Mattamy Homes Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Executive Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON6 June 2018
Great work place, great co-workers, greatest experience at Mattamy Homes Sales Offices. This job has taught me a lot of computer skills, customer service skills are a must within the sales environment. Great environment to work for.
Pros
Great co-workers, and awesome experience
Cons
Always a potential for layoffs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really depends on your role within the company
Warranty (Current Employee) –  gta12 April 2018
Some people really float by while others work well over 44 hour work week for less pay. Warranty has a very high turnover..its a very very stressful role with little thanks. Lucky if you have a strong manager to help you out ( or at least make you feel better). Really fun culture if you can get over the job itself ( fun paid for work events)
Pros
Free weekly lunch/ Fun social events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable until the end
Handyman/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 March 2018
The job was a great experience. The skills that I was able to build on here will forever follow me through my working life. The people and the environment made going to work a delight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Hand Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 March 2018
When I was younger ob was very hard but when I gained the respect and experience needed to do the on I looked forward to going to work everyday and the pay was better
Pros
Lots of sunshine
Cons
Cold winters
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of room for growth
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON4 February 2018
With different divisions, and many different job positions within each division, any employee can explore many different avenues for expansion within the company--should they choose to. The company shares its successes with its employees by holding special gatherings where the owner himself acknowledges and thanks all the employees for their hard work.
Pros
The company is very generous to its employees
Cons
Office politics in certain departments/divisions
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary, and good work culture, but bad communications
General Construction Labourer (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB30 January 2018
- management does not communicate well
- advancement is hard unless you know certain people
- hardest part of the job would be weather
- easiest is the morning with activity
- wonderful benefits and salary
Pros
fre lunches
Cons
bad bosses
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 January 2018
It is a well put together company , things run smoothly for the most part. But job security was non existent unless ticketed journeyman. A lot of the employees hid their stupidity very well
Pros
Good wages, good hours
Cons
No security, inexperienced workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Intensity very fast paced environment
Site Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON14 January 2018
Requires extensive knowledge of the building process for residential homes from excavation to final occupancy inspection.

very fast paced environment that demands fine tuned organization, planning and the ability to change direction at any moment.

Its not just one house you're building, it could be 40-50 at the same time. All at different stages of construction which means you must be able to communicate to a large variety of trades every single day and also be able to schedule the trades to follow.
Pros
benefits, wage, job security, community of employees
Cons
long hours, cold weather, very stressful and demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked, under paid
Handyman (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON17 December 2017
Some management should not be management, lack human compassion, and empathy
They are only concerned with budgets and money, and not the employee's
They are strict with production schedule though, which does benefit the handyman somewhat
Pros
wages, benefits, nice co workers
Cons
vehicle allowance too low, punch a clock
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work Fast paced environment
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON19 November 2017
Strong team culture with dedicated employees. Fast paced environment geared towards building quality homes. Overall good leadership with a clear direction for future growth.
Pros
good benefits package
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Mattamy Homes?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for; atmosphere on job sites was always positive
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 November 2017
Enjoyed running the heavy equipment; salary was good and the benefits were excellent.

Management was good to for and overtime was offered but never expected.

Company won the JD Power award one year
Pros
Opportunity for advancement
Cons
Could be transferred to a site located a distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice work space
Excel Expert (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON13 October 2017
I worked full time at Mattamy Homes and reported directly to the VP of Finance at the head corporate here in Ottawa. Very easy going, relaxed, competitive, nice people around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is kind and helpful/lack of leadership with managers
Warrant Administrator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON30 September 2017
I enjoyed meeting different trades. I gathered a lot of information on the building of a house. Management are bullies, and do not take responsibilities for any errors. You are yelled and screamed at, called names, your work gets sabotaged. Managers will do anything to keep their jobs.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Lack of communication and isolation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Enviroment
Contract Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 September 2017
This was a challenging role but exciting, constantly looking for cost saving measures in both design and materials. Working with suppliers and framers to improve design and efficient builds. Management was hands off giving your room to grow, but there in the back ground for assistance if required. Managing people is the hardest part of the position looking for the win win solutions. Most enjoyable was seeing progress in the reduction of costs.
Pros
Office Gym and Showers
Cons
Length of Service
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Junior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON23 May 2017
Great workplace, great people and a great environment. Could not have asked for a more encouraging and rewarding experience during my short tenure at Mattamy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They decide if you fit in.....Mattamy Culture
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON8 March 2017
I was immediately judged with respect to my age. This is a very young group of people that most would consider the "cool kids". People in this company act like they are better than everyone else. Strong sense of entitlement with all staff. Very competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with room for growth
Customer Care Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON13 February 2017
I very much enjoyed my time at Mattamy and it saddens me that I have to leave! The staff truly are like family and the working environment is exceptional. They always help you grow in your role and get to where you want to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
labourer work
Construction Laborer (Former Employee) –  airdrie12 February 2017
checking foundations for inspectors weeping tile placement pouring concrete crack repair and concrete cutting organizing cement trucks exposing services
Pros
good wage great hours
Cons
drama
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Permits & Safety Coordinator (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2017
It was ok, I didn't get to learn much. I don't have too many constructive things to say about Mattamy Homes management. I would prefer not to say anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Head Chef (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON5 January 2017
Great place to work, very friendly staff. Enjoyed going to work every day. weekends and all holidays off. Free lunch provided to employees every day. great benefits and salary. lots of holidays. I enjoyed working there,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mattamy Homes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 66 reviews
518
415
320
24
19

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture