McGill University Employee Reviews

Found 259 reviews matching the search See all 271 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research intensive University
Researcher and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montreal QC1 August 2018
The University is research intensive and therefore is a competitive and beneficial organization to join. The quality of the work and experience is positive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instituição agradável e bem incentivadora
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Montréal, CA30 July 2018
Por se tratar de uma instituição de ensino, ela disponibiliza uma equipe de profissionais assim como um ambiente disponível e propício ao desenvolvimento de pesquisa e ciência.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized and easy to work at
Course Grader (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 July 2018
Being a McGill grader was very worthwhile as you can mark for courses that you have previously taken. It is a great opportunity to give back to the students and it is very well organized by McGill.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
McGill is a resourceful yet demanding university
PhD Researcher, Molecular & Translational Oncology (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 July 2018
As a PhD researcher , my day is mostly spent doing experiments at the lab, in addition to the courses required for the program completion. With proper planning, I was able to attend the various information sessions, workshops offered by student services or career planning services.
Pros
Reputations, Resources
Cons
Demanding research load
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive job
Chief GIS Technician (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 July 2018
Help staffs and students with GIS questions or projects.
Learn new things and update the technology very often.
working environment is perfect
see new students every year
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PostDoc a McGill
Postdoctoral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 July 2018
Ottimo luogo di lavoro e di crescita sia professionale che personale.
Ambiente multiculturale e dinamico.
Esperienza magnifica.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Institution
ADMINISTRATION TECHNICIAN (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC18 June 2018
Very inclusive and team-oriented evironment. Coworkers are supportive and willling to help. Management is hard working and fair. Still, such a large institution is understaffed.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Sites are spread out and not easily accessible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing
Animal Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 June 2018
work in rooms with no windows its hot and you smell like animals all the time. would want to work there again. people are nice just job is repetitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Issues
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 June 2018
There are a lot of issues due to too many managers. No one can make a decision and communication is difficult. Not a lot of opportunity for personal/career growth and no encouragement on behalf of the managers.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Too many managers, lack of organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 June 2018
Overall, this was a simple job. I was tasked with evaluating and grading a multitude of course materials, including assignments and exams. The pay was decent.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to train for biomedical research
PhD Candidate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 June 2018
A collaborative environment to pursue science. Great training opportunities. An ideal place to start biomedical research career. Opens many doors to pursue career for the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC25 May 2018
working one-on-one with a professor is a lot of responsibility. it is a good time, and you learn a lot, but it is a lot of work. i overall am grateful for the experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice, organised place to work.
Office Aide (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 May 2018
I worked here for only three months so it is difficult for me to give a very accurate description of my responsibilities. I was an Office Aide and in that capacity, I managed an office in the Department of Kinesiology and Physical Education. I love Health and Fitness so I really enjoyed working here. I learned how to archive files and where old files go to be digitized and/or shredded. Because it was summer, the workload was light. There was little pressure to meet deadlines and not many co-workers to interact with.
Pros
My own office.
Cons
Few co-workers to interact with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace!
Human Resources Advisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 May 2018
Overall, a great place to work! Benefits are good and the working conditions support a work/life balance. Lots of opportunity to learn and evolve in a growing organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good workplace, enjoyable
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC17 April 2018
Working at Mcgill University was enjoyable. I did not feel pressured and it was an overall good experience, the people with whom I worked with were inclusive and made the experience a success.
Pros
Nice colleagues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at
Medical Records Internship (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 April 2018
Overall my experience at the MUHC has been satisfying. I have learnt a lot about the hospital and overall the experience has been great and I would definitely recommend the place.
Pros
Union meal
Cons
No resturants around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe
Research and Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 April 2018
The Environmental Laboratory at McGill University is quite well-equipped with advanced pieces of machinery. The laboratory is well-regulated and the working environment is safe. It is accessible 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for scholarship.
Lecturer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 April 2018
One of the best universities in the world, probably the best university in Canada. A great place to work. No complaints. Class is good and students are good too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great learning experience of executive level jobs
Student and Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 April 2018
It was great opportunity to learn national and international level networking, scientific development and interacting with great scientists across the globe.
Pros
Great opportunity to learn best things
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Graduate Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2018
Amazing work culture, great city to live in. Lively and big but cheap. Tons of opportunities to grow professionally. Overall a very european feel and and work culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McGill University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 271 reviews
5139
494
328
28
12

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture