McDonald's Employee Reviews for Swing Manager

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace; poor management
Bowridge Crescent NW - Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 February 2018
-Excellent work and learning experience
-Excellent training by assistant managers and supervisors
-poor management by the restaurant manager
-safe and fun environment
-slow wage increase
Pros
Discounts on food and in some other stores related to McDonalds
Cons
slow wage increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great place to work
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON9 February 2018
Its a great place to work, meet lots of people and its great to have regular customers who you can get to know (names and orders) to make their experience at the restaurant better.
Pros
free food as a manager
Cons
some long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place for growth and students
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON8 February 2018
There's always new people coming in to learn, wheather its their first job or they're just looking for something part time.
Being a manager here has taught me the value of team work and synergy. I have loved growing and learning from all my wonderful co-workers these last few years and look forward to learn and grow some more, either here or wherever life takes me.
overall its a fun workplace as most people are young and up beat, it never gets boring
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no paid breaks until you become manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced envrionement
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2018
Every shift is exciting and you get to work with fun people who enjoy their jobs. McDonalds gives you the opportunity to move up the chain of management and prepares you for your future career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
swing manager
Swing Manager (in training) (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON2 February 2018
delegated tasks in a very fast paced environment. Hard work and staff was great.
learned kitchen, drinks and health and safety procedures.
management was helpful for the most part, a lot of different people with different opinions of how things should be done
Pros
free food
Cons
too many managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment with plenty of lessons to learn
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON31 January 2018
I learned a lot about myself through Mcdonalds. It was the first job i ever had and it taught me a lot of life lessons. The best part of the job was the staff. The staff were very friendly and easy to work with and it made working in fast food much better.
Pros
fast paced all the time
Cons
Management was questionable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fast paced environment
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 January 2018
Shifts can get long, but they were always filled with great people and friendly customers. Best job I have ever had, I would have loved to stay longer but the salary was not worth it.
Pros
You get to work with friends
Cons
Sometimes short-staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Swing/ Shift Manager (Former Employee) –  Comox Valley, BC28 January 2018
I loved the guest experience i have learned over the three years of working there as well as the management program. Unfortunately it felt as some of the management were not as thankful of my hardworking and dedication i gave to the company.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Unappreciated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity for students
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 January 2018
All and all it could be an opportunity for students who wants flexible hours

Hard part is mostly understaffed and so stressful

Customers are not usually nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Assistant/Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 January 2018
They train you well, but don't care about anything but themselves and what ever makes the business run i get it but when you pay the managers NOTHING I'm sorry I'm not going to bust my butt for you
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC23 January 2018
McDonalds is a job. If your lower on the crew totem poll its a good job. The higher up you go, the worse it gets. You really do need to be basically BFF's with the upper management or you will go nowhere.
Cons
constantly scheduled against availability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Ajax, ON23 January 2018
Throughout the work day, there is always something to do, and a reason to always be on my feet. I learned how to deal with stressful situations, as well as be able to deal with customers in a professional way when they may not have had a good experience in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard but stay smart
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 January 2018
Great start in a real world. You'll how to deal with clients and co-worker. Have fun while working, be pressure all the time-- it means you are learning.
Pros
Platinum cards
Cons
no such thing (everyone have strong and weak points)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job to start off
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Anjou, QC19 January 2018
Working at McDonalds part time while being in school was excellent. Hours were accommodated according to your school schedule. Great place to start as a part time student.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your working career
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa9 January 2018
McDonalds is great for starting off or ending your job days they offer great paid training and care about their employees they want to see you exceed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun enviroment
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 January 2018
Learn how to manage staff on a day to day basis. Learned how to complete schedule weekly, ordering weekly & payroll. Managed on shift avg. 20-25 staff per hour.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast work enviroment not managed well
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB27 December 2017
I loved working in this environment, especially as a Swing Manager. Being a Franchise the owner eventually sold it to a less than reasonable owner who changed all the managers around, fired/demoted everyone he couldn't control/didn't like. New management was horribly mean to crew and broke Alberta health laws/regulations on a regular basis as well as safety standards for crew.

Was happy to be fired for no apparent reason.
Pros
Fast pased
Cons
Horribly mean Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to grow
Swing Manager (Former Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC H9G 1X117 December 2017
As a first job it was a great place to grow and gain experience for future opportunities . I highly recommend this job as a starting point for individuals who are interested in gaining experience in the work field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job for students
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC16 December 2017
McDonald's offers experience in some core skills (e.g. customer service & cleanliness). It is a great job for students wanting to build a foundation for their future career endeavors.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment and crew is like family
Swing Manager (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC15 December 2017
I've always liked working at my location and never had many complaints about the job itself. The crew is always friendly and the store manager always does their best to accommodate any leave requests that we all have.
Pros
Discount Food
Cons
High stress environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McDonald's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 107,775 reviews
527.6K
431.5K
330.5K
210.6K
17.6K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture