McDonald's Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC12 August 2018
Working in McDonald’s is a great place if you enjoy always having something to do there is always things that need to be done in this work place and great people to work with
Pros
Discounts
Cons
I can’t think of any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vermilion, AB9 August 2018
Great first job. Worked as a cashier for four years and gained valuable experience with customers and overall day-to-day work knowledge. Loved the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fun workplace and a good stepping stone.
Cashier/Food Processer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 August 2018
I have worked at McDonalds for a long time. I believe it taught me many good things about the work life. I learned to be reliable, organized, and work in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 August 2018
A typical day at work consists of a lot of multitasking. I learned that you really have to be quick to keep up with the standards that Mcdonald's guarantees to their customers. It can get quite stressful at times especially with the constant ringing of all the alarms from the kitchen equipment. Early morning and later night shifts are to be expected.
Pros
50% discount on food
Cons
Night shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 August 2018
Working here was terrible the management dint care about anything but you being at your shift on time they say school first but its not to them. They give bad food to customers and I didnt agree with that.
Pros
Cowokers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB6 August 2018
simple days
learn how to do more then one thing
you work with great people
good environment to work in
its a simple job
i liked interacting with people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Weak management, good training
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON6 August 2018
McDonald's is a good first job, it teaches you very basic workplace safety and skills. The management, however, is lacking in professionalism and respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience as a first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 August 2018
Management was a mess, especially the Mcdonalds restaurant I was working at. Schedules were not balanced, wouldn't even get hours. Janitors don't do their job neither does the security team. Once was a good store, turned lazy and unprofessional.
Pros
none
Cons
everything, 30 minute break, hard labor, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB4 August 2018
in my experience McDonalds was a very negative work place but the costumers always made my day better, it is a fast speed place to work and you really have to be a team member to work there
Pros
lots of hours
Cons
bad managment staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  North York, ON4 August 2018
A typical day at work is productive and enjoyable. I learned how to use certain devices within the food industry and how to better talk to customers. The managemet is good and helpful to crew mwmbr sand new members as well. The hardest part of the job is that managers are a bit inconsiderate of the times I have required to be off. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with crew members who are polite and helpful.
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
Inconsideration of timeoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright
Cashier/ Food maker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 August 2018
helping customers serving them their food meeting new people and making new friends all the time a typical day was fast and made food management was OK not the best but not the worst
Pros
meeting new friends
Cons
a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier/backend/drive (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 August 2018
i worked with great people and made good friends. if they only pay above minimum id stay longer perfect for student as they are very flexible with hours
Pros
50% with any meals
Cons
rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Job
Leader/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  London30 July 2018
I really like the fact that Mcdonalds really trains you for any job you need in the future. It is a fast paced environment with some mean customers so you really learn patience and time management skills while working. The people you work with at any job is probably the best part! management wasnt the best there. TRAINING IS 100% the best!!
Pros
great people, free food
Cons
long hours, rude customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect starter job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St-jean30 July 2018
The work environment can be a very stressful if you can’t handle rushes but overall the job is great because of the friendships you make! You’ll learn many skills such as communicating with customers, multitasking and and working under pressure.
Pros
Friendships made
Cons
Rude customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace workplace where you become close to the team
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Osoyoos, BC29 July 2018
Mcdonald's is an easy way to build your experience and have as a first job because of the various skills you develop. Overall it was a great experience for professional and personal growth.
Pros
Employee discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learn how to deal with customer
cashier (Former Employee) –  taiwan29 July 2018
customers always have requires that you need to approved. customer is not always right, but you must be patient to help them. its hardest part in my work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Port Hawkesbury, NS27 July 2018
Not bad really, mostly positive only cranky customers really. Co workers are nice, and hours are great................................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meets needs of staff
cashier (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON27 July 2018
very good starter place for students or some one returning to work. flexible hours. great staff. friendly customers free uniforms and good staff discount
Pros
staff discounts free uniforms
Cons
not so good managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, reasonable hours, crabby management
Cashier/Drive Thru/Guest Experience Leader (Current Employee) –  Stoney Creek, ON25 July 2018
i was getting 3 hrs/week for about 3 and a 1/2 months and was promised more hrs, they did come but i had to fight for them. management can be iffy sometimes, sometimes they forget they're working with mostly teenagers and don't understand our limitations. (ie. working overnights/working 9 and s 1/2 hr shifts)
Pros
discount
Cons
stress from customers/managers/co-workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and effeceint
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK25 July 2018
McDonald is a very simple place to work at it teaches the main points about being a cashier and drive thru attendant and was a great place to start a job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at McDonald's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 130,556 reviews
533.5K
437.9K
336.8K
212.8K
19.5K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture