Maxxam Analytics Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 137 reviews matching the search See all 138 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Should not work here, even you just start your career.
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 September 2018
This is a miserable place to work. Supervisor changed your schedule without letting you know before 24 hours, and asked you come back to work for morning shift when you just finished your morning shift today. So, they did not care about workers, everything is depend on the deadline of samples. In addition, the supervisor asked you pretend to work when you don't have anything to do. It is literally ridiculous.
Poor management.
Hard to deal with difficult people, stupid people.
Pros
Can get experiences
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Microbiology Section Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC16 September 2018
Maxxam culture is a team team culture
Company has excellent company values and leads through example
High safety standards for protection of their employees
Team reorganizations
Excellent place to call work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unfriendly co-workers from other department
Sample Login Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 September 2018
Too many samples to login. Supervisor is not that friendly but maybe he is just the way he is. Low pay. Only good for fresh graduates. Business is not so steady because it depends on the oil and gas industry as well.
Pros
Good to work at if you've just graduated from the University
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment and fast paced.
Sample Login Technician (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 August 2018
Fast paced, demanding and unique work environment is best to describe Maxxam. I input data into our system based on the needs of our clients inorder to satisfy their experience with our analytical company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its alright...
Analyst 2 (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB1 August 2018
Calgary Maxxam is a great company as an introduction to the industry. You will be able to learn several sample preparation techniques and they have a variety of instrumentation to learn. Overall the work environment is friendly and multicultural. It is extremely stressful during busy seasons and mistakes are not tolerated. The pay is a little higher than minimum wage but not by much.The drastic different from busy season to slow can take a toll on your body physical and mentally.
Pros
Safety is the number one priority
Cons
You always have to be working, management wont let you slack longer than 5 min.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Il faut prioriser l'entreprise et non sa vie personnelle
Analyste (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 July 2018
Possédant une maîtrise en chimie d'un pays (autre), Maxxam n'était pas le meilleur employeur que j'avais vu passer, mais il n'était pas non plus le pire. J'ai donc tenté ma chance. Au début, la job était vraiment plaisante, mais c'est lorsque l'été et l’automne approche que l'on se rend vite compte que les gestionnaires ne se soucient jamais du fait que tu aies des enfants et qu'ils te demandent de rester un autre 3h30. Accepter une très longue commande 30 minutes avant la fin de ta journée leur est égal. Chaque jour. En bref, je garde une expérience amère de Maxxam. Je crois fermement qu'il y a des meilleurs emplois, mais ceux-ci ne seront pas toujours aussi agréables qu'effectuer des analyses. Puis, je dois admettre que nos collègues immédiats sont tous des êtres extrêmement chaleureux et généreux. C'est donc à vous de choisir en fonction de ces différentes informations.
Pros
Très belle camaraderie
Cons
4h d'overtime par jour l'automne
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over worked , under paid and under appreciated
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC30 June 2018
Leaving after many years . Lack of financial gain and held back with a union . Over worked and under paid . Would not recommend my enemy’s to go thru the stress put upon the staff after being bought out by Buena Veritas . Bigger maxxam became the Less staff was appreciated .
Pros
Look good in a resume
Cons
Stress not enough staff and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team & opportunities for advancement
Human Resources (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 June 2018
I have had quite a few opportunities for advancement since I've started at Maxxam. I have learned that the opportunities are there and it is what you make it - if you are willing to put in the effort and go the extra mile, you will be recognized. Management is very supportive of your growth if you make it known that you would like to advance and you put in the effort to do so.

The work/ life balance isn't always ideal as there is always a ton of work to do (constantly busy) and my role is rather independent... so there can be a lot of late nights which are unpaid if you are on salary. That being said, management is very flexible with taking time off for appointments, etc. to compensate for the extra time you put in, so often it does balance out.

All in all, Maxxam is a great place to work and an excellent place to start your career in a busy, fast-paced environment.
Pros
Free lunches, opportunities for advancement, off-site training seminars, lots of flexibility with schedule
Cons
Long hours at times, high amount of effort and commitment required for moderate pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to kill your career
Analyst II (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 May 2018
This place fell apart in the last 3-4 years. Things went from bad to worse until you were left with a bunch of miserable employees working under incredible stress, with no motivation or salary compensation. And incapable management keeps hiring "cheap" grads to substitute for experienced analysts that couldn't stand the poor treatment and left. Forget about trying to work your way up or building a career by doing your job and putting maximum effort to learn and do... only a bootlicker and a bully get ahead here. Not working at Maxxam feels like I just stopped hitting my head against a wall - such a relief.
Pros
Teaches you how to work with a lot of difficult people
Cons
EVERYTHING else
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work,low pay,no appreciation
Lab Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 May 2018
It is a very fast pace workplace, you basically do everything from cleaning to reporting data. Long hours and weekend work is not appreciated. It is called a duty! The only good thing was some of the very educated knowledgeable people there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport

Want to know more about Maxxam Analytics Inc.?

Ask a question
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a company that is business first employees second
Core Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 April 2018
Maxxam doesn't invest a lot into their employee culture . Its been over a decade since I have worked there so Im sure things have improved as the company has grown.
Pros
Employment
Cons
Low salary and low moral
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to start your career but...
Scientist (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC11 April 2018
I recommend this place if you're right out of school and need to get some experience. Working with the right people in the right department, you can learn quite a lot to get your career going. After being here for a while though you hit roadblocks to career advancement and certain levels of management can be extremely uncooperative and disorganized.
Pros
Fun co-workers, benefits are decent, can learn quite a lot of Chemistry
Cons
Pay is relatively low, management is disorganized, higher level positions have horrible work-life balance for what they pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Laboratory Analyst 2 & Team Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 March 2018
Good place to work, but be expected to work non stop for the whole time you are there. The wage for contract staff are low but somewhat better when you become full time. Still this is not a place to build a career, only for experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment, great co-worker
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 March 2018
Good company to start your career in a science field. The people are nice to work with. It is a fast paced work environment.The overall company performance good and satisfactory.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over stressed, poor employee recognition, care more about client than staff
Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 February 2018
Over stressed during spring, summer and fall, poor employee recognition, little to no advancement the past 5 years as the company is contracting. They care more about client and saving money than staff, low pay for experience and poor training, they rush you in and don't teach you about the equipment you are using.
Pros
bagel day once a month, semi stable position
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and positive workplace
Bottle preparation clerk. (Former Employee) –  Canada23 February 2018
It is a good place to learn and earn. flexible job timings.
very good management and cooperative too. calm and soothing workplace.
positive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained lab experience
Lab Analyst (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 February 2018
-Analyzed samples daily
-Sent out reports daily
-Gained extensive lab and equipment experience
-Very long hours
-Great benefits package
-Great co-workers
-Had to fix machines when they were down which was very time consuming
Pros
Great benefits package
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Analyst II (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 January 2018
Lots of learning, gain lots of experience in the past years. Good place to work, nice co-workers, good management......................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating Place to Work
Quality Assurance Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 January 2018
Like any private lab, employees are under-paid and sometimes not very knowledgeable. I found it difficult to get my coworkers to buy into my work or what I was trying to accomplish.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and filling work
Sample Login Technician I (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 January 2018
My time at Maxxam was good, I would go in at noon or so usually, jump into my work. Scanning and delivering samples to the lab in a timely manner. My co-workers and manager were very pleasant and fun to be around and always willing to help me out. The hardest part of the job was remembering where everything went in the building. The best part of the job was the atmosphere, always friendly and happy but fast paced.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Can get very busy, hard to multi task. Although still manageable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Maxxam Analytics Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 138 reviews
527
438
340
216
117

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture