Marriott International, Inc. Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World's worst place to work at
I WORKED THERE FOR 5YEARS (Former Employee) –  AIRPORT DELTA MARRIOTT21 September 2018
THE MANAGERS ONLY LIKE MOSLEM,
HR IS very HOT TEMPER
VERY HARD TO TO STAY
ALL SHORT TEMPERS.
EVERYDAY they are hiring WHY....?
BECAUSE they are firing people for no reason.
Workers are hired for part-time with low pays and
Asking workers to work full-time hours for less money and no benifit.
DO you want work and no future.
PLEASE try to understand. Good jobs are very hard to find these day.
Cons
No future
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Maintenance worker: terrible manager, terrible pay
Preventative maintenance worker (Former Employee) –  Minett, ON20 September 2018
The manager consistently lied, no team morale, low pay. Constantly expected to do more and more with no extra compensation. Expected to work during holidays. Overall a terrible place to work. Do not recommend
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work .it's depends on business
Waiter (Current Employee) –  QATAR13 August 2018
Working hours is 9 hours. In a month 4 off days. Management is taking care of staff.medical is free also management pay of medical expenses...I have learned many thin5 as leadership qualities. Department give traning to fill your next steps.
Pros
Working hours only
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
four points
HouseKeeper (Former Employee) –  5505 Airport Way, Kelowna, BC V1V 3C310 August 2018
best job i ever had, as well as the easiest. sometimes it would be a little stressful because when cleaning rooms, you never know the severity of it until you're in said rooms, so time management is very important. with that being said, after you got the hang of it 9/10 you'd finish your list of rooms early and would get to go home if they didn't have anything else for you to do. which in itself is a blessing and a curse because leaving early reflects on your paycheque but you also get an early day. i left because of that reason, and also because i had lived on the other side of town and bussing isn't ideal.
Pros
beer tips, money tips, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 July 2018
-with experience, the job becomes easy over time
-acquired exceptional customer service and time management skills
-great people, and amazing benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive work place
Food and Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Ahamedabad21 June 2018
This was my first job after i finished my study and it was a good move for me.
I started to learn my work from scratch.
Wonderful collegues to work with.
Pros
Free food for staf in cafeteria
Cons
Not enough pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Place I have ever worked
Sales Manager (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK4 June 2018
The sales managers get screamed at by the bosses for even breathing wrong, raises were never properly administered, terrible work environment. HR never did anything about staff complaints
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pruductive and fun
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2018
I have fun and interesting job and the hotel because we meet
a different nationality
I have extra income everyday given by guest like tips or gratitude
we have discounted in every HOTEL
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company benefit
Bistro Server (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON5 May 2018
good starting point to gain experience
i gained so much knowledge about kitchen
i was able to learned how supervise and managed people
must have flexible hours
Pros
hotel discount
Cons
no permanent schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent summer job
Front Desk Agent (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON12 April 2018
Staff were friendly, received minimum wage, they were flexible with hours, overall it was juts a summer job but it wasn't a bad place to work. Good intro into customer service industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Revenue Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 April 2018
Great place for learning and development for professional as well as interpersonal skills. Fantastic company with a huge portfolio of job opportunities and benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Houseman (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 March 2018
They will overwork you if you give them the chance. It is not uncommon that they have people working 6 or more days straight. That being said, you won't get any over time, they structure your hours so you could work 8 days straight, and not receive any over time.
They are willing to cross train people in different departments. That being said if you have received a raise or 2 in one department, when you start working in a different department, your raises are void and you will start at the starting wage of the position you are working in. So if you are working $16 as a houseman, if you are getting cross trained as a bellman, your wage when working a bellman shift will be $14.50. They also don't mention that to you unless you bring it up.
There are many more problems with this company and the way they treat their employees.
Cons
Overworked, little room for advancement, will screw you over if possible
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like returning to High school, position is a filler job until something else presents itself
Call Centre Agent (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON19 March 2018
you are on the phones 8 hours
benefits were taken from us
job was $3.00/hr above min wage is now a minimum wage job
tell you you must earn incentive pay or your not doing your job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place, but not great for advancement
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON15 March 2018
Wages are average, and the scheduling is okay. Flexible with giving you certain days off if needed.
Not good for advancement. They do not seem to appreciate employees, and are in some ways gender discriminating.
Pros
Free coffee and Tea, sometimes food.
Cons
Inter-department drama.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked for
Call Center - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  St Thomas, VI5 March 2018
Worked for many years of my life for many employers....found Starwood to be amazingly supportive and encouraging. They want me to EXCELL as much as I do. Been there 7 months....my opinion has NOT changed
Pros
Friendliness, support, benefits
Cons
some shifts...but have options to change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dining room waiter (Current Employee) –  Dorval, QC1 March 2018
Great benefits on hotel deals and restaurants
Great company
Nice working environment
Get to meet people from all over the world
international brand
would work for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Muskoka, ON4 February 2018
My peer were very supportive when I started out helping me and teaching me the ways of the workplace. Allowing me to ease into the job and become a useful part of the team
Pros
Subway Lunch
Cons
Standing for long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cheap much?
Esthetician/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC28 January 2018
Are you people that cheap and unreasonable that you want one person to do multiple types of jobs for one salary? Really?... esthetician/receptionist/maid/sales associate . My goodness.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A easy place to work!!
Line Cook / Prep Cook/ Buffet Cook (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE28 January 2018
A nice place to work,you can do a different duty every day,this makes for good experience in different areas of the kitchen.Overall I liked woking here.
Pros
Learning
Cons
no plans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful setting and a great place to work
Assistant Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Kananaskis, AB6 January 2018
Great place to build your career,
Great place to be if you wanna stay away from the rush of city
Salary package is as per the city pay standards
Working for Marriot is a huge benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17,663 reviews
58.1K
45.3K
32.8K
2781
1688

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture