Mary Browns Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Chicken
Cook (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON18 July 2018
I only really worked there for 2 weeks because of personal reasons, but my brother worked there for 2 years so I knew the owner. It is a nice place to get amazing chicken.
Pros
Free sandwich
Cons
Too hot to cook chicken
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorginized/bad hours
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC7 July 2018
very unorginized and creepy staff. gross chicken and rude people. nobody ever comes in to eat so your forced to stare at the wall for hours on end it just sucked
Pros
friendly people
Cons
slow days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could of been better
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON29 June 2018
On a typical day at work I
- Arrived on time for all shifts and stay until shift completion
- Welcomed and acknowledged all guests
- Took orders from customers
- Maintained a fast speed of service
- Assembled orders on trays and/or bags
- Cleaned and organized my station thoroughly before, during and after each shift
- Responded to guest questions, concerns, and complaints
- Followed all restaurant safety and security procedures
- Developed and maintained positive working relationships with others

I enjoyed my crew members and made lots of friends but at my location, I sadly had bad management, which made the job hard.

My favourite thing about working at mary browns was getting a 50% discount on the food while working, it's so good!
Pros
Good Work/ Life Balance
Cons
Bad Mangement Team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start, However.....
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 June 2018
A typical day at work includes taking orders, cleaning and making salads. I learned a lot of basic skills that you wouldn't think were important. However after a series of management changes the place doesn't run nearly as well and as a result employee morale has dropped.
Pros
Free meals and discounts
Cons
Poor management, lack of hours, understaffed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay..
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON21 June 2018
Didn't work here for a long period of time but they gave very few hours for a student I was lucky if I got 10 hours some weeks. They pay minimum wage but still isn't good because of poor hours.
Co-workers were ignorant.
Not the cleanest.
I found they changed the way they make things too much got confused often because of being misguided.
Cons
15 min break in washroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cashier, food prep, cook, dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON10 June 2018
Very well managed workplace environment. Fun and great start to began learning experience. I learned patience, how to handle high stress situations, cashier experience and more! Most enjoyable part of this job was my relationships with my co workers and boss.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent starter experience
Cashier, Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 May 2018
Accepts flexible hours, perfect for those seeking part-time work and students seeking first working experience. No specific break times and would not give us more hours to work however. Proper training received, but no uniform. Offering service can be difficult at time as cashier machine can be slow and customers have various demands.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Only give few hours to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  London, ON10 May 2018
There was a lot of drama between all of the coworkers to the point that effected everyone's work ethics. Works around hours well if you have school or need time off.
Pros
flexible
Cons
uncomfortable
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace culture
Cook Cashier (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB2 May 2018
they are really welcoming fun to work with other staff and it is great enjoyable to work. Although there will be times it will be busy but manage to do everything as a team.
Pros
teamwork and fun to work with people
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace
Cashier & Food prep (Former Employee) –  Keswick, ON29 April 2018
It was a typical part time job.
Staff and management were not very organized - employees were good to work with. The job was straightforward - just need basic social skills and the ability to work in a face paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Mary Browns?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work if youre young
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Torbay, NL17 April 2018
The location in Torbay was poorly run and the management wasn't really sure what they were doing and pay roll gets messed up alot. There's some late nights and cutting the chicken is always tedious.
Pros
free poppins
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Cashier and Cook (Former Employee) –  Yarmouth, NS11 April 2018
I loved working here! Its such a nice staff. Everyone is so fun and supporting, they train you really well and make working fun. The management was good
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast food chain
Line cook (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB5 April 2018
Very busy chicken restaurant. I had a hard time being trained because they had their hands full all the time. In the end they had to let me go because they are so busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL4 April 2018
The hardest part of the job is that you are on your feet all day and doing so in a fast paced environment.This workplace taught me how to properly handle a customer complaint.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Fast-paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall a good work expereince
Cook (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 March 2018
The owners of Mary Browns were fantastic and valued their company. I enjoyed working with them and would recommend individuals to try this company as a way to start working.
I learned a great deal about food safety and working a cook line.
The hardest part of the job was staff turnover.
The most enjoyable was owners and meeting new people.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
staff Turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun workplace
Cook/Dishwasher (Current Employee) –  Newfoundland and Labrador7 March 2018
A typical day at work requires me to cook food for breakfast and supper during morning shifts. My job is to ensure that all the chickens, Big Mary's etc. are sufficiently supplied and that we are never low in stock. The flow of work in the whole kitchen is frictionless due to the constant communication between the workers and the helping nature of each individual. This greatly reduces any chances of bottleneck and makes the work enjoyable.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
very intimidating for beginners
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back job, not very busy
CASHIER/LOBBY/KITCHEN (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 March 2018
Easy going job, learnt a lot about multitasking and working under pressure since there were generally only two staff including myself working at a time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 March 2018
Terrible.
Rude management. Wrong pay. Not flexible with hours. Owner of the location was so rude. I worked there years ago and owners have changed since then so things might be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not fun
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Angus, ON19 February 2018
I did not like working here because the workers were not at all good with customers never great at functioning a fast paced work training or work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff and managment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON18 February 2018
I would recommend Mary Browns to anyone looking for a solid part time job while in school. The work is fun and the people you work with are fantastic.
Pros
Free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Mary Browns. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 160 reviews
545
442
348
211
114

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture