McDonald's Employee Reviews for Crew Member

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, NB16 August 2018
You will gain alot of experience with customer service and other skills you will lose in other aspects in future careers. But the training and over all way the business is run various from place to place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive day and fun
CREW MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Beamsville, ON16 August 2018
Its very fun but requires a lot of hard working people to manage a fast paced, clean environment. I learnt it very hard not to step in others toes. But with certain co workers and managers it is very enjoyable.
Pros
occasionaly free meals
Cons
very busy all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 August 2018
It was an overall great experience working there. Definitely a great first job! The staff was always friendly and I learnt many useful things there that has helped me in other jobs! Especially ones with people!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay place to work
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON16 August 2018
It was okay, was usually really busy during the day. Some of the managers were really good to work with. ...............................................................
Cons
No a/c
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job, provides lots of experience for future endeavours
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
This is a good place to start as it provides lots of experience, knowledge, and training which can be applied to various jobs. It is a very fast-paced job which constantly keeps you busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great starter job
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON15 August 2018
For myself mc donalds is a great starter job to bring a teenager/ young adult into the work field. For some people it might be the one that you choose for good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 August 2018
A typical day at work would normally be busy not too crazy but, not to clam either there was nothing I really learned that I didn't already know. The workplace culture is for everyone all races all kinds
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly environment with easy going co-workers
Crew Person (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON13 August 2018
A typical day is hard to describe because everyday is different. Some days will be packed, other days will be dead. Throughout the day the amount of customers vary. I learned how to use different machines and stronger communication skills. Managers are pretty relaxed and easy going, and help crew when the restaurant gets overwhelmed. Hardest past of the job is dealing with difficult customers. Most enjoyable part is working with down to earth people.
Pros
50% off your food
Cons
odd hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work at time and easy to manage time
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Paradise, NL13 August 2018
Easy to get time off, management is messy and often understaffed. Great place to start working. Very hot working working conditions. Co-workers are friendly.
Pros
half price food
Cons
unpaid breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starting job.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Orillia, ON13 August 2018
It is a good first job. No one that I would want to spend my life in, but it taught me good skills that I needed in order to move forward. It gives great hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, friendly associates
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Simcoe, ON13 August 2018
McDonalds is a good place to work. They offer employment to everyone without discrimination. The hours are very flexible and the management is generally friendly and accommodating to your needs.
Pros
Flexible hours, Friendly Management and Staff
Cons
Not enough hours or pay for a single income
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place ever!
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 August 2018
Working with McDonald's has been an amazing experience, you get to have opportunities where you get to apply yourself within the workplace, everyone is always so supportive of there fellow crew members, and the managers are always working hard to satisfy our needs and create a positive energy in the restaurant. McDonald's had improved my customer service and communication skills and i will definitely miss working with the company, I look forward to seeking new opportunities to improve in other posistions.
Pros
%50 Food Discount, Flexible Hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The bradford location isnt a good place to work
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ON12 August 2018
The day staff manager shouldn't be manager the way she does things isnt right.. shes a real peace of work

The Stratford location is fun I loved working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee discount 50% off Mcdonalds meals
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 August 2018
I could write an entire essay on whats wrong with Mcdonald's. At least at my location they were atrocious and extremely rude and oblivious, and dont like it when you complain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've made a lot of friends and gained experienced in fast food.
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 August 2018
The management was really good when I first started. Over the past year, new people bring their personal problems at work. I'm against it because I know it'll mess up with the management and it did. Salary isn't really good unlike other branches. But it was really fun whenever I work with my friends. Makes the time goes by really fast.
Pros
Free food if the manager remembers it; flexible hours
Cons
Understaff; very low rates despite of different positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 August 2018
-Tiring/ standing up for a long period of time.
-Good experience.
-Teach you good customer service.
-Learn how to work in a fast paced in environment.
Pros
50% of food
Cons
Long hours of standing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, team work
Ontario- Crew Member (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 August 2018
Great training and opportunities to advance and grow in the company. Great team work, flexible schedule, discount on food, great family benefits. Fun learning environment.
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
fast food
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 August 2018
Developed and maintained a strong professional relationship with customer service, and strong product knowledge. everyone was helpful and kind. easy and fun.
Pros
free food
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
crew became my family
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Caledon, ON9 August 2018
working at McDonald's had it's ups and downs, I loved working with my coworkers and became very close with them but there were instances with management that was unprofessional and staying working there became unattractive.
Pros
good coworkers
Cons
short shifts, bad management, underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, NS8 August 2018
It's a good place to start or if you need steady hours, the drama of it all becomes old after a while but its steady work and hours don't fluctuate too much
Pros
50% off, reliable hours
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McDonald's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 131,205 reviews
533.7K
438.1K
337K
212.8K
19.6K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture