are nice just job is repetitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Issues
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 June 2018
There are a lot of issues due to too many managers. No one can make a decision and communication is difficult. Not a lot of opportunity for personal/career growth and no encouragement on behalf of the managers.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Too many managers, lack of organization
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 June 2018
Overall, this was a simple job. I was tasked with evaluating and grading a multitude of course materials, including assignments and exams. The pay was decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to train for biomedical research
PhD Candidate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 June 2018
A collaborative environment to pursue science. Great training opportunities. An ideal place to start biomedical research career. Opens many doors to pursue career for the future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 May 2018
working one-on-one with a professor is a lot of responsibility. it is a good time, and you learn a lot, but it is a lot of work. i overall am grateful for the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice, organised place to work.
Office Aide (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 May 2018
I worked here for only three months so it is difficult for me to give a very accurate description of my responsibilities. I was an Office Aide and in that capacity, I managed an office in the Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education. I love Health and Fitness so I really enjoyed working here. I learned how to archive files and where old files go to be digitized and/or shredded. Because it was summer, the workload was light. There was little pressure to meet deadlines and not many co-workers to interact with.
Pros
My own office.
Cons
Few co-workers to interact with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace!
Human Resources Advisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 May 2018
Overall, a great place to work! Benefits are good and the working conditions support a work/life balance. Lots of opportunity to learn and evolve in a growing organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace, enjoyable
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 April 2018
Working at Mcgill University was enjoyable. I did not feel pressured and it was an overall good experience, the people with whom I worked with were inclusive and made the experience a success.
Pros
Nice colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Medical Records Internship (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 April 2018
Overall my experience at the MUHC has been satisfying. I have learnt a lot about the hospital and overall the experience has been great and I would definitely recommend the place.
Pros
Union meal
Cons
No resturants around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 April 2018
The Environmental Laboratory at McGill University is quite well-equipped with advanced pieces of machinery. The laboratory is well-regulated and the working environment is safe. It is accessible 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for scholarship.
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 April 2018
One of the best universities in the world, probably the best university in Canada. A great place to work. No complaints. Class is good and students are good too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great learning experience of executive level jobs
Student and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 April 2018
It was great opportunity to learn national and international level networking, scientific development and interacting with great scientists across the globe.
Pros
Great opportunity to learn best things
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2018
Amazing work culture, great city to live in. Lively and big but cheap. Tons of opportunities to grow professionally. Overall a very european feel and and work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of opportunity to learn and apply strengths
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 March 2018
- Fortunate enough to have the opportunity to apply my course learnings by tutoring those who may need assistance and curse reinforcements
- Very International environment fostering open discourse based on diverse points of view.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and full of adventure and fun
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC2 March 2018
We have a great team.
Our department is high tech Interventional cardiology which provide latest interventional procedures.
We have so much fun , productivity and team work there.
Everyone enjoy working there.
I like the management there , she is very kind and assertive .
Pros
Dynamism
Cons
Over time sometime is obligatory
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Financial Services27 February 2018
Great support system for undergraduate students
Many work study positions are available for students who have financial need
Work is meaningful and fulfilling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergrad Research Assistant
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 February 2018
You get what you put into it, I'm not really sure what else to say because the specifics of what anyone else would be working on would wildly differ from mine depending on subject or teach.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bronfman22 February 2018
Very good experience for anyone looking to practice in their field and earn a few bucks. However, hours are long, so expect for it to take up quite a bit for your time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and Fun
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 February 2018
-Evaluation of different technology regarding to the needs in project
-self motivation and self discipline is an essential part of this Job
-it's challenging and various possibilities should be concerned
- innovative approaches
Pros
flexible working hours and challenging
Cons
its a temporary positio
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC12 February 2018
Research position, pretty good. I worked as a part time student, as many students do, there is not much to say about this position. However, McGill's Geography department is on point.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McGill University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 264 reviews
5135
492
327
28
12

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture