Mattamy Homes Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 90 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes great places to work.
Handyman Services / Warranty Services (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 February 2019
Organized when it came down to material needed to perform tasks needed but had too many calls durning the day and felt rushed most of the time.
Needs more quality control for their trades, trades are not doing the job they were paid to do.
Felt at easy at some locations and then felt like a outsider in others.
Pros
People I worked with.
Cons
Too many jobs assigned a day. Need more staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not apply here
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON9 January 2019
Very fast paced working environment with poor management. Extreme work loads, poor training, lack of communication and the interest of the homeowner owners and employees are NOT their #1 priority, just the bonus for the big guys. If you want to be disrespected, overworked, under paid and ignored apply here. If not do yourself the favour and move on.
Pros
Christmas Parties
Cons
bad pay, management, disrespect
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job Security
Marketing (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON9 January 2019
I left my previous job for a position that I got in Mattamy Homes.
It was a new role so they werent sure what they really wanted me to do! After a month they decided to let me go just because they didnt have enough task for me! I asked them why they were letting me go, and they had nothing to say! so what they told me was that "we see in you that you want to grow and improve and this role doesnt have that for you!" Seriously?????? you are letting me go because I worked hard and you saw that I have goals and I want to grow in my career???
I lost my previous job for Mattamy and now they let me go for no reason!
My recommendation: think before hiring someone! you cant just play with people's lives! If you dont need a new employee then DONT HIRE THEM!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working
Handyman (Co-Op) (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON9 January 2019
Well managed environment and hard working employees fast paced and profesionally done houses. mattamy taught me proper time management which helped me in the future
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It wasn't the best.
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON8 January 2019
Mattamy Homes. safety and supervision was taken too lightly for being such a dangerous and on going job. The hardest part of the job was doing the huge amounts of quotas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awseome
Lead Handyman (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 December 2018
it was a really great company to work for and i would consider going back to work for this company because i enjoy working outdoors an i love the trades
Pros
breaks when needed
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laidback Workplace
Research Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON11 October 2018
Laidback workplace located close to highway for easy commuting outside of Toronto. Vibrant staff, friendly atmosphere, good compensation and benefits plan.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If Only
Lead Warranty Technician (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON16 September 2018
Too many levels of management. False promises to advance and value. The idea of the mission and values are great. Unfortunately they get lost easily by too many middlemen.
Pros
Successful homebuilder
Cons
Grew too fast, quality went way down
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture with rewarding work
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON17 August 2018
Mattamy leaders truly care about their employees and want to make the workplace rewarding. These leaders are some of the best in the industry and are exceptional at what they do. They expect hard work and dedication but typically have a relaxed managerial style and make the culture fun/enjoyable. It's a fast paced work environment but the people, culture and pay reflects that. It's no surprise that the company was named one of Canada's Most Admired Corporate Cultures in 2018.
Pros
Great culture, feels like a family, regular social events, rewarding work, team environment
Cons
Lots of turnover, lack of promotion/growth plans for individual employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with Mattamy Homes
Windows 10 Deployment Technician (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON8 August 2018
I did enjoy working at Mattamy Homes
Staff was professional and friendly
Environment was comfortable to work in.
Equipment was up to date and normal working operations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Development company
Planning and Development (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 August 2018
Not much to say other than they are Toronto related and Toronto calls the shots. Not very loyal to long standing employees.
They are very aggressive in the market
Pros
locally located
Cons
take advantage of their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Financial Analyst, GTA Division, Finance (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON9 July 2018
Believes in team spirit and collaboration along with flexibility in achieving results collectively within a team environment. Highly recommended place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON6 June 2018
Great work place, great co-workers, greatest experience at Mattamy Homes Sales Offices. This job has taught me a lot of computer skills, customer service skills are a must within the sales environment. Great environment to work for.
Pros
Great co-workers, and awesome experience
Cons
Always a potential for layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Site location
Site Administrator (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 May 2018
Learned alot about new construction, new homes. Warranty mortgages and land and plots. See behind the Scenes of how houses are built as typically office site is near construction site.
Pros
Dont have to wake up early
Cons
Short term when house are sold no more work until new release
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really depends on your role within the company
Warranty (Current Employee) –  gta12 April 2018
Some people really float by while others work well over 44 hour work week for less pay. Warranty has a very high turnover..its a very very stressful role with little thanks. Lucky if you have a strong manager to help you out ( or at least make you feel better). Really fun culture if you can get over the job itself ( fun paid for work events)
Pros
Free weekly lunch/ Fun social events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable until the end
Handyman/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 March 2018
The job was a great experience. The skills that I was able to build on here will forever follow me through my working life. The people and the environment made going to work a delight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Hand Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 March 2018
When I was younger ob was very hard but when I gained the respect and experience needed to do the on I looked forward to going to work everyday and the pay was better
Pros
Lots of sunshine
Cons
Cold winters
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for growth
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON4 February 2018
With different divisions, and many different job positions within each division, any employee can explore many different avenues for expansion within the company--should they choose to. The company shares its successes with its employees by holding special gatherings where the owner himself acknowledges and thanks all the employees for their hard work.
Pros
The company is very generous to its employees
Cons
Office politics in certain departments/divisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary, and good work culture, but bad communications
General Construction Labourer (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB30 January 2018
- management does not communicate well
- advancement is hard unless you know certain people
- hardest part of the job would be weather
- easiest is the morning with activity
- wonderful benefits and salary
Pros
fre lunches
Cons
bad bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2018
It is a well put together company , things run smoothly for the most part. But job security was non existent unless ticketed journeyman. A lot of the employees hid their stupidity very well
Pros
Good wages, good hours
Cons
No security, inexperienced workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mattamy Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 90 reviews
527
418
321
29
115

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture