Marriott International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enthusiastic Atmosphere
Security Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 September 2018
This is a great place if you're looking for an upbeat enthusiastic environment. I learned a lot about team work and the Hospitality Industry.

You get to meet many new and interesting people from all over the world.
Pros
The people
Cons
Difficult guests sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owner to cheep to get things done
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON5 September 2018
Residents Inn Whitby is in need of new owners, management trying to get things done but owner is to cheep.
Place is in very bad shape, pool always broken down, Room A.C broken, elevator broken, what's not broken.
Pros
The place has not burned down yet.
Cons
Place is in very bad shape.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping is not fun
Housekeeping Attendant (Former Employee) –  Delta Hotels - 75 Lower Simcoe St2 September 2018
Co-workers are very nice so do everyone else, but the housekeeping management team is lacking of skills and capability as they promote people who do well on housekeeping jobs, but not necessarily good at coordinating, facilitating and communicating over 50 people. Also some supervisors speaks poor English and make it hard to understand causing communication issues all the time. Supervisors aren't very helpful, no management skills at all, does't seem intelligent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good restaurant
Demi-chef de parti (Former Employee) –  Montreal29 August 2018
Make it simple, but good ! Lots of customers in banquets and the restaurant for a small amount of cook/chef. So , there is no really fancy plate, but still good food !
Pros
Free food
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON26 August 2018
Book hotel reservations and handle requests. modify or adjust pre existing reservations. Handled loyal members point accounts and unlocked online accounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ON25 August 2018
The job experience was good, surrounded by kind agents throughout the day. All of the guests are very sweet and kind unless there are huge misunderstandings. Only con is that the shifts are 8 hours and you have to stand for the whole shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management horrible
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC22 August 2018
The GM is not very friendly or understanding of concerns of his employees and the housekeeping manager is rude and hypocritical. Management is bad but the other staff are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Guest Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 August 2018
A terrible company to work for. Be ready to give up your life for the hotel, you will work back to back shift (get of at 11:00pm and have to be back to work by 6:00am) management does not care about its employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
SECOND COOK (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2018
good place to works. chefs are great. the company provides all the needed equipment . top notch equipment . HR is very helpful. company follows the rules strictly
Pros
lots of perks and relax environment . sometimes stressful on busy days.. rest good.
Cons
can't think of one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work .it's depends on business
Waiter (Current Employee) –  QATAR13 August 2018
Working hours is 9 hours. In a month 4 off days. Management is taking care of staff.medical is free also management pay of medical expenses...I have learned many thin5 as leadership qualities. Department give traning to fill your next steps.
Pros
Working hours only
Cons
9 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report

Want to know more about Marriott International, Inc.?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 August 2018
Friendly environment to work. Very fast paced and fun place to work! Managers are very approachable and there when needed. Flexible hours and great place for growth. The restaurant is newly renovated along with the guest rooms which make the place look fresh and modern.
Pros
Christmas Party
Cons
Split Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace get along with everybody there
Housekeeping (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 August 2018
A typical day at work is cleaning rooms The hardest part of the job is getting all the rooms done in the amount of time you get so if you have 10 gone and five stays you have to be done by that is a six and a half hour day. So it is a fast day I get along with all my co-workers and managment
Pros
good people
Cons
some time long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
four points
HouseKeeper (Former Employee) –  5505 Airport Way, Kelowna, BC V1V 3C310 August 2018
best job i ever had, as well as the easiest. sometimes it would be a little stressful because when cleaning rooms, you never know the severity of it until you're in said rooms, so time management is very important. with that being said, after you got the hang of it 9/10 you'd finish your list of rooms early and would get to go home if they didn't have anything else for you to do. which in itself is a blessing and a curse because leaving early reflects on your paycheque but you also get an early day. i left because of that reason, and also because i had lived on the other side of town and bussing isn't ideal.
Pros
beer tips, money tips, good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly Run Company!!!
Houseman (Former Employee) –  Niagara, ON9 August 2018
This Specific hotel and management is the worst place ive ever worked, the management do not care about your well being and do no handle conflicts well at all. The areas in the laundry are hot and are unsafe to work in. Multiple employees have gone home due to heat exhaustion and nothing was done about resolving the problem. They overlook problems and do nothing to resolve them. The hotel from the guests perspective is nice, but the way the company is run is pathetic they will over work you the bone and not say thank you afterwards. DO NOT work at this establishment.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Management/Co workers workplace is horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managable
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 August 2018
a typical day here would be i would get to work clock in then get told what rooms to clean or if i was on laundry duty that day, hardest part about the job was the unflexabity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Club Lounge Attendant/ Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL8 August 2018
Sheraton Hotel was a great place to work at the time, but overall it was not a very good place to work. Everyone was overworked and the managers were not the best to deal with.

If you had a problem and took it to the manager nothing was ever done, and if you went to the HR department to the head boss, they did absolutely nothing. If you needed help in anyway good luck because they all turned their back on you and left you do deal with everything.

The only good thing that came out of working there was the life long friends that I had made.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Waitress/ Server (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON7 August 2018
the managers were inappropriate towards female workers, the employee elevators were always broken so the entire building was using one elevator, was very fun and interesting working in an environment where you got to meet such nice and interesting people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environments to work in this company and had always fun to work with all my coworkers
STEWARD (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE6 August 2018
That was my first job in Canada.i was very nervous When I started to work there for the first time but because of great supports of my co-worker as well as my manager I feel like company is my home and do-worker is my family.i have learned so many thing during my work time.i have met so many different people from all over the world.i really love working with public and I’m very helpful and kindhearted person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Room attendant (Former Employee) –  Whistler21 July 2018
Every day I start at 8:25am and finished 4:25pm. Every morning we had 15 minutes meeting about lead focus and customer satisfaction report. After meeting I needed to stock my cart, checked the free rooms and start cleaning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks of working in hospitality organization
VIP and Club Guest Services Intern (Former Employee) –  Toronto Pearson International Airport, ON19 July 2018
Marriott International is an super organization to associate with. Associates get free nights and good pay. The organiation provides with advancement opportunities to the associates.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Marriott International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 18,879 reviews
58.8K
45.6K
33K
2826
1721

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture